What engine oil is the most suitable for your car??

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
emechelmi said:
have u checked, and making adjustments on your valve clearance according to recommended spec?

people just change to thicker oil to eliminate the tappet noise but won't bother to adjust the valve clearance. it just masking the source of problem.
most of the proton/mmc engine even u change to new tappet or re-adjust...the sound is still there....

so most of the owners use Q8, it will reduce/eliminate the sound...10w40 semi syn will do, not necesary gotta use fully syn...

can survey around for proton/mmc owners who using Q8...

:tongwink:

jeremy

Nov 12, 2004
kuching-penang
10w30 mineral which may cost rm 30 and 10-30 fully syntehtic costing rm 170???

so far difference.. if i wana get 10w30 rating it's either the rm 30 or the rm 170 rite??

the 10w 30 mineral can use in 1.3cc cars??

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
jeremy said:
10w30 mineral which may cost rm 30 and 10-30 fully syntehtic costing rm 170???

so far difference.. if i wana get 10w30 rating it's either the rm 30 or the rm 170 rite??

the 10w 30 mineral can use in 1.3cc cars??
mineral oil n synthetic oil is different based...

normal car = normal use = mineral oil

get synthetic oil only if u wanna get beter response.

mineral oil normaly not using to high revving or watsover..normal driving only.

n for full syn, normaly it is in 5w30, 10w30 only can see in partial syn n mineral based.

my2cent

mirage2929

Dec 5, 2004
Pls do not change engine oil at 10k interval. Change it at 5-6k regardless of fully synthetic or mineral. Only roadside mechanic who dunno much said synthetic oil can last 10k. There are also many synthetic user who change it at 10k just to save money. If want to save money, use mineral and change it at 5k.

Why i said that? Very logical. Synthetic or mineral oil user, after 5k, check your dipstick, tell me what color is the oil. Am sure is black or dark color. How can you run these black oil for another 5k??

I know its expensive to change synthetic oil at 5k but if you love your car and intend to drive it long term, thats the right way.

If you intend to drive it only 2 yrs, change oil only during chinese new year
I am a fan of Q8 fully synthetic oil.

Love your car.

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
mirage2929 said:
Why i said that? Very logical. Synthetic or mineral oil user, after 5k, check your dipstick, tell me what color is the oil. Am sure is black or dark color. How can you run these black oil for another 5k??
plz search for more info ...only unexperienced or knowledgeless user will rely on dipstick color...

who tell u to see dipstick color n if turn black then it is useless? only lousy mech wil tel u tis.

doppelganger

May 5, 2006
bump:D
i'm using 10W-40 for my kelisa. Is this suitable or not? i usually drive around town and kl. i live in shah alam.

satria_95

Jan 2, 2004
Use cholestrol free cooking oil. That way, your car won't suffer of heart problems. hahaha just kidding.

I'm using fully synthetic for my satria 1.6L.

netmatrix

P Jaya:Malaysia
kh_tan.tripod.com
I dunno about you guys but i found that manuals are usually correct. Usually there is a chart for engine oil usage. For example, a new car uses 10/30, after 2 years use 10/40 or 15/40, after 5 years use 20/50. After 6 or 7 years overhauls engine and use back 10/30. How hard is that?

I often wonder why we are brainwashing ourselves with brands, when we could just use recommended viscocity from any brands?

Of course its quite silly to use 20/50 for new cars, because everything would go wrong.

And synthetics are the best. Even better are those blended with Esters. New synthetics would work right up to 10K. No need to change every 5K. Even the new car manuals already stated this.

For K cars, its best to stick to lighter oils like 5/30 or 10/30. I remember it can go up to 15/40 and not more. Because the small high reving engine cannot produce maximum power with thicker oils. My mechanic uses 10/40 for his 15 year old kancil, because it is burning engine oil with 10/30. But its logical.

Like you try to swim in water(10/30) and mud(20/50).

tk2005takeru

Jun 15, 2005
KK
My Wira 1.6L uses Idemitsu 10/40 Semi-Synthetic. So far, I only have problems with the oil leakage with the engine head seal and the tappet sound (I think). My mech tells me that it's normal for 4G92P to leak engine oil at the engine head gasket.

Currently switched to a Toyota Land Cruiser 80 series with 1HZ-FE (4.3L Diesel) and a 101-series with 1HD-FTE (4.3L Diesel with turbo), I wonder what engine oil is the best for them. Price is not a problem, can any 1 suggest engine oils that is superb for this 2 car?

LuKa

Jul 14, 2005
Kedah
synthetic oil can use up to 10k mileage.. just replace the oil filter after 5k mileage..

mokomoko

Feb 20, 2006
im using running a 4g92 sohc thats around 10 years old that has been bathing in mineral oil for all those years....can i switch to semi-synthetic?

im looking into trying out the Q8 semi-syn, wherebouts can i purchase a 4litre tong?

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
im using running a 4g92 sohc thats around 10 years old that has been bathing in mineral oil for all those years....can i switch to semi-synthetic?

im looking into trying out the Q8 semi-syn, wherebouts can i purchase a 4litre tong?
can try but make ure u owe check the engine oil level...if the oil is maintain...then its good

ae101rulez

Sep 2, 2005
erm...
I am using a Toyota XL 12valve model where it uses a 2E engine......can anyone recommend a good grade oil for my car.........thanks:D

AccordRacing

Feb 2, 2005
kepong
www.zhapalang.com.my
its depends ur engine condition, if the engine dont have engine oil comsuption then u can switch to others higher grade engine oil, if not, it just a waste only, thats y maintance is very importance, good engine oil doesnt mean that it can cure ur engine but protect.

hi all

i dono where to post...
hope this is not the wrong subforum

anyway... my car HID (installed by previous owner)
today act strangely.

first, the lights is like ... blinking ....
so i scare anything will happened, i switch it off a while
than switch it on again

when its on again
the lights seems like brighter than usual...
than it starts blinking again.

anyone know what could be the problem?
is it ballast? or other things?

i really a noob about HID stuff....

thanks in advance