Vtec B.O.T is it differ with NA B.O.T?

drexxza

Dec 10, 2004
Pahang
just curious with the performance..
how come when vtec BOT are much more powerfull rather then normal NA BOT?!
is there any differ?

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
is there any differ?
maybe its the vtec itself? i mean it got 2 sets of cam rite? one normal and another is wilder...

just like normal NA wif wilder cams + BOT la... just that vtec have to privilege to switch between 2 sets of cam :adore:

correct me if i'm wrong...not even a vtec owner

jinkl

May 22, 2004
is there any differ?
need you to research on this few things

1. wht is vtec
2. how vtec works

tigger5251

Sep 18, 2009
any engine after BOT will win easily on a drag. (skills required) but to build a turbo+valve technology equiped engine, is tricky

drexxza

Dec 10, 2004
Pahang
need you to research on this few things

1. wht is vtec
2. how vtec works
jinkl,
atlast found u here..hehehe..
i done a few research on vtec already,
but the main point here is why BOT,
the concept of BOT is already differr itself from vtec..
so why there is still a few vtec owner BOT? even the variable valve itself is already strong enough...

mind the gap of power gain between NA engine with BOT.. i understand it already..just love to study more rational reason why vtec need BOT... thanks guys for sharing in advance...

jinkl

May 22, 2004
ok ok , to my understanding

vtec is still n/a , its just a variable timing n valve lift technology
same goes here with mivec 1st gen

in a normal turbo car without valve tech's
to get more air flow of an engine , u need to use High Cams
wht happens when u use high cams is that , the higher the degree and lift
the more your low rpm will suffer

but with vtec and mivec technology
you have an extra lobe which is higher in degree and higher in lift
once your vtec/mivec selenoid is switched on, you engine head will then utilize the extra lobe.
With a nice cam pulley to adjust the overlaps, it will sure bring out more flow into the engine

nan83

Nov 14, 2004
Pasir Mas,Kel
is there any differ?
of coz lah.... vtec is will tune hi rev engine .... it can flow more better due to head design + have hi lobe cam ... + vtec gear ratio ....

normal n/a bot ... no hi cam , limited rev ... engine design for low to mid rpm .... gear ratio oso no good....

vtec turbo need 2 look at turbine... small turbine it will choke coz of hi rev engine need more flow..

tigger5251

Sep 18, 2009
hehehehe, u mean to say BIG VTEC + BIG TURBO = Champion ?

How are you going to drive it ? GODHAND driver like the s2000 from initialD ?

*chuckle*

tigger, constructive comments only. Please.

nan83

Nov 14, 2004
Pasir Mas,Kel
hehehehe, u mean to say BIG VTEC + BIG TURBO = Champion ?

How are you going to drive it ? GODHAND driver like the s2000 from initialD ?

*chuckle*
hehehe... what ar you talking...

i'm just comparing vtec bot & n/a bot ....

example :

4g92p bot vs b16a bot

b16a just change conrod + piston .... the block ready to be push ...

4g92p ... to perform the same with b16a ... you need conrod + piston + camshaft + valve spring + head job + good gear ratio ....

look the potential is not the same ...... with a good setup, i see alot of vtec bot got flat torque.. that was good...

but vtec gearbox oso not good if power over 300whp ..... sure no traction coz the ratio..

if someone sell 4g63t head with valve switching.... i'm the first to buy it.... coz i want hi cam but dun want suffer low rpm ...

jinkl

May 22, 2004
hehehe... what ar you talking...

i'm just comparing vtec bot & n/a bot ....

example :

4g92p bot vs b16a bot

b16a just change conrod + piston .... the block ready to be push ...

