B18CR Swap

SpeedThenEnd

Jan 7, 2008
i need some help here ... i bought a half cut dc2 b18cr for my ek ... do i need a lot of modified to swap b18cr into ek ? the radiator use dc2 1 ? dc2 everything can fit in ek or not ?

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
firstly, i'd like to say good choice! i once was like u and i opted for a b16a... "b16a enough power ma..." but boy was i wrong..

anyhow,

if i rmb right, u dont need to modify anything at all if u buy the halfcut... everything can be used back. if got also, minor mods for brackets/mountings... the rest are pretty much plug and play...

u bought it urself or ur foremen bought it? get your foremen's opinion would be better, but again, i stand on my statement..

also i think it would be better that u let ur foremen to source it for u as some halfcut shop (not all la, just saying to be on the safe side) may try to con u ..

SpeedThenEnd

Jan 7, 2008
coz the b18cr price is cheap ma , not much diffrent compare with b16a and the b16a half cut got leaking so i take b18cr lor . i know many ppl swap b18cr in ek ... so i no worry if i wan to buy the b18cr half cut . ehh bro i wanna ask u something ... does all b18cr gear box is Lsd 1 ???

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
b18cr price cheap?? u sure its b18cr or b18c GSR? even the GSR isn't cheap...

there's 4 b-series engine u know? b16a, b16b, b18c gsr and b18cR...

what model is your halfcut?

as far as i know b16a is already 7.5k... b16b is like 10.5k... b18c gsr is around 9k-ish and b18cR is like 13.5k....

i think u got urself a GSR bro.. simple, post a picture and we shall let u know..

to answer ur question - if its a b18cR then it comes originally with LSD..

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
how much did u bought the halfcut bro?
if u wanna check the block whether its a type r.
theres a engine code besides the gearbox.near the extractor.
it should says b18c5
gsr is b18c1.i guess la.lama tak maen vtec.hehe

SpeedThenEnd

Jan 7, 2008
GSR also is type r ?? why i hear ppl say type r is red cover ... i comfirm liao den tell u the price ...

arrowhead is totally right!!!
it's quite impossible that 18c is cheaper than 16a
18c come with LSD of cos ...
anyhow, to be frank, we are auto service centre too, we prefer to let the owners to find their own half cuts, cos we all can't guarantee how good the condition of the half cut
n in order for not letting the half cut shop to con us, the best way is pay the workshop, get warranty, less mess and save time ...
if you guys need more advice for HONDA modification, just let us know
we are the specialist for HONDA!!!

arturo

nooB
SateCelupLand
Speedthenend...how much u buy the halfcut la? from the way u were saying it, its like u got it at about the same price as a b16a?

SpeedThenEnd

Jan 7, 2008
COLOR="Silver"]

---------- Post added at 07:56 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:14 PM ----------

[/COLOR]GSR and type r manifold not same 1... i find out already ...

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
its a type r. im still very surprised that u managed to get it for 9k? anyhow, that's a good price. really really good price. even b16a also almost reaching that price already. u've got urself a bargain.

so safe to say u dont really have to worry because the halfcut comes with LSD. just find out which year the engine is made, then you can tell whether ur FD is 4.4. or 4.785..

... 9k... im actually slapping myself.. LOL..

and you've just answered your own question on how to differentiate type r and gsr. the intake is a giveaway. the gsr is the one and only engine which uses the upside down intake.

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
that is the DC2 Type R halfcut.

it will all be mostly plug and play in terms of engine. if you wanna use back the radiator also can ...need mod abit

the dashboard all you cant use back....that is not PNP. so that one you can sell of or trade in.

Everybody has been so tied up in the Lotus vs. Lotus feud that nobody has actually found out where the Chapman clan stands on the issue. Well now, Colin Chapman’s son, Clive, is standing firm behind Group Lotus, the one that just recently entered into a merger with Renault F1 for next season.

Clive went on to say that Group Lotus is the true...