advise on vr4 and gsr

scoot3331

Sep 3, 2007
all the masters of turbo....bro which engine is better ,more reliable...and more powerfulll....and i also want to lnow bout the mivec turbo..does it overtake all the bth engine mentioned aboved...performance and reliability wise...iam a newbie...hehehehe..thanks

jinkl

May 22, 2004
all turbo engines are reliable when its stock :P
only when ur hand medles with it , then u head towards the other side of the field :P

with a gsr and some minor mods u r looking at
200-220whp

stock vr4rs around 260whp

mivec turbo combination is
gsr + mivec head which will give u extra 20hp maybe

in the sense of making higher power easier , of cos vr4 are stronger
and has higher cc engine

gsr's are more fragile

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
vr-4 is the better engine compare to gsr in stock.powerful n reliable.
the potential for bigger hp is also falls on vr-4.

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
gsr is 1.8L rite??... vr4 is 2.0L??....

yeap, vr4 block is much stronger... some even rojak evo head with vr4 block to achieve more horsepower from higher boost...

another question, which is better, evo or vr4??...

karl5511

May 31, 2007
yes, me also interested to know which one is better...
Evo3 or VR4...

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
legal on the road with Wira chasis = GSR.
legal on the road with Perdana chasis = EVO.

Both engines are reliable.
Performance vise is base on how much $$$ u burn.
of coz, base on stock to stock .. 2.0 is stronger than 1.8 engine as u can gain more torque.

karl5511

May 31, 2007
What about Proton Putra?
Is it legal to put in Evo3?

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
What about Proton Putra?
Is it legal to put in Evo3?
101% nope... :biggrin: If can also a lot $$$ need to kaw tim the JPJ and can not confirm that can renew roadtax or not...

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
u can gain good power to weight ratio by put in GSR in Putra chasis.

jinkl

May 22, 2004
so far as i can see
most of the gsr owners regret having them
i mean the ones that really love modding will know its limitations and the upgradability

want me to do the calculations ?

ok here it goes
gsr halfcut RM6500-6800
evo halfcut RM6500-7000

gsr 1.8cc
4wd gearbox
390cc injectors
td04 turbo
180hp stock
tissue box puny intercooler
single pot brakes
1.8cc

evo
4wd gb 1st n 2nd gear twin synch , close ratio
510cc injectors
bigger throthle body
td05 16g
260-270hp stock
big intercooler
2.0cc
twin pot brakes

do the calculations urself , which one is more worthit ?
for a gsr to upgrade to 510cc injectors , evo airflow , td05
evo ecu ,bigger intercooler , twinpot brakes , it will cost u close to 2k-2.5k

for me the evo is more worth the money
aproval ? haha

rather than paying the extra's on the gsr's upgrades
i might as well buy a 4g67block which is 1.8 block
and put all the 4g63 stuff into it , it will produce power just same
as the evo , further more there are still 2.3 stroker kits and lot of stuff
awaiting u

karl5511 said:
Hello Bro jinkL,

Sorry to bother u this morning...:biggrin:
Something want to ask.

Actually i'm planning to put evo3 engine (4G67 I think) on my Putra. I was told it was the best amongst Evo1-3, GSR, VR4 which can produce 260hp in stock condition. Is it true?

May I know the h/cut price, workmanship price, and additional price (gasket, clutch) necessary? (agak agak one la).

And last ques, will it be approved?
My ride is Proton Putra.

Thanks.

as for ur pm , the best stock condition turbo and responsive beast
would be the evo3 , higher compression and has a bigger turbo spec compared to evo1 and 2. but it cant stand high horsepower , the conrods will stand up to 300-350hp maybe if u r lucky, but 350 aint it enuff for u ? ask urself first :) , but the vr4 block has been proven to hit 400whp on stock block , the limitation of purchasing a vr4 halfcut is that the ecu is old tech , the airflow is old tech , the turbo is smaller , the throthle body is smaller , the intercooler is smaller

karl5511

May 31, 2007
rather than paying the extra's on the gsr's upgrades
i might as well buy a 4g67block which is 1.8 block
and put all the 4g63 stuff into it , it will produce power just same
as the evo , further more there are still 2.3 stroker kits and lot of stuff
awaiting u
Errr...:hmmmm:
You mean, Evo3 engine with 1.8cc block?

scoot3331

Sep 3, 2007
guys thanks alot...u all damm power man...know alot bout turbos...if gt any ques summore i will fefer to u guys..thanks...

karl5511

May 31, 2007
Sorry to bother you all guys, newbie here...

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
Errr...:hmmmm:
You mean, Evo3 engine with 1.8cc block?
yeap... i've seen saga with vr4 head with 4g67 block..... 4g67 block is 1.8L, so passing jpj is possible... but one thing i dun understand, after passing jpj, i heard the owner stick with 4g67 block... he claim that it is even better compare to vr4 block.... any sifoo can explain why??.... is it because 4g67 has shorter stroke, thus can rev up more easily??....:hmmmm:

The market for B-segment hybrid sedans have long been dominated by Toyota's Prius, a well established car of this segment for more than a decade now. It's likely first to come to mind when you think of a hybrid car.