some advice n infos pleasee..

garrett_tdo4

Apr 29, 2004
guys..can i mix a 1.6mivec head n a 4g93/63 block??isit possible n wat kind power would i gain??need 2 know da pros n cons <_<

blingbling

Jan 16, 2005
yeah... is it possible that the combination of a 1.6 mivec head on a 4g63 block will work?

jinkl

May 22, 2004
erm nop tidak boleh..
tak da sama langsung wor
if not sure will have mivec evo ma

gspot

Jan 5, 2004
4G9X onto 4G6X engine? Two different engine series and built laa..unless someone can cook up a rojak x-treme laa :D
The 4G9x series engine normally can interchange parts, i.e. 4G92 mivec head on 4g93P or 4g93T (GSR) can do laa.. have seen the 1.5 4G91 block with 4G92 Mivec head also. :o
From consensus among the X-men aka mutants ;) , there are more pros than cons with a hybrid engine (M'sia Boleh! Even my Jap friends are awed!) provided everything is properly modded by a mech who knows the stuff.
Power gains.. max around 180whp for n/a and 240whp for turbo.

philipplim

Mar 18, 2004
Hi sifus.
i know that this question is asked plenty of times but i think no one can answer me the exact thing
kindda like doing a reseach on this thing..so if u guys (anyone have comments, pls just write it here)

iam using a 1.8 sohc mitsu engine which i have converted from a 1.6.
iam wondering if i were to change to a dohc head, either 1.8 dohc turbo or normal NA head, wat is the difference in terms of power. ( for those convert the similar process, 1.6 or 1.8- plz leave ur comments here, really wanna know the result)

if i were to have done the convertion, lets say iam running on a 1.8 dohc NA engine, how much Hp can i get cause i know my engine now (sohc) carries bout 100-110 Hpor maybe less than that. if i were to lets say squeeze all the hp out from all this mod below, wat is the estimate hp u guys thought of.

1) head convert to dohc
2) FPR compromise with SAFC tuning
3) mivec throttle body + gsr intake manifold
4) open pod filter
4) 4 2 1 extrator
5) adjustable cams ( twick abit the degree)

just leave ur comments here..
thanks guys for the help..just wanted to know the fact of the things above and also the Hp squeezed out..

phil

newvek

Feb 16, 2005
I agree with u philipplim

I also waiting for the answer from all the sifus...

mivec 1.6 upgrade to 4G93 block....
what to do next...? wat' to change...? wat' to buy...?

jinkl-

Klang
me no sifu .. but

1) head convert to dohc - sure can
2) FPR compromise with SAFC tuning - SAFC only tunes air and fuel .. rechip and control ur ignition also ..
3) mivec throttle body + gsr intake manifold - erm sounds sweet
4) open pod filter - must come with heat shield and CAI then chun
4) 4 2 1 extrator - get a calculated one sure keng..

sohc to dohc not much difrence la bro.. 10hp is not noticeable when u drive .. safc also wont help tht much cos u r running on simple mods .. unless u r using racing cams :) .. bigger throttle body will let in more air.. its chun .. buy y gsr intake manifold bro ? ..
5) adjustable cams ( twick abit the degree)

SiGNAL

Nov 16, 2003
Ya Mum's House
me not sifu too but since ur using 1.8 sohc, i assume it's 4g9x series, just mate it with mivec head. U will get more performance from it. But then u gotta do more work than just swapping a dohc head.

and swapping a dohc head is plug and play unless u got all the right stuffs. it's not when ur missing something (ie pulleys, ignition coil maybe diff for sohc and dohc)

My friend wanted to swap a dohc into his sohc 4g92 before, end up abandon project because the distributor doesn't fit, need to machine to fit.

so good luck!

ramsing

m'sia mech's more advanced than mitsu. evo9 now only coming out with mivec turbo. m'sia its been around for a logn time. :D hahaaha. m'sia boleh!

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
yeah malaysia boleh!!!!
evo 9 is mivec turbo
but we had playing it for long time!

but evo 9 mivec turbo is much much stronger than our mivec turbo!
if not the vtec turbo will be the king loh!!!

r2d2

Mar 18, 2004
can kawin with 4G9x series.... 0nly.... c0z 0f lubang minyak/air sama....

Our very own ‘Prince of Drift’, Tengku Djan Ley, was recently interviewed ahead of the upcoming Achilles Formula Drift 2012, which has been scheduled to take place this weekend (19th – 20th May) at Speed City in Kuala Lumpur.

<!--more-->Djan allows some insight into his thoughts as he shoulders the hopes and aspirations of all Malaysians who would endeavour; or perhaps even dare consider specialising...