Need Advice - 4G93 engine - Port polist or Balancing or Cams

MadCow76

May 18, 2005
Need Advice - 4G93 engine - Port polish or Balancing or Cams

Hi all,

I own a 2002 year Wira with a 4G93P engine and I've just recently converted the Siemens ECU to a Satria Gti ECU #2468. So far I've done the entire exhaust system; mivec extractor, custom downpipe, 2" piping and muffler. Not forgetting the drop in K&N air filter.

I'm planning to squeeze more power out from the engine's potential and this leads me to my questions.

Which of the following brings out more power; Port Polish or Engine Balancing? According to my mech, the cost for either one is almost the same give and take a few hundred ringgit la. What would you sifus recommend?

I am also considering changing Cams but don't quite like the up and down idling sound. I like the idling to still sound like normal so no one knows my engine is modded. What kinda cams would all you sifus recommend as well?

Appreciate all your inputs and recommendations.

Thanks in advance, cheers...

cooljas

Jan 24, 2005
MadCow76 said:
Hi all,

I own a 2002 year Wira with a 4G93P engine and I've just recently converted the Siemens ECU to a Satria Gti ECU #2468. So far I've done the entire exhaust system; mivec extractor, custom downpipe, 2" piping and muffler. Not forgetting the drop in K&N air filter.

I'm planning to squeeze more power out from the engine's potential and this leads me to my questions.

Which of the following brings out more power; Port Polish or Engine Balancing? According to my mech, the cost for either one is almost the same give and take a few hundred ringgit la. What would you sifus recommend?

I am also considering changing Cams but don't quite like the up and down idling sound. I like the idling to still sound like normal so no one knows my engine is modded. What kinda cams would all you sifus recommend as well?

Appreciate all your inputs and recommendations.

Thanks in advance, cheers...
MadCow76,
The best time to do engine balancing is when u do a engine rebuilt. I would suggest u go for Port n Polish first but before u do any Port n Polish go dyno ur engine after Port n Polish go dyno again see how many hp u gain or hp u lose, everyone will think tat Port n Polish will gain hp but wrong way of port n polish will make u lose a lot of hp!
If u put in a pair of high cams, ur idling will not go up and down if the cams setting is correct....
Cheers

g88

Jan 28, 2004
get a set of Matspeed cam with J5 management...

MadCow76

May 18, 2005
cooljas said:
MadCow76,
The best time to do engine balancing is when u do a engine rebuilt. I would suggest u go for Port n Polish first but before u do any Port n Polish go dyno ur engine after Port n Polish go dyno again see how many hp u gain or hp u lose, everyone will think tat Port n Polish will gain hp but wrong way of port n polish will make u lose a lot of hp!
If u put in a pair of high cams, ur idling will not go up and down if the cams setting is correct....
Cheers
Hi cooljas,
Thanks for your explanation. I get what you say about about port and polish, that's why I need to find a reputable mech for this. Oh and I also plan to dyno my car soon just to see how many hp gain from changing ECU and the total exhaust system.

What is an engine rebuild?

Do you mean that if I put a set high cams the idling will not go up and down? Then how come I hear some peoples car who's got high cams their idling is up and down esp at traffic lights.

Cheers...

MadCow76

May 18, 2005
g88 said:
get a set of Matspeed cam with J5 management...
Hi g88,
Thanks bro. I keep hearing about Matspeed cams, are they better than speedworks or powerzone cams? How much would they cost?

Cheers...

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
if i were u, i'd change the cams first. relatively easier and faster to complete compared to taking out engine head or the whole engine.
when u get more cash to do up engine, then u can port the head based on the characteristics of the cams, and do engine balancing based on the cams also...
if u dont want lumpy idle, then whats the point of changing cams? cams that dont have lumpy idle, usually wont extract much power...

to me, cams are the best way to force out the hidden horses in our engine...

20vturbo

Nov 19, 2003
Sarawak
www.club4ag.com
can tumpang ask also?

