Need advice on Toyota Celica 7th Gen

ky69

May 26, 2005
Recently i am looking for a toyota celica 7th gen.My family 3 generation driving toyota car.Recently i found out toyota celica 7th gen not good as previous version of celica.More cons than pro.I recently browse to forum and from my friend opinion.He said buy a Toyota Altis better than Toyota Celica.I am avid fan of celica since i am kids.Carlos Sainz driving toyota celica.AWESOME!!!I am looking for opinion for this ride from previous and current owner.I am interested in Manual version SSII or TRD version because come with 190hp.Nowadays the price is getting cheaper so i am thinking purchasing.Below is comment wrote by forumer.Hope is not true because toyota always have a good reputation in building cars.
Most Celica can be seen on the road are mostly Auto (sportshift-ECT).
My apology, no offence to Auto Celica owners though. You guys should know the facts when compare to the 6-speeder. Quite a difference.

Get the SS-II with Super Strut(Manual) if possible.
Code: ZZT231 (Super Strut) or ZZT231 (Sports M)

What is that?
The 2 particular versions are very very rare!
Not to mention the Sports M extremely rare only 1190 units available worldwide.

Both came with super-strut suspension design, Helical LSD, 6-speeds & higher rev range.
Sports M, chassis lightened + spot-welding
Non-Super-strut (Manual), without Helical LSD.

Who needs it?
1) If you are looking for a fun & fuel consumption car to drive around.
- 45Ltr, auntie way of driving: 550-600km not a problem.
- 45Ltr, average + always late to work: 500-550km
- 45Ltr, Petter Solberg wannabe: 400km++

2) A bit of style, a bit of speed, ease of control, low-profile

3) Maintenance wise as normal Toyota sedans. Pretty standard spare parts - plenty available
Overall not much problem.

4) Car that changes its engine sounds resembled a Yamaha-superbike as it revs.

5) A 2+2 seaters car laugh.gif

6) Cheap and worth every penny

Where to get it?
Dealers usually get the auto-version, easier to get and higher profit margin.
(Not much manual imported from Japan, the Japs like the manual version too)

Try to approach the dealer, direct import in a manual version.
Some dealers do have the manual version once in a while, usually type Sports-M.

What's BAD?
1) Low rpm Seriously lacking of torque big time x 10! [Be prepared to be pwned by Kancil laugh.gif]
2) Very RPM dependency, attention & skill needed to maintain/stay @ high rpm Lifting-zone
[Takes time to tame & fully understand the engine<->tranny: Internet & Toyota material a must to read]
3) 1) + 2) + GearBox: Tight shift gate + very short throw + very close ratio = Perfect BigTime Mis-Shift
[gearbox overhaul & replacement; already a common story]
4) Extremely BASIC interior: Damn simple Centre Console & meter-gauges
[Even MyVI having a better interior design]
5) Pedal Position vs Seat Position vs Shifter Position, it just not right
6) Blind-spot that really blinds!
7) Super-strut suspension design causing mild Understeer followed by slight Oversteer @ tight turns
[Indeed strange behavior for FF-layout, Toyota said thats by design!]
8) Super-strut components cost a bomb! [Pray nothing goes wrong]
9) Sound proof doesnt really exist
10)Lifting Bolt faulty can't rev till 9k

Auto version
1) Limited RPM range, Frequent RPM drops out of Lifting-zone
2) Not as close ratio as manual.

What's GOOD?
1) Consider relatively good FC
2) Once tamed & understood, miracles do happen laugh.gif
3) 2) + Ball Size = Keep up with higher end cars [Atleast tailights still can be seen]
4) Lady-Frenly interiors. Looks calm & boring, no rocket science cockpit.
[Toyota said it resembled Jet-fighter cockpit, marketing gimmick]
5) Feel good & sound nice @ Lifting-zone. It's Addictive [High FC as well]
6) Stock handling considered QUITE good [Super-strut version], though a bit stiff & bumpy
7) Somewhere, Somehow. It looks Feminine rather than Masculine [Lady likes the car but not the owner laugh.gif]

zeus83

Oct 29, 2006
KL-Damansara
wow, this is more like a review! keep it up bro!:biggrin:

Barbarian

Nov 10, 2004
www.myjsoc.com
are you a handsome hunk?? do you have a pretty gf?? are your gf's gal frens pretty?? if yes to all then get a celica and join our tt.... :) :) :)

Criz. Valentine

Nov 23, 2009
are you a handsome hunk?? do you have a pretty gf?? are your gf's gal frens pretty?? if yes to all then get a celica and join our tt.... :) :) :)
only condition i have is i have a celica and i wanna go tt .... add me ...

ir1z

Oct 29, 2008
u must have got that advice part from LYN is it? the one made by kahfui actually to be credited for it.

well try have danielwan to organise another TT soon. Not all the facts can be used. Some of them is a matter of preference and feeling for it.

I understand that PU rubber material is very hard to repair but not impossible. Does anyone have any idea on what works well with PU?

My PU bumper had a big hole due to the ex-owner's oversized muffler. Most shops didn't know how to fix it except for a welder who suggested to cover the hole by riveting a piece of aluminium sheet and knocking it to shape. Indeed it was a good job! After repainting, it looked like nothing has ever happened!

Just wondering if you guys have tried other...