Hyundai Coupe 2009? RWD + Turbocharged

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
Hyundai is unstoppable!

Hyundai just launch 2007 model, earlier in one of my thread I stated that Hyundai may turbocharge the 2007 model, but looks like the earlier info is wrong, Hyundai plan to rollout new RWD + Turbocharge engine with next Hyundai Coupe, autoblog predict Hyundai may launch it at 2009 (based on the pass history that Hyundai will launch new model every 2-3 years)

News about Hyundai Coupe 2009
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/automotive-news/156999-spy-shots-hyundai-rwd-coupe.html

Autoblog
Spy Shots: Hyundai's RWD Coupe! - Autoblog

Hyundai is about to be a very hot brand, and the biggest log on the fire will be its upcoming rear-wheel-drive BH platform that will spawn the Genesis luxury sedan, a long-wheelbase Genesis model, a Kia version of the Genesis, a possible pickup, and a groundbreaking (for Hyundai) rear-wheel-drive coupe that we previewed with a rendering last month. Like all the BH variants, the RWD coupe from Hyundai will be available with Hyundai's new Tau V8 that's capable of producing well over 300 horsepower. Well kiss our grits, but somebody actually found a development mule of the rear-wheel-drive coupe being loaded (or unloaded) at port somewhere in the world.

We've found countless people out there referring to this car as the 2009 Tiburon. It certainly well could be, but we know of no hard evidence that Hyundai will actually move the Tib upmarket by transferring the name to this RWD coupe. In fact, we don't think it's a smart idea at all, as the Tiburon name doesn't have the upmarket cachet to go up against the likes of other entry-level luxury sport coupes like the Infiniti G37 and BMW 335i coupe (Wow, did we just say that?). Plus, we doubt Hyundai's myopic desire to one day be a full-line automaker would allow it to abandon the front-wheel drive coupe segment altogether.

We're actually surprised how similar this development looks to the rendering produced for Winding Road. Of course, the covering obscures the view, but one can definitely see similarities, especially in the car's C-pillar. The gallery also includes some interior shots, which reveal a snug cockpit that's definitely driver oriented in the layout of its controls.

Armed with these images, we have to ask, how is Hyundai's coupe shaping up? If it arrives on our shores as a true G37 competitor for the price of a Mustang, then Hyundai could have a big hit on its hands.

Thanks for the tip, Jung!

Source: Bobaedream.com
Jalopnik
Yes Hyundai: Spy Photos: Hyundai RWD Coupe Spotted...Somewhere - Jalopnik

Art pic

more pics please refer to zth link in this post

babyishfemme

Jan 11, 2005
KL/PJ
It looks like out hyundai tiburon...but the back is a bit like celica...

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005
Confirmed! Hyundai making Tiburon replacement RWD

http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.autoblog.com/media/2007/07/hyundaitiburonreplacement.jpg

We've had rumors and spy shots before, but up until now we really didn't have any confirmation that Hyundai's new Tiburon replacement would switch from a pull-me to a push-me. With the new rwd platform that the company recently developed for its Genesis luxury sedan, it was expected that the next generation of affordable sports car from Korea would ditch its fwd layout and get some true sports car manners. Well, Hyundai just confirmed that when that car shows up in late 2008 or early 2009, it will indeed be rear-wheel drive.

As predicted, the car will share its rwd platform with the already-announced Genesis sedan, which we should see in about a year. The Tiburon replacement should show up half a year to a year after the sedan, and might even come as a convertible. In fact, there is also a suggestion that we'll be seeing several models based on this platform. We're not sure if the coupe will share the sedan's new V8 in addition to the expected V6, but it would make an interesting competitor for the Mustang if it did. Hyundai has officially said no, but there are still whispers, and if not a V8, some kind of boosted V6 in the top models might suffice.

[Source: Automotive News, sub. req.]

http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.autoblog.com/media/2007/05/anational1178761433.jpg
http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.autoblog.com/media/2007/05/anational1178761432.jpg
http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.autoblog.com/media/2007/05/anational1178761431.jpg
http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.autoblog.com/media/2007/05/anational1178761434.jpg
http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.autoblog.com/media/2007/05/bk14_165.jpg
http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.autoblog.com/media/2007/05/bk13_212.jpg
http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.autoblog.com/media/2007/05/bk12_902.jpg

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007
Re: Confirmed! Hyundai making Tiburon replacement RWD

Daniel,
Start saving money for the RWD tiburon?

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005

Sim,
I will need to think twice first before buying it lo.
Tax + Roadtax (if it's V8 then the gomen will earn more).
If it's affordable then I might consider. :biggrin:

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007

People,
Let's poison Daniel kaw kaw....

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005

Seems like you're the one who got poisoned. :p

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007

We will see.. we will see...

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005

The coming 3rd HCC anniversary will see Sim driving one of the latest RWD Tuscani.:ridinghorse:

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007

I wish too.. But then I should have other commitments by then la.. Need to buy house and other investments... Daniel who is still a young kid can do that la..

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005

I wish too.. But then I should have other commitments by then la.. Need to buy house and other investments... Daniel who is still a young kid can do that la..
Other investment???
Marriage???:hmmmm:
I'm just a few years younger than you, don't describe till I'm really that young.:smile:

TCSIM

Apr 20, 2007

Daniel,
I just told you how much I enjoy my freedom la.. Won't be getting married so soon unless accident happens.. Wahahhaa... Other investments like house, stock, business, etc...

Daniel Lee

Apr 21, 2005

Daniel,
I just told you how much I enjoy my freedom la.. Won't be getting married so soon unless accident happens.. Wahahhaa... Other investments like house, stock, business, etc...
Wow! I like the way you used the word "accident".
You're a player. kekekeke...