Is this engine & head number is B18CR engine? Can anyone help?

Ceffy_999

Aug 3, 2008

Just bought an engine & have been told it's ori B18CR engine. Just scare that the engine I bought is not Type R engine. Below is the number of then engine block & head.

Engine Block Number: B18C 1909654
Head number 9/6 5 1/3 (left side) PR3-2 (right side). Is this code means the engine manufacture on 13/05/1996?

Anyone sifus can help to indentify?

testpower

Nov 29, 2006
it's definitely b18cr engine.. FYI, b18cr used block serial no. from 190xxxx to 210xxxx.
about the head, it's was true that engine manufactured in 1996. i dont know about the other 5 and 1/3. but i dont think it was a date.

Ceffy_999

Aug 3, 2008
it's definitely b18cr engine.. FYI, b18cr used block serial no. from 190xxxx to 210xxxx.
about the head, it's was true that engine manufactured in 1996. i dont know about the other 5 and 1/3. but i dont think it was a date.
That means it's not a B18 GSR engine....:biggrin:

testpower

Nov 29, 2006
as far as i know, it wasnt b18c gsr. its was a type r. the intake manifold on B18c gsr has a different compare to b18cR, u can see there. post some picture here to let us recognized.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
intake manifold on the B18C GSR has different coolant ports.

B16A and B18CR head from outside quite similar, I don't know how to differentiate without opening the valve cover.

Internally, B18CR has dual valve springs for intake and exhaust, while B16A head has single spring for exhaust, and dual springs for intake (or was it the reverse? Don't remember). Cams also different, if you want pictures, can probably search the older threads in this forum. The cams have slightly different ends near the cam cover/distributor. There's also another method, but not very accurate.

akeyrasta

Jul 5, 2010
Type r head come with pr3-3.. but block i think it's start with 2xxxxxx..
JDM ITR motors had the block number that began with 2. Also all the JDM GSR motors had the block number that began with 1.

Note : I could be wrong so don't take my word for it. It is just from personal experience

9tailsfox

Sep 28, 2010
gsr start with less than 19xxxxx if not mistaken is start from 10xxxxx. 19xxxxx is around 1996 0r 1997. if 20xxxxx -22xxxxx is around 1998- year 2000. lastime my 1996 type r enginestart 19xxxxx. If take complete type r see the head stamp on extractor like 9/6, 9/7, 9/8, 9/9,0/0. all these is present year. pr3-2 or pr3-3 is casting only. check near distributor type r there got a green paint. that is comfirm type r if b16a don't have

dcloo

May 11, 2005
if you still not concern with all the info listed above and budget not an issue,
ask your mechanic part out the whole engine and you can inspect 1 by 1 to 100% confirm
and rebuilt the whole engine to get peak performance

dear pro, please help me to settle my question :adore::adore: ... i'm using original disc right now, and my rim is 17"

1. i would like to change new disc rator with line 1, any brand recommend?
2. is the clip have to change together compulsory?
3. the from existing set is able to move to the rear?
:adore::adore::adore: