what if someone told you NEP is a success?

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
We all know that the ultimate goal for New Economic Policy (NEP) is 30 percent bumiputera corporate equity ownership in Malaysia.

According to latest report release by Asian Strategy and Leadership Institute (ASLI), they did it in 2005, Bumiputra owned 45% share.

Of course UMNO fight back and saying that the report is rubbish and untrustable. According to UMNO statistic, the figure shall be 18%

I try to visit ASLI website and try look for the report online, all blocked. I can't get any information.

so the thing is,
1. Goverment never tell the us the formula, the accumulate statistic on how they get the 18% figure and no body question on it. Every year, we just accept the figure from gov with no question.

2. I believe ASLI did release their formula, but now however blocked by goverment. I can't get a hand and do comparison.

As per estimation, 80% of the shared (from 45%) actually fall on 5% of bumiputra. And that's why no question raised when Gov (or UMNO) told us that bumi is still very poor.

Now, anyone have further information can share? I want to study this.

Wild_Seven

Apr 6, 2005
The explanation given by the government on how the 18.9% is flawed. Now they claimed Asli's methodology is flawed as well. Anyone who is worth their salt will know ASLI's method is sound and relevant, and the bottom line is the 30% equity has long been breached. How can the bumi shares in GLCs be ignored?????

If I am not mistaken, in the original contract, NEP shall be discontinued once the bumis achieve 30% of the corporate/public equity. Now they are talking about overall equity!!! That includes non public listed companies. Sigh...the goal post has just been shifted!!

To answer your question, has the NEP been a success??? Well, in terms of figures...a resounding YES! But looking at the bigger pictures, its a complete failure. Once NEP is removed, non bumi students will flood local universities, non bumi contractors will outbid bumi contractors and so forth.

satria_95

Jan 2, 2004
Honestly, I don't even care what NEP is because even if half the country of non-bumi's make noise at the merdeka square about it, the govt will just bring out the army to shut them up. So there goes democracy and there goes freedom of speech, even at a constructive and professional level. Why so?

Unfortunately, and me hesitatingly, to say this, muslims in general SEEM to find it difficult to accept it when someone/somegroup/somewhoever/etc. points out one of their flawed points, or one of their bad points, or their obvious mistake, etc. Rather than them trying to work out their mistake or drawback, they rebuke us and ask us not to talk about sensitive issue or we will be caught by ISA. As such, majority of the non-bumis just shut up about it and adopt the attitude like I mentioned earlier, "aiya, don't care la. Nothing will change anyway." But the fact is that all malaysians want a change for the better (except for those fup rempits). However, the only way change can take place is when the govt and the sultanates (if they do play a part in it) says "YES. Approved." Other than that, our contructive voices basically go... no where.

Tohsan

Nov 13, 2004
Char Kuoy Teow
All i know is NEP is a greedy plan for the scumbag to korek more money from the public, in actual sense some datuk told me there isn't any detail drafted out yet for the NEP. So u go figure what is the actual purpose of NEP! :(

Wild_Seven

Apr 6, 2005
As Lee Kuan Yew said, Malaysian Chinese has become compliant to the UMNO Masters.

satria_95

Jan 2, 2004
Duke Red,
Well, they don't think and wanna try that. so... that's the story lor. They go try to earn a more shite name for them and their kind though. I'll respect `em for that. hahaha

Duke Red

Jul 27, 2005
Earth
Do you remember how you learnt to swim? I do. My parents took me into the pool and let go so of course I was frantic as hell lah. Was I in danger though, no because they were always right by me and carried me if I was in any real danger. If I were to be given floatation devices and stuff, the process of learning would be longer and I would never have learnt as fast as I did because I would become reliant on the floatation device when I struggled. Same shit lah.

Wild_Seven

Apr 6, 2005
This problem will only be resolved when the country is down to the bottom pit. The time will come when there is no more oil reserves, little FDIs (its already happening) and commodity prices come down. Only then will the gomen open up the economy, but then it could be a little too late.

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
according to DAP news conference, other country apply the same formula used by ASLI.

Speed Demon

www.freewebs.com
Saturday, October 07, 2006What is real stake of bumis in KL market?

Govt and think-tank differ on whether 30% target has been reached

By Carolyn Hong
The Straits Times

THE issue of how large an equity stake bumiputeras have in the country is back to the fore.

This follows a study by a think-tank which concludes that the bumiputeras own 45 per cent of the business equity in Malaysia.

Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi rejected the independent study on Thursday, calling it irresponsible and saying Malays are still far behind.

'Such findings will only create negative reactions, raise all sorts of questions and accusations,' he said.

