4afe normal or 4age 20v silvertop or black top

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
EDRA,

your budget 3k is just the allocation for half-cut/engine ? or must include transplant labour fees?

if u want all-in for 3k budget, i think can only do 4AFE transplant (which the 3k budget will cover some extra $ needed for any changes of worn items in the engine u buy, and perhaps an upgrades of rear disc brakes or suspension upgrades)

last time (mid-2006) i sold my engine (4AFE) to a fren which also wanting to upgrade from EE100 (1.3)... the total cost (engine and transplant labour fees) costs him about 2k+ near 3k if i not mistaken..

For 4age 20v svt or bt... it will be around 4~5k (include transplant workmanship) depend on the half-cut condition and workshop u go.

u can go chopshop survey the prices and also visits workshops to ask for quotation of their transplant fees so that u can compare.

#

ahkiang

Jan 2, 2007
ya, i also considering to change my engine. I'm driving a 1989 corolla, FC is high (RM50 -> 220km city) so tot of getting an engine that can give me better FC. Which one better? 4afe is the engine used by SEG?

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
4age16V

yeah,..ask our sifu said..

if u looking for better FC engine , u better go for 4age16V from ae92 body... this will have better fc than 4age 20v BT or SVT...

svt running at RM50 onli around 230km onli.... ofcourse if u go for 4afe 1.6 auto/manual.. then definitely 4age fc is not tat good. compare with 4afe.,...but power wise 20V will fullfil ur wish i think...

then conslusion...

if u looking for power then u go for SVT or BT 20v
if u looking for power a bit + FC then can go for 16V
if u looking for good FC .. then go for 4afe 1.6

correct me if i was wring.. thankss

hope u can make ur decision....

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
ahkiang said:
ya, i also considering to change my engine. I'm driving a 1989 corolla, FC is high (RM50 -> 220km city) so tot of getting an engine that can give me better FC. Which one better? 4afe is the engine used by SEG?
Just a piece of advice:

Never swap engine just for the sake of saving petrol. Only swap if you want more power, or the engine already blow and no choice left but to swap.

Why?

Well, just do the math.

Lets assumed you finished RM50 of petrol in 1 week, and one month let say 4 weeks and total RM200. Let say the new engine is very good, it saves you 20% of the cost every time you pump petrol, then you saved rm40 a month.

But good engine cost alot, say, include labour everything cost rm5k. rm40 a month = rm480 a year. In the end, you'll need to spend like 11 year to break even the cost of transplanting the engine by saving fuel.

Well, the only good thing you can keep in mind is that fuel price might go up and you might break even faster, but i don't think it will be that fast.

So, transplant engine = want more power. Never say want better FC (i did this too, then figure out it will never work). Unless ofcourse you transplant an electric engine lar lol.

I transplanted my ori 1.3liter for a 1.6liter. The pushrod engine is really inefficient, but the new engine actually consume more petrol (slightly) but i get double the power. In the end, i didn't really save petrol at all, instead i get more power. for the same (or slightly more) consumption but much more efficient use of it.

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
yeah... transplant engine = wan more power ...

dun think about saving fc./.. budget not more then go for svt just like me ..

got budget then go for BT lo... but BT u can have a slightly better fc than SVT ,,,

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
7Heaven said:
hahaha.....
BT BT go go go....
go for BLACK TOP.....

haha...agree,go for black top!!!

if really budget get a tube top....
haha...juz kidding

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
and damon.. dun poisoning ppl by BT BT BT la..

buddy now looking for good Fc engine la... then advised him go for 16V lo..

svt not good meh...hihihihihihi

7Heaven

May 30, 2005
Ipoh/Kelantan
hehe... not poisoning also ma....
BT really power ma, and can save fuel also ma,
my BT RM50 can run 500 plus kilometers....
consider ok lo....

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
bro 7heaven.. dun forget wat u put in ur BT to get 500km la ..

but i agreed BT power is better than svt abit... cus i tried b4..

hihi.. fc wise BT also better than svt..

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
just some tuniing ... no need other thing.. stock svt can do it ar.. if can i will send for tuning la .. in order to make better fc..

7Heaven

May 30, 2005
Ipoh/Kelantan
haha.... then add 1 small small box lo, enough?
relax la bro, u also can buy that box ma, not so expensive now,
some more can increase power 1 wo....
LAM LAM KUI..... hehehe....

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
KHWONG said:
bro 7heaven.. dun forget wat u put in ur BT to get 500km la ..

but i agreed BT power is better than svt abit... cus i tried b4..

hihi.. fc wise BT also better than svt..
wat have u added bro 7?

7Heaven

May 30, 2005
Ipoh/Kelantan
ok ok i surrender i tell u all,
i added a cheap management in my car.....

bro 5115 u dunno meh?