Standard absorber

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
Hello brothers,

Wanna ask if anyone using standard absorbers or all upgraded to adjustable.

I'm actually thinking of going back to stock for comfort.

The adjustable I'm in, is like sailing to north China sea..
No doubt, handling or cornering is good.
But do note that my arbs have already been upgraded.
It may contribute to the better handling and cornering.

Chinese new year is coming hence I thought of enhancing the ride by change the suspension.

I come across this monroe reflex, saw a seller going for rm360 for complete set. Thinking of pairing it with a stock spring.

Any reviews or recommendations before I waste money again.

My goal is to achieve comfort yet with stability without burning a hole in my wallet. *cheap is good and cool*

Peace. :wavey:

I've used monroe reflex on my Wira before. It's only marginally harder than stock. What car do you drive again?

If you're looking for comfort and performance, Koni FSD/Yellow + Eibach prokit. I can't remember if it was the yellow or FSD that had dual valve technology, it would use the main valve when not under pressure (meaning comfort) and if pushed (pressure) the 2nd valve would open up and that stiffens up the absorber giving you stiffer dampers. It's pretty good imho.

Cannot get best of both worlds. Harder suspension better handling, softer suspension better comfort. Going back to standard get standard handling and comfort....

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
I've used monroe reflex on my Wira before. It's only marginally harder than stock. What car do you drive again?

If you're looking for comfort and performance, Koni FSD/Yellow + Eibach prokit. I can't remember if it was the yellow or FSD that had dual valve technology, it would use the main valve when not under pressure (meaning comfort) and if pushed (pressure) the 2nd valve would open up and that stiffens up the absorber giving you stiffer dampers. It's pretty good imho.
Perdana, evo engine..

Koni and eibach is expensive..
I'm currently using eibach arbs.

I tried apm performax.. comfort but terrible at highway.
The speed I'm in is between 130 to 180 km.

---------- Post added at 08:19 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:14 AM ----------

Cannot get best of both worlds. Harder suspension better handling, softer suspension better comfort. Going back to standard get standard handling and comfort....
Hey hey, bro.
How are you?

Yeah.. Tough situation here..

My mother in law has been nice to me lately.. buying me meals and cooking hence I thought I could reciprocate by giving her some comfort when going back to ipoh during cny..

I was told that there's some workshop that change the spring of the adjustable..
Meaning adjustable damper but normal spring rate. Which promise the best of 2 world.

I yet to see such shop in jb but was told, common in kl.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

Damper is for handling and stability while the spring, is the bounding effect. Normal will obtain comfort.

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
One shop is PRS. They mod absorbers to your spec. But if you want performance and handling, Koni is still the way to go. Expensive yes - but you get what you pay for.

Damper isn't just for handling and stability. It doesn't work that way. Give this a read through and watch those vids : https://www.carthrottle.com/post/en...-suspension-works-and-upgrading-to-coilovers/
Have check, johor don't offer such service..

Their so call suspension specialist is like selling a particular brand only. Example proride.

Thanks for sharing.:adore:

ken yeang

Monroe reflex is meant to be paired with standard springs. However, the combo effect is hardly noticable, in most of the car applications. I have persoanlly tried it on my SEG. Anyway, for the price I have paid, I didn't expect miracle in the first place.

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
Monroe reflex is meant to be paired with standard springs. However, the combo effect is hardly noticable, in most of the car applications. I have persoanlly tried it on my SEG. Anyway, for the price I have paid, I didn't expect miracle in the first place.
I do have the intention of pairing with standard spring..

I tried before performax with sport spring.. whenever in ipoh, going over the hump. It will scratch the front bumper..

Now I'm on adjustable.. I don't face such problems when back to ipoh.

Based on what you shared.. then nothing special about monroe reflex.. I rather stick to my current adjustable. .

Well, maybe you could pay KL a visit one of these days specially for your suspension. :D

Since you have stiff ARBs, why not go with the Monroes + stock spring then you'll have stock comfort but ARBs to help with your cornering. I went that route in the end, stock suspension (sort of) and full set ultra racing bars + pretty thick ARBs. Had some minor body roll but that was acceptable since suspension was so comfort-based.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

How about Bilstein? I've used before on my old Eterna back in Jkt and they're pretty good as well.

marv3

Jun 5, 2014
Have you tried removing the ARB? It may help.

Having ARB further stiffens whatever suspension you have on by reducing the movement. Maybe...Just maybe, removing it will make it better?

But if you want the best of both worlds, i think the Koni FSD is they way to go. Expensive yes. But it solves your problem once and for all. But with that being said, being the best of both world, i have my doubt on the performance part. I dont think it can perform as good as a full fledged coilovers when perforamance is concern. Coz coilovers i can adjust it to become very stiff (track use), but FSD there is nothing to adjust. You just live with what is set in the FSD. Not saying is not good though. FSD still good. But the limit is restricted.

