Why Treuno or Levin is called AE86 ??

I'm wondering. Why Treuno and Levin is called AE86 ?? and there are AE85 also.
I know the difference between the two. But the engine no is 4A-GEand AE85 engine no is U3-S. Izit the chassis no ??
Can anyone explain ah?? would like to more about it...:confused:

gti88

I thought the engine for the AE85 is 4AC ?
AE85/86 is the chassis no. if I'm not mistaken.

iskymeow

Jul 29, 2004
DCM
drift.com.my
from my limited knowledge of toyotas:

A E 86
the A is for the original engine code, i.e. 4AGE, and the rest is the chassis code.
just like how we've got the KE70 with the 4K carb, and the JZA80 with the 2JZ six.

i maybe mistaken with the AE85 engine no but it has a 3 and U. saw it when i watch Initial D 4th stage.

Totoro

Mar 2, 2004
Format is basically

[Engine Code][Chassis Code][Generation][Variant]

A - Engine code
E - Chassis code for Corolla
8 - Generation
6 - Variant

AE101 - 10th generation Corolla, first variant
AE111 - 11th generation Corolla, first variant

norika_sakai

Nov 16, 2003
Totoro said:
Format is basically

[Engine Code][Chassis Code][Generation][Variant]

A - Engine code
E - Chassis code for Corolla
8 - Generation
6 - Variant

AE101 - 10th generation Corolla, first variant
AE111 - 11th generation Corolla, first variant

really ar??? now only i know about this...all this while i thought is the year different....

zan

Feb 20, 2005
totoro and iskymeow both are right. more samples of toyota models and what engine inside..

Corolla 1987-1991 SELimited AE92R; engine 4A-F 1.6
Corolla 1993 AE100; engine 5A-FE 1.5 (imported)
Corolla 1995-2000 SE-G AE111; engine 4A-FE 1.6
Corolla 1995-2000 SE EE111; engine 4E-FE 1.3
Corolla Altis 1.6 2003 ZZE121; engine 1ZZ-FE
Starlet EP71; engine 4E-FE 1.3
Corona 1990 model code ST171; engine 3S-FE 2.0
Camry 1995 model code SXV10; engine 5S-FE 2.2
Camry 2000 model code SXV20; engine5S-FE 2.2
Camry 2004 model code ACV31; engine 1AZ-FE 2.0
Landcruiser Prado Petrol model code RZJ95; engine 3RZ-FE 2.7
Landcruiser Prado Diesel model code LJ95; engine 3L 2.8
Estima TCR10/11 or TCR20/21 (meaning 4WD and/or supercharged) ; engine 2TZ-FE

easy to differentiate rite? very systematic, for example whenever someone mentioning its LJ95 then u know they are talking about Prado diesel and not petrol.

actually, full chassis code is longer than what had been mentioned.

for example Corolla 1.6

1. AE111R-AEMEK ..R shows its a Right Hand Drive, and M is manual.
2. AE111R-AEPEKA ...P shows its a 4 speed automatic, the last A shows its with ABS.
3. AE111R-GEPEKEA ... G shows its a facelift version, with ABS (model 1999)

How to differentiate engine codes (sample)

4A-F ..F shows its twin cam/DOHC with single cam gear driving 2 camshafts
4A-FE ...E shows its EFI
4A-GE ...G shows its twin cam/DOHC but with dual cam gear driving 2 camshafts
4A-GTE ...T shows its turbocharged
4A-GZE ...Z shows its supercharged
4A-GEA ...the last A shows (for 1.6 A series) DOHC 20 valve with Four Throttle Body.

as for Trueno/Levin coded AE86 it shows u the code of engine being used and the time it was produced which was mid eighties

fyi Corolla LE AE80 is the same family with AE86.

the generation after that uses different number and the one reached malaysia was
AE92 (1.6)
EE90 (1.3)

eric_ho20

Nov 23, 2004
wah , great info about toyota u got there . thankz bro , i finally know how to diff all these thingy ... :) :)

salute to Zan

Oh...Thanks bros for the info. Very good info .

fai

May 24, 2004
TitanRev - There a lot models of Levin & Trueno. Start from T series & K series. A series started from AE86, AE92, AE101 & AE111.

zan - Good info there. 4AGTE not an official engine from Toyota.

Cheers..

Another Q. What is the engine that was use by Corolla SE Limited ah ?? The Old wan. Only got silver colour de. Heard they say the SE Limited very GENG wan.. Then can mod 20V.

zan

Feb 20, 2005
fai said:
TitanRev - There a lot models of Levin & Trueno. Start from T series & K series. A series started from AE86, AE92, AE101 & AE111.

zan - Good info there. 4AGTE not an official engine from Toyota.

Cheers..
the 4A-GTE is only a sample laa fai, easy to differentiate. jgn marah haa...

to titanrev, that corolla SE-Limited u mentioned is the AE92. it was a facelift so, rear signal lamp must be white colour instead of Corolla 1.6GL it repaced in 1989 (orange).

it is using 4A-F engine (carburettor, 16 valve twincam; scissored gears) so, mounting 20 valver is no problem. i suggest go for supercharge 1.6, i think sllightly more powerful.

as Fai mentioned, T and K series engines were introduced in the 70's. K series was well known in Corolla..u know..KE10, KE20, KE30, and KE70 (DX 1980, GL 1982) before Toyota decided to switch to FWD in 1983 with AE80 (2A) Corolla LE then LE 12 valve (EE80).

K series also served very long in the Liteace vans, KM36RV-MRS is using 5K 1.5, same engine also used for Corolla owners who want to upgrade from 1.3 to 1.5 (like Datsun 120Y swap to Nissan Vanette engine). Liteace was also served by 2Y engine (in YM31 Premio) and 2C engine (in Liteace Diesel CM36).

The last batch of K series was introduced in Toyota Unser/Kijang/Tamara FX as a 1.8 litre 7K-E meaning its fuel injected.

T engines are of bigger capacity and are meant for FR cars like the Corona BBB TT131/132. they were long gone and forgotten though they were among the most powerful in the early 80's. about 65bhp for 1.8 carb.

*BBB - Big Black Bumper

Oh....now i know why my fren's 120y so GENG.... he must be putting the C22 1.5 inside....i think.

Eh....zan I thought 20V is more powerful then supercharge 1.6 ??
Those using ori 20V engine is JDM spec car rite ?? Their exterior got what model of Toyota is same with it ah ?? Then why our country dont have ori 20V wan ???? I think every car that came from Japan then engine will down grade wan......:mad:

faeizal

Apr 21, 2004
salute

wow zan.... salute u bro... detailed info...

4agze

Jan 25, 2004
i second that! very detail...

titanrev, 20v is only available in Japan Spec so if you want original one you need to import lor.. those like recon cars. and there are 2 versions of 20v which is silvertop and blacktop. one is running with AFM (Air FLow) and MAP respectively. if stock engine, blacktop wins over supercharger. silvertop maybe lose a bit which im not so sure.

Hi

Anyone know whats the market price for this pair for bulb?
Philips Bi-Xenon head-lamps D2S 35W 85122
Someone is selling it in HERE
What i duno what price should I offer him
Thank you