Unlocking ECU

saru04

Jan 2, 2012

I was recommended by a friend to unlock my stock ECU at Honda service center.

He claim that unlocking it helps the car accelerate better or improve performance.

Is it true?

What does unlocking stock ECU actually do? What effect does it give?

Thank you.

saru04

Jan 2, 2012
nope not reprogram.

friend just say unlock ECU.

thats why I brought this matter up here to see if anyone knows.

I can't be just trusting what my friends say, I need advice from sifus.

ken yeang

I was recommended by a friend to unlock my stock ECU at Honda service center.

He claim that unlocking it helps the car accelerate better or improve performance.

Is it true?

What does unlocking stock ECU actually do? What effect does it give?

Thank you.
if you have doubts with your fren, perhaps the best party to ask is HONDA SERVICE CENTER. They are technically the specialist, yes??

SePaT

Jan 8, 2004
Unlocking or remapping?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

jailbreak :p

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
ECU have a preset programming 2 run ur car..

It get inputs from sensors such as oxygen, knocking sensors, etc

From d inputs it control fuel, spark timing, etc so that ur car runs normally

AFAIK, there's nothing to unlock :wink:

Paging ECU sifu mr levin818 :driver:
copy paste :biggrin:

If it's the SC, to avoid warranty and insurance issues, they can only probably remap the ECU. Probably a more aggressive tune taken from the newer car or older car or something. I would save your money and probably warranty and do other things with the car

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Should be remap. There are people who do that now. Much more budget options compared to a good piggyback. The downside is that unlike piggyback, you will lose your stock setting. If the tuner is good, you are good. If he suck, then you are stuck with a shitty ecu.

Basically they optimise the fuel delivery and ignition timing across the rev range. You can chose to run better on RON 95. You can chose where do you want to increase response. You can choose to et an economy power band and a torque band. For example, you can set the best torque to be at 2 - 3k rpm and then 3.2 - 4k rpm, and then the most economy powerband around 2.8 - 3.2k rpm. With this, you can accelerate well at 2 - 3k rpm and 3.2 - 4k rpm. Then while highway cruising, usually around 2.8 - 3.2k rpm, you get the best economy. That is if the tuner can make it that ideal lah :biggrin:

Sup zth, how you fellas been... ill try to post up some of the DIY's that I was able to take some photos...

This is installation is on an RB but it would apply to I would say most cars with a few changes here and there...esp at the wiring or sensor adapters installation. So if you're installing other makes, this guide can still be used. If at any point you are not sure of something just ask away. For this ill be doing Oil temp, Water Temp and Oil Press.

In this kit. What we will need...