4g91 block can masuk 4g93 head or not? coz sumtimes i see ppl said "for 4g9x series" that means part interchangeble? can exedy 3 puck from 4g93 masuk 4g91?

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
4g91 block can masuk 4g93 head or not? -yes
can exedy 3 puck from 4g93 masuk 4g91? -can if u use 4g93 flywheel. flywheel size different but interchangeble

cooljas

Jan 24, 2005
MadCow76 said:
Hi cooljas,
Thanks for your explanation. I get what you say about about port and polish, that's why I need to find a reputable mech for this. Oh and I also plan to dyno my car soon just to see how many hp gain from changing ECU and the total exhaust system.

What is an engine rebuild?

Do you mean that if I put a set high cams the idling will not go up and down? Then how come I hear some peoples car who's got high cams their idling is up and down esp at traffic lights.

Cheers...
If u want a reputable PnP specialise person i can recommend u, most of his job done is proven in sepang drag machine,pm me for his number if u want!

An engine rebuild is u dismantle every of ur engine parts n replace the wear n tear parts!That is y i advice u to do engine balancing when u rebuild ur engine!

The idling will not go up n down very obvious if the cam setting is correct...juz tat when u on the air cond the engine cant idles but u can install in a FICD and tat will solve the problem!

U can opt to go for a high cam first but prepare at least rm3k for the process,a pair of cams will cost u roughly rm1800, a pair of cam pulley will cost u at least rm300-400, after installing high cam u need to rechip or piggyback ur ecu which cost around rm1k for the management and also an adjustable fuel regulator will cost u at least rm300.....

Y i advice u to go for PnP first is because we do things step by step...feel the power of PnP first then after u put in the cam u feel wat sort of power is the cams r pushing out!

All depends on ur budget!Juz my 2cents point of view

Cheers

keong_GSR

Apr 28, 2005
try p n p first,if want better respond,go for 93T head,d diameter of d exhaust n intake port r bigger then stock na 93p...

put cams n d indling not smooth is normal lar... u got to live with it. i suggest u go for cams gear b4 putting d race cam...

1st of all, why u dun go for piggy back direct? it's no point to change old version ecu or wiring... emanage cost 1.3~1.5k plus install n setting...

MadCow76

May 18, 2005
Hi khoyos, cooljas and Keong_GSR,

Thanks for all your input guys. I guess I will try PnP first since it's cheaper than the cams. I also agree on doing it step by step to feel the power increase on each step I go.

cooljas, will PM you soon for the PnP contact. I didn't know you have to change so many things just because we change cams. I always thought that need to change the adjustable cam pulleys only.

Keong_GSR, my original ECU was a Siemens ECU, that's why I changed to a Gti ECU so that I can do more mods. I am also planning on installing an SMT-Advance piggyback unit soon, but that'll happen when I get the cams in.

What's a good brand of cams and where can I get it? Also, how much ah?

jaydee

Jul 5, 2005
Subang Jaya
The idling won't go up and down one, I bet you heard that few years back... this is year 2006.. everybody knows to tune properly..
Now without high cams I can make the Idling go up and down for u also.. :)

Bro, change cams then the old cams pass to me k? hehe...

MadCow76

May 18, 2005
jaydee said:
The idling won't go up and down one, I bet you heard that few years back... this is year 2006.. everybody knows to tune properly..
Now without high cams I can make the Idling go up and down for u also.. :)

Bro, change cams then the old cams pass to me k? hehe...
Hahaha...I don't see it happening that soon yet though...

kob3bryant

Dec 3, 2005
wat if u get a 92mivec head to put on?heard the feedback r not too bad man!the cost should be within ur budget

MadCow76

May 18, 2005
kob3bryant said:
wat if u get a 92mivec head to put on?heard the feedback r not too bad man!the cost should be within ur budget
That's one option for the future la. How much does it cost ya? Heard it's expensive la...