help.. my vacuum meter no reading

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
hi all....

i got this vacuum meter i not yet install...

just now i go pull out a tube (connected to the intake hose)
and connect to my vacuum...
no reading one.. (at engine idle)

what happened? i got engine problem?

later i connect the vacuum meter to a tube
and use my mouth to suck..
the meter do move...

btw.. the vacuum meter reading written inch /hg

so is it normal one?

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
no la.. i think correct
if put finger cover the hose
can slightly feel the vacuum inside....

so what is the normal reading when idleing?

Darth

May 10, 2005
17-22 inch/hg for proper 'healthy' engine

tykoh

Jun 30, 2004
tykoh88.blogspot.com
sam1741 said:
no la.. i think correct
if put finger cover the hose
can slightly feel the vacuum inside....

so what is the normal reading when idleing?
i think you are connecting to the wrong hose lah.... u should make
a T-joint at the hose from engine to throttle body... dont connect the
hose of engine to air filter box...
just some experience... :)

darkbob

Dec 8, 2004
Johor Bahry
may i ask u what engine u r using ? what car ?

maybe u tapped the wrong hose ?

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
If u r connecting the correct hose but no reading, means ur car got vacuum problem and cannot start already la. Make sure it's the correct hose first. what car?

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
hi all...

my car is datsun 120y...

the place i connect.. is the 'box' right after the carburetor and before my air filter..
dono if is correct or not?

PCV cannot connect.. as mine is just a big pipe and lead to the ground.. ( the mech that transplant this datsun engine dun conenct PCV.. cause hose size not right, then i cant find any place also)

so.. is the place correct? or should i find other place?

Maxx

Feb 17, 2005
PD-Putrajaya-KL
i think u connected it to the wrong vac. line. use or T vac. line that are source from intake manifold or after carb.

darkbob

Dec 8, 2004
Johor Bahry
sam,

hmm.. in this case...

try looking behind ur carburetor, is there a Vacuum Distributor... it looks something like a connecter which connects lots of VAcuum Hoses... TRy tapping it from there.. :D

Good Luck Trying....

2019 Updated 585hp AMG GT R & 557hp GT C arrives Malaysia!

3.6 secs - Mercedes Benz Malaysia unleashes AMG's latest GT R & GT C! Yes, the 7:10.9 minute Beast of the Green Hell has been updated and is now here at Sepang!

AMG GT R: 3.6 secs / 585hp / 700nm / 318kmh / 4L V8 TT / 7 DCT / RM1,712,888...