what type of gear box

toyo_95_ae101

Sep 9, 2008
Hi sifu's,

sorry i'm new to this area,
Please help explain about the gearbox. currently I feel like my ae101 4afe 1.6 local gear box take time to engage and it's leacking.
I'm planning to get chop shop gear box. Can I jus buy any BT or ST or 4age or any gear box for my seg?

please advise me sifu and taiko's.

Thanks n salute every sifu advise me.

Toyota the best!

KHWONG

Jun 29, 2006
Auto or manual?

take back 4afe gb for perfect match unless u like something new feeling.. hahahaha

i believe many taikos here got alot 4afe Gb also..

G-loon

Aug 21, 2008
ya ya..agree with KHWONG..
take back the 4afe will be the perfect match..

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
Hi sifu's,

sorry i'm new to this area,
Please help explain about the gearbox. currently I feel like my ae101 4afe 1.6 local gear box take time to engage and it's leacking.
I'm planning to get chop shop gear box. Can I jus buy any BT or ST or 4age or any gear box for my seg?

please advise me sifu and taiko's.

Thanks n salute every sifu advise me.

Toyota the best!
Ermm... I guess you are 4AFE Manual SEG...
So you may put in 4AGE gear box too... And it would be better too... Because gear ratio was change from 3.7 to 4.3, and it close ratio... It mean you can accelerate much faster & power drop lesser, but please forget the top end... Because 4AFE never have top end power. 4AFE gear box, it was just match the fuel economy term only.

alantan350

Apr 5, 2007
use back 4afe c52 GB, black top or silver top c56 GB cannot screw up, unless u want to modify the screw mounting, c52 only six screw, c56 got eight screw. if not modify properly u will get a lot of problem.

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
use back 4afe c52 GB, black top or silver top c56 GB cannot screw up, unless u want to modify the screw mounting, c52 only six screw, c56 got eight screw. if not modify properly u will get a lot of problem.
I beat you make a big mistake... He talking about gear box, not flywheel la...
For your information, 4AFE and 4AGE have same gearbox housing.

bernard74

Oct 21, 2008
Sarikei/Sarawak
Hi guys...just got my car back, 4AFE with 4AGE ST gearbox auto. My mechanic & I are scratching our heads coz it wont go into 1st gear, run on 2nd or third gear onwards only. Moreover, gear lever position now shifted downward...D becomes neutral, N becomes Reverse...cant shift into P or low gear. Also, there's an extra socket on the gearbox but my wiring doesn't have any extra cable to it. Please help! :help:

Dayline668

Aug 4, 2007
Hi guys...just got my car back, 4AFE with 4AGE ST gearbox auto. My mechanic & I are scratching our heads coz it wont go into 1st gear, run on 2nd or third gear onwards only. Moreover, gear lever position now shifted downward...D becomes neutral, N becomes Reverse...cant shift into P or low gear. Also, there's an extra socket on the gearbox but my wiring doesn't have any extra cable to it. Please help! :help:
Bro.. u make a big mistake putting in 4age AT gearbox in 4afe, its must run on 4age AT ECU. Sifu correct me if wrong...

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
Auto? Why don't just upgrade Manual while so hard in searching..

Dayline668

Aug 4, 2007
He wan comfort maybe.. manual can get very frustrated when traffic jam. i'm a auto person. :biggrin:

william1335

Mar 16, 2011
johor
I think 4age and 4afe gear box is same, just the wire have little different, some gearbox hv 2 wire and some is 3 wire, for my toyota ae111-97 using 2 wire type, and i just change it blacktop gearbox(2 wire) because automatic reverse gear delay too long. The performance is quite good compare with original.

2018 All New Subaru Forester Debuts in Taiwan

Reengineered, Reimagined and Redesigned are top taglines of the all-new Forester. Debuted here at a theme park hotel in Taichung, Taiwan, Subaru's 5th gen flagship SUV has grown larger and feature a host of enhancements both inside and out. But don't...