KONI: shock absorbers kit containing front & rear shocks

ken yeang

I tried before performax with sport spring.. whenever in ipoh, going over the hump. It will scratch the front bumper..

Based on what you shared.. then nothing special about monroe reflex.. I rather stick to my current adjustable. .
Yeah. There are a couple of aftermarket absorber manufacturers that claim their product to be better and sporty than standard setup. But, disappointedly they perform worst than standard setup.

One was the so-called sport spring set from Hotbits. The hotbit shocks were so-so only, but their sport spring sagged and bottom out in the slightest bump, The whole kit dont simply worth the sking price. Really suck eggs big time. Purely disapointment

From my own experience.

Having ARB further stiffens whatever suspension you have on by reducing the movement. Maybe...Just maybe, removing it will make it better?

But if you want the best of both worlds, i think the Koni FSD is they way to go. Expensive yes. But it solves your problem once and for all. But with that being said, being the best of both world, i have my doubt on the performance part. I dont think it can perform as good as a full fledged coilovers when perforamance is concern. Coz coilovers i can adjust it to become very stiff (track use), but FSD there is nothing to adjust. You just live with what is set in the FSD. Not saying is not good though. FSD still good. But the limit is restricted.

Bro. marv3, Perdana don't ride like your PUG leh!......:driver:

---------- Post added at 06:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:09 PM ----------

If you have adjustable, can you use standard springs? My standard springs are of bigger coils. I think you can change the lighter spring rate will be better....

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
Well, maybe you could pay KL a visit one of these days specially for your suspension. :D

Since you have stiff ARBs, why not go with the Monroes + stock spring then you'll have stock comfort but ARBs to help with your cornering. I went that route in the end, stock suspension (sort of) and full set ultra racing bars + pretty thick ARBs. Had some minor body roll but that was acceptable since suspension was so comfort-based.
Yeah. Ought to..

I did contacted prs, they quote me rm1800 for their hlsh adjustable.
Rm900 for their standard absorber.

Yeah. I'm actually thinking of what you said.
*thumb up*

Between monroe reflex and apm performax, which is better? I only know performax is shorter stroke, the last time I used it, was pairing with a sport spring.

---------- Post added at 08:10 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:06 AM ----------

I tried before. Removing was in fact, worst..

Hence I guess it's the suspension that is weak.. can drive, no problem.. just not comfortable..

Sorry, I don't understand much about suspension setup..

Coil over and adjustable, aren't they the same?

Yeah.. I guess koni is really the top class of suspension as I been reading it almost everywhere.. but it's really out of my budget..

You must understand..

This car is a sleeper. .
Only use for long distance..
Like 5 times per year..
Want to sell but can't bear to..
Want to upgrade, also cannot..

---------- Post added at 08:13 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:10 AM ----------

Bro. marv3, Perdana don't ride like your PUG leh!......:driver:

---------- Post added at 06:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:09 PM ----------

If you have adjustable, can you use standard springs? My standard springs are of bigger coils. I think you can change the lighter spring rate will be better....
Can I?
Really?

I read about this method and it really a mixture of comfort and performance. Something that I will consider to go for without spending much.

But who can actually do it? Is it doable?
I went to a few workshop and discuss this before but none knows about it.
They just promote me their own brands or items..

How about Bilstein? I've used before on my old Eterna back in Jkt and they're pretty good as well.
I guess Bilsteins should be good. I've never used them before so can't comment but based on reputation alone, they probably are good.

Yeah. There are a couple of aftermarket absorber manufacturers that claim their product to be better and sporty than standard setup. But, disappointedly they perform worst than standard setup.

One was the so-called sport spring set from Hotbits. The hotbit shocks were so-so only, but their sport spring sagged and bottom out in the slightest bump, The whole kit dont simply worth the sking price. Really suck eggs big time. Purely disapointment

From my own experience.
Wah.. I used to be on their hi/lo coilovers. I thought they were ok, kinda soft but that was a plus point.

Yeah. Ought to..

I did contacted prs, they quote me rm1800 for their hlsh adjustable.
Rm900 for their standard absorber.

Yeah. I'm actually thinking of what you said.

Between monroe reflex and apm performax, which is better? I only know performax is shorter stroke, the last time I used it, was pairing with a sport spring.

Coil over and adjustable, aren't they the same?
PRS do customize to your liking so they are ok if you go that route.

Otherwise just go with stock spring + absorbers, then just stiffen up the anti-roll bars. Thicker bars = less body roll. It'll affect the ride quality somewhat but it won't be too extreme. But just a note - too thick ARBs might cause understeer characteristics.

APM performax is a sports absorber. Monroe Reflex is a OEM replacement absorber. Different performance levels. Personally I dislike Performax, too uncomfortable.

Coilovers is the proper term, adjustables is just what we use to refer to coilovers

---------- Post added at 06:58 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:56 PM ----------