need advice for building a savvy turbo

Odessa_Shin

Jan 3, 2011
Bandung
Dear sifus,

I want to put a turbo in my savvy.. could anyone give me some advice (eg. turbo model, tuning, or parts needed) to me??

I want to stick to its original D4F renault engine n i do this for my own satisfaction so i prefer not to give idea like swapping to 4EFTE engine or buying a new car.

FYI, my savvy best time is 18,4sec @ 402M n i haven't put any piggyback, stand alone ECUs, throttle controller or do remapping my ECU.

I'm not from malaysia and in my country the people always underestimate cheaper car. I just wanna show them that cheap doesn't always mean crap because i'm not a rich guy who can afford a honda or toyota car.

I love my car n loving means not letting it insulted :proud:

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
haiya dis guy... always beat me to the punch! :mad: :biggrin:

Mr/Ms Odessa: I know the feeling.... same here in mesia... lotsa ppl running car above 1 liter who like to belittle smaller car like my kancil... now turbocharge.... easily beat them and left them jaw dropped :burnout:... provided they don'st swap turbo/.supercharge engine in the first place la hehe

as pomen_GTR sez... go lookup for that engine... maybe you can replicate its setup like its stronger internals.....

to force-inducted a NA engine is not w/o perils.... common things such as below need to be considered
  1. enuff engine oil like stronger oil pump, oil squirter for cylinders etc
  2. enuff fuel supply such as bespoke fuel pump, rising-rate fuel regulator etc
  3. stronger internal such as forged stuff
  4. a calibrated ecu

...lets other sifus/otais explain more... me just a geek who luv reading about cars :driver:

papagon... :biggrin:

yeah..and most hardest part is to find a proper calibration for ecu/engine management that suits for that engine..

but dun ask my opinion....i've no experience on sawi engine.... nor renault engine

arturo

nooB
SateCelupLand
K-cars scare me.

turbo-ed K-cars make me have nightmares.

Odessa...i like how u defend yr car. once u get the project going can post up yr progress? never seen a turbo-ed savvy b4

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor

arturo

nooB
SateCelupLand
papago...patik minta ampun beribu ribu ampun. patik sesungguhnya tak perli. patik benar benar sangat ketakutan. :rofl:

seriously i got smoked by many many k-cars especialy on small windy roads. pickup totally unbeatable. very fun to drive L2s n i think savvy turbo will be even more chun since sitffer body. lucky not many savvy on the roads haahhaha

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
hahah... joking only aa....

yup... I'm oso curious abt savvy turbo performance...

imagine....
  1. responsive forced-inducted engine capable of 120bhp minimum
  2. stiffen the chassis more (UltraRacing/AutoFoam/spot-welds?)
  3. bespoked suspension (R3 perhaps?)
  4. wide 195/45/15 tyres...
  5. bodykits optional...

should be interesting on the twisties :adore:
papago...patik minta ampun beribu ribu ampun. patik sesungguhnya tak perli. patik benar benar sangat ketakutan. :rofl:

seriously i got smoked by many many k-cars especialy on small windy roads. pickup totally unbeatable. very fun to drive L2s n i think savvy turbo will be even more chun since sitffer body. lucky not many savvy on the roads haahhaha

Odessa_Shin

Jan 3, 2011
Bandung
many thanks for all of your reply.. :biggrin:

haiya dis guy... always beat me to the punch! :mad: :biggrin:

Mr/Ms Odessa: I know the feeling.... same here in mesia... lotsa ppl running car above 1 liter who like to belittle smaller car like my kancil... now turbocharge.... easily beat them and left them jaw dropped :burnout:... provided they don'st swap turbo/.supercharge engine in the first place la hehe

as pomen_GTR sez... go lookup for that engine... maybe you can replicate its setup like its stronger internals.....