If the study's conclusions are true, it would mean the bumiputeras are well ahead of the government's target of 30 per cent Malay ownership by 2020. In other words, it would mean the government's affirmative action policy has achieved its aim.

The study was conducted by the Asian Strategy and Leadership Institute (Asli) as input for the Ninth Malaysia Plan, a development blueprint launched in March.

It reported that the Malays owned 45 per cent of the shares in the stock market, while official statistics have put the stake at 18.9 per cent for the past 20 years.

This data is crucial to the continuation of a government policy that helps Malays get a larger share of the economic pie. This goal was first articulated as the New Economic Policy in 1970, and restated in the Ninth Malaysia Plan this year.

The exact level of bumiputera ownership has long been questioned.

Last year, former Cabinet minister Chua Jui Meng questioned the accuracy of official data and called for an independent review.

The Asli study is the first to provide an alternative to official figures. The difference in findings boils down to different methods of calculation.

Asli surveyed 1,000 companies on the stock exchange, including government-linked companies (GLCs). By counting the GLCs, which are massive in size and value, the data changed dramatically.

Asli estimated that bumiputeras own 70 per cent of the shares in GLCs, which make up a third of the market value of the stock exchange.

They include utility companies such as Tenaga Nasional and Telekom Malaysia, and Malaysia's biggest bank, Maybank.

Asli also did its sums using the market values of the shares, rather than the par or nominal values, for the simple reason that it is market value that actually denotes the value of a company.

Mr Khoo Kay Peng, a policy analyst for think-tank Sedar, said more than 90 per cent of the companies in Malaysia would fall into the classification small or medium.

There is no one-to-one correspondence between their shares and those of giant companies like the GLCs.

But Datuk Seri Abdullah disagreed. He said the Economic Planning Unit's method was more accurate because it surveyed the 600,000 companies registered in Malaysia, excluding GLCs, and did its calculations using the par value of the shares.

He said it was not right to include the GLCs.

'The revenues reaped by GLCs will be handed over to the government to be saved in funds for use by the people and the country,' he said.

Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam, who was previously the deputy secretary-general of the Treasury but now heads the Asli Centre for Public Policy, said the institute is prepared to defend its methodology.

'The whole purpose is to improve the methodology because it will increase public confidence,' he told The Straits Times.

He said the government's methodology has been in use since the 1970s, when the GLCs were not as significant as they are today.

He stressed that Asli's intention is not to challenge affirmative action, but to improve its implementation.

Mr Khoo, from Sedar, said the Asli data showed that the policy had not helped the majority of bumiputeras, but had concentrated wealth in the hands of a few.

'Who controls the majority of the wealth attributed to the bumiputera community?' he asked in an article on news portal Malaysiakini.

This is a much-debated issue, and it is unlikely to be resolved any time soon.

Government's calculation

THE Economic Planning Unit's method took in the 600,000 companies registered in Malaysia, excluding GLCs, and did its calculations using the par value of the shares.

Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi said it was not right to include the GLCs as their revenues will be handed over to the government to be saved for use by the people and the country.

Think-tank's calculation

ASLI surveyed 1,000 companies on the stock exchange, including government-linked companies (GLCs).

By counting the GLCs, the data changed dramatically.

It also used the market values of the shares, rather than the par or nominal values, for the simple reason that it is market value that actually denotes the value of a company.

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
excluding GLC is really 1 sickening joke. They are not company? or they don't make money.

links

May 26, 2004
just as simple enough....

every non- malay own company that want to get listed in Msia must give atleast 30% share to the BUMI...so it means...even all listed companies in Msia are not malay own so it will be atleast 30% of the share in the msia stock market own by BUMI...

Somemore, not all listed companies are own by non-malay so the percentage of the share own by BUMI will certainly more than 30% logically....

malay took up 60% of the population in msia...and the NEP only enable the 5% of malay to own the 45% of the wealth in msia.....this shows how serious is the wealth gap between malay society itself.....

this is not the fault of the malay...infact they are the also the victim of the sickening No Ejeculation Penis (NEP) which the small politician related group take excuse to monopolise the market and the economy....

hope then next election will not become a erection....lets vote....

magixk

Oct 6, 2006
satria_95 said:
Honestly, I don't even care what NEP is because even if half the country of non-bumi's make noise at the merdeka square about it, the govt will just bring out the army to shut them up. So there goes democracy and there goes freedom of speech, even at a constructive and professional level. Why so?
Bro, there's no such thing as freedom of speech in Malaysia, nor anywhere else in the world leh. This reason is simply because racial tolerance will not be 100% successful, no matter wat. There will always be a race getting offended or a race dominating another.