to force-inducted a NA engine is not w/o perils.... common things such as below need to be considered
  1. enuff engine oil like stronger oil pump, oil squirter for cylinders etc
  2. enuff fuel supply such as bespoke fuel pump, rising-rate fuel regulator etc
  3. stronger internal such as forged stuff
  4. a calibrated ecu

...lets other sifus/otais explain more... me just a geek who luv reading about cars :driver:
that's the main problem.. actually b4 i'm thinking to turbo-ing my savvy i've search some of it's performance parts for the internals.. but this is the outcome :

1. parts are hard to find
2. expensive (k-tech racing website from england) :banghead:

n that's why i think maybe putting a turbo in my savvy could be the easiest way.. :D

i think i don't need a big boost pressure (maybe 0.7 / 0.8 bar only) to reach 17.0sec @ 402M since with only a few modification (like u can see in my pic below) i already get 18,4 sec@402M :proud:

papagon... :biggrin:

yeah..and most hardest part is to find a proper calibration for ecu/engine management that suits for that engine..

but dun ask my opinion....i've no experience on sawi engine.... nor renault engine
i've try remapping the ECU (may be not a full remap, only change the rev limiter from 6000RPM to 7100RPM) but in my country there isn't any technician who dare to try fully remapping it's ECU since savvy is a new brand car in my country (released first in 2007). actually, i want the rev limiter removed totally, but the engine won't start if i do that,. it sounds like it need more fuel pumped to the engine to make it start... could anyone explained it why?? :confused:

K-cars scare me.

turbo-ed K-cars make me have nightmares.

Odessa...i like how u defend yr car. once u get the project going can post up yr progress? never seen a turbo-ed savvy b4
okay, i'll post it here the detail of my project, but please be patient since i'm now collecting all parts needed first (and the money also) :redface:

waaa... perli aaa, arturo? :mad: :biggrin:

Odessa... if i'm not mistaken, D4F engine uses Siemens Sirius ECU.... from what I've searched, it is possible

read it here... Clio 1.2 TCE grandtour chip tunning - remap ECU - Renault Forums :: Independent Renault forum
yup,, u're right.. it uses siemens ECU.. i know it since i'm the one who open it's cover before the ECU remapping process began.. FYI, the technician is too scared to do it himself because he never handle that kind of ECU before so he ask me to open the ECU cover myself which is so damn hard because it's patented with some extraordinary sticky black glue :banghead:

this is the picture of my (and my mechanic) hard work... :D

http://img237.imageshack.us/i/edit1.jpg/

what i've done is :
1. PnP
2. Open air filter
3. Shortening the sparkplug wire
4. Installing a home made FPR near the fuel tank
5. Installing a Potensio to adjust the injector spray (i dunno what is it actually since it's also a home made, but that's what my mechanic calls it)
6. Custom extractor and a free flow muffler (2 inch diameter)
7. Volt stabilizer (coz savvy has a very significant voltage issue. u'll realize it when u drive at night)

and this is the condition after reaching it's top speed in the highway (the top speed is actually 170km/h but i already braking when taking this pic bcoz there's a truck in front of me). i know it's wrong to test my car in a public highway but there's no other place to do so since my town didn't have any race track... :smile:

http://img517.imageshack.us/i/03072010021d.jpg/

in the end, i'm still not feeling satisfied so i'm doing some research in turbochargers.. but i'm still confused.. some says that its' better to put a mitsubishi TD04 turbo but some other tell me that a CT-9 turbo is good enough.. so, could anyone please give me some advice in which turbo should i take or maybe another suggestion... :D

thanks a lot for all your help :D

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
from what i read so far, it seems that you are more knowledgeable than me, odessa...:adore:

i think jakarta got many expertise in engine electronics...

especially when we look into bikes cdi and engine management....maybe ppl in jakarta could help u to play with that siemens thing....

well,if u plan to boost that stock engine....just keep in mind that it won't be cheap.....

if direct BOT the limitation is low hp gain and low boost...safe to say around 0.4bar MAX without replacing any internal part of the engine...

but if u plan to go higher boost...

then u need to consider lower compression piston (that the dimension fits to original bore and conrod)...as well as better conrod including custom metal headgasket....

plus a few other piping custom job for coolant and oil in/out of the turbine...

not to mention cooling upgrade such as bigger capacity radiator and engine oil-cooler (would be good if comes with small cooling fan)

as the turbine size maybe t025 from nissan bluebird ,t03 or vf10 rhb32 would be good....for that engine displacement in term of respond and power output balance.....