U see, if there really can be a single race of human on our planet, by this time, we shuld already have establish space travel and there wont be even any world wars, just national revolutions and minor civil war.

Yes, human race > religion. If everyone is same race on our planet, no matter wat religion u r, there will not be a war based on religious conflict...It's all happeneing becos of skin color difference...

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
Duke Red said:
Do you remember how you learnt to swim? I do. My parents took me into the pool and let go so of course I was frantic as hell lah. Was I in danger though, no because they were always right by me and carried me if I was in any real danger. If I were to be given floatation devices and stuff, the process of learning would be longer and I would never have learnt as fast as I did because I would become reliant on the floatation device when I struggled. Same shit lah.
bro please be compliant & wait for your turn in telling once upon a time-kid story ok:X-:

next time raise hand lar:_:

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
another dark day for Malaysian, sad news.
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/10/12/nation/15695245&sec=nation&focus=1

Lim free to resign based on principle, says Mirzan

PETALING JAYA: Asli’s head of Centre for Public Policy Studies Dr Lim Teck Ghee has resigned over the controversial studies on bumiputra equity ownership in Malaysian companies.

His resignation, effective from the end of the month, came after Asli (Asian Strategy and Leadership Institute) president Mirzan Mahathir issued a statement on Tuesday that the studies by the centre that showed bumiputra equity ownership could be as high as 45% could not be vigorously justified.

Mirzan said that after re-examining the methodology and conclusions of the report, Asli had concluded that there were shortcomings in assumption and calculation that led to conclusions that could not be vigorously justified.

He also expressed deep regret over the “hurt and confusion felt by all Malaysians” caused by the report.

“Since I cannot agree with Mirzan’s statement and because of the need to defend the position and integrity of independent and non-partisan scholarship, I will be stepping down from my position at the end of the month,” Dr Lim said in a four-paragraph press statement here yesterday.

“I hope the public space opened up by the centre’s work on this particular issue, as well as other important issues, will be expanded on and vigorously defended by others.

“It is the fundamental right of the Malaysian public to question all government statistics and policies, more so when these are not transparent or defensible.”

Mirzan: ‘We feel that the report does not fairly reflect the true picture’
Mirzan in his reply via e-mail said since Dr Lim had a different view to Asli’s and he felt strongly about it, he was free to resign from his position based on principle.

He said Asli was not told to retract Dr Lim’s findings directly.

“We did an evaluation of the specific report and found it wanting. If its assumptions and calculations are faulty, we felt that the conclusions arrived at may also be faulty. As such, we feel that the report does not fairly reflect the true picture of bumiputra equity ownership in Malaysia,” he added.

Mirzan also denied any political pressure to issue the statement.

Dr Lim, a prominent political scientist, was also the former UN regional adviser and senior social specialist with the Environment and Social Development Sector Unit of the World Bank.

He also worked as regional adviser on poverty alleviation and social integration for the UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific.

DAP chairman Lim Kit Siang described the retraction by Mirzan as a dishonourable and cowardly act.

“It is evident that Asli was under pressure from the strong arm tactics employed by certain quarters to retract the findings of the report,” he said. Umno Youth deputy chief Khairy Jamaluddin said that organisations making public findings that concern the people must be careful not to get them wrong, as retracting their statements would not stop the damage already done.

“We (Umno) did not agree with the methodology used by Asli because it was inaccurate and unfair and it is now proven to be without basis,” he said.
someone shouted he want to listen to true story, fact. And the result of telling the truth: he make you disappear.

GE, please come earlier while everyone memory is still fresh.

PS: Another study conducted by MCA in earlier year also stated Bumi share exist 30%, MCA submit the report to BN and no news after that.

Saga Continue

May 14, 2004
Ampang Baybeh
im a malay i also agreed that it is more then 30% already.....

back in 1990 everytime friday prayer u can calculate how many merc and beemerz park outside the mosque....

nowdays u cant hardly see a proton......

anyway...what NEP? i dont feel any....

infernaL

May 22, 2005
N/A
bs : hey at least he resigned to show his stand behind the work done . not sad news at all .

Hi SIFU's

I decide to get a sports car, on July after short listing a few models i decided to get either a GTR34 or an evo 9.

Now i need some help here, how do i compare this both rides? I wanna to know the pros and cons of these machine. I'm planin to own it for long time and i dont have a thick wallet to do mods on these so its gonna be more to stock HP from the car.

I hope some here can help me share their thoughs about this rides.It's an open topic feel free to talk bout this...