:adore:

this is my suggestion to built and ideal turbo engine.....not to mention a proper ecu mapping and tuning needed......

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
A friend of mine did a turbo savvy. Light boost, no internal mods. 160hp or so. Tuned with unichip. Forgot what turbo sizing and brand he used. I think he used bigger injectors, but that's about it.

Odessa_Shin

Jan 3, 2011
Bandung
from what i read so far, it seems that you are more knowledgeable than me, odessa...:adore:
not mean to be cocky, but i think in my city me and my mech are the most knowledgeable about savvy.. since it's a new brand of car in my country so from what i heard from the Proton sevice centers, i'm the only one who already wrecked a savvy gearbox (side effect of drag racing using original parts) :burnout:

i think jakarta got many expertise in engine electronics...

especially when we look into bikes cdi and engine management....maybe ppl in jakarta could help u to play with that siemens thing....

well,if u plan to boost that stock engine....just keep in mind that it won't be cheap.....

if direct BOT the limitation is low hp gain and low boost...safe to say around 0.4bar MAX without replacing any internal part of the engine...

but if u plan to go higher boost...

then u need to consider lower compression piston (that the dimension fits to original bore and conrod)...as well as better conrod including custom metal headgasket....

plus a few other piping custom job for coolant and oil in/out of the turbine...

not to mention cooling upgrade such as bigger capacity radiator and engine oil-cooler (would be good if comes with small cooling fan)

as the turbine size maybe t025 from nissan bluebird ,t03 or vf10 rhb32 would be good....for that engine displacement in term of respond and power output balance.....

this is my suggestion to built and ideal turbo engine.....not to mention a proper ecu mapping and tuning needed......

woww.. nice suggestion... i'll keep that in mind.. :D

do u have any experience with oil squirter?? somebody say that it's useful in building a turbo engine.. somehow i don't really understand about it, how does the thing worked and the installation :confused:

A friend of mine did a turbo savvy. Light boost, no internal mods. 160hp or so. Tuned with unichip. Forgot what turbo sizing and brand he used. I think he used bigger injectors, but that's about it.
before i think about using extra injectors... which is better?? changing the injectors or using extra injectors??

mm,, if u don't mind, would ask your friend about the turbo, injector, and any other spec about his savvy turbo?? :listen:

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
not mean to be cocky, but i think in my city me and my mech are the most knowledgeable about savvy.. since it's a new brand of car in my country so from what i heard from the Proton sevice centers, i'm the only one who already wrecked a savvy gearbox (side effect of drag racing using original parts) :burnout:
haha... no worries bro...

this is some example of the oil squirter at the bottom of the block

Squirter.JPG (image)

to splash the piston with a good amount of oil to keep it cool/manageable temp.

most normally aspirated engine doesnt have that..but performance N/A engine and most turbo (especially mitsubishi) engine already have oil squirter installed....

sorry...i didn;t have the data for squirter installation on savvy...but i think i saw it somewhere in this forum they show the installation on mitsubishi or toyota block i forgot.........maybe google could help :adore:

guys,
jus need some advice and help here ......
im looking to upgrade my suspension system for my wira sedan ! so im now on custom made absobers with lowert spring comes together but its soft n cant be adjusted !
so thre are adjustables (hi/low or soft hard) n lowert absobers wit only soft hard adjusteer !
so which one is the best one to choose from ....... thanks for the...