4g92p ... to perform the same with b16a ... you need conrod + piston + camshaft + valve spring + head job + good gear ratio ....

look the potential is not the same ...... with a good setup, i see alot of vtec bot got flat torque.. that was good...

but vtec gearbox oso not good if power over 300whp ..... sure no traction coz the ratio..

if someone sell 4g63t head with valve switching.... i'm the first to buy it.... coz i want hi cam but dun want suffer low rpm ...
hehe i tink we should compare 4g92 mivec bot vs b16a bot instead
dont la pick the 92p :P

i guess both has pro's and cons , bt once we are trying to push it to the limits
the 16a will have more expenses, blockguard ? sleeves ? :)

tigger5251

Sep 18, 2009
better play a proper turbo engine lar, do u see reliable turbo comes with variable valves ? Answers is not likely. Turbo already got tonnes of torque and leaves behind engines relying on high hp waiting the variable valve thing to activate.....

guys..
wats the diff between B16A, B & C?

Bro, here's the list

B16A
Found in:
JDM Honda Integra RSi/XSi (DA6/DA8)
1988-1991 JDM Honda CRX SiR (EF8)
1988-1991 JDM Honda Civic SiR (EF9)

• Displacement: 1,595 cc (97.3 cu in) 1.6 liter
  • Compression: 10.2:1
  • Bore: 81.0 mm (3.2 in)
  • Rod/stroke ratio: 1.745
  • Power: 118 kW (160 PS; 158 bhp) @ 0 rpm & 111 ft·lbf (150 N·m) @ 7000 rpm
  • Transmission: S1/J1/Y1
  • Transmission: S4C/Y21 (Some with LSD)
  • Redline: 8200 rpm
B16A2 (2nd Gen)
Found in:
1992-2000 Honda Civic EDM VTi (EG6/EG9 & EK4)
1992-1997 Honda Civic Del Sol EDM VTi (EG)
1996-1997 Honda Civic Del Sol USDM "VTEC"
1999-2000 Honda Civic USDM Si (EM1)
1999-2000 Honda Civic CAN SiR (EM1)

• Displacement: 1,595 cc (97.3 cu in)
  • Bore×Stroke: 81.0×77.4 mm (3.19×3.05 in)
  • Power: 160 bhp @ 7600 rpm & 118 ft·lbf (151 N·m) @ 7000 rpm
  • Transmission: Y21 or S4C
  • Redline...8,000 RPM
  • Rev Limit...8,450 RPM
  • VTEC Engagement...5,700 RPM
B16B
Found in:
1997-2000 JDM Civic Type R[EK9]

• Displacement: 1,595 cc (97.3 cu in)
  • Compression: 10.8:1
  • Bore: 81 mm (3.2 in)
  • Stroke: 77.4 mm
  • Rod/Stroke ratio: 1.84:1
  • Rod Length: 142.42 mm (5.607 in)
  • Power: 136 kW (185 PS; 182 bhp) @ 8200 rpm & 16.3kgm @ 7500 rpm
  • Redline: 8400 rpm
  • Rev-limit: 9000 rpm
  • Transmission: S4C With LSD
  • Vtec engagement @ 6200 rpm
  • Note: This engine uses the same block as the Integra Type R, which is taller than the B16a block, but with a crank the same stroke as the b16a. It uses longer rods to accommodate for this, which is why the Rod/Stroke ratio is higher than a standard B16.
B18C
1. SPEC R

Found in:
96-98 JDM Honda Integra Type R DC2
96-98 JDM Honda Integra Type R DB8

• Rev-limit: 8600 rpm
  • Power: 147.1 kW (200 PS; 197 bhp) @ 8000 rpm & 138 ft·lbf (187 N·m) @ 6200 rpm
  • Transmission Type: J4D (96specR w/ LSD & 4.4 final drive), N3E (98specR w/LSD & 4.785 final drive)
  • Displacement: 1,797 cc (109.7 cu in)
  • Compression: 11.1:1
  • Bore: 81 mm (3.189 in)
  • Stroke: 87.2 mm (3.433 in)
  • Rod Length: 137.9 mm (5.429 in)
  • Rod/Stroke Ratio: 1.58
  • VTEC Engagement @ 5800 RPM
2. GSR
Found in:
93-95 JDM Honda Integra Si (DB8, DC2)
95-98 JDM Honda Integra SiR/SiR II (DB8, DC2)
98-99 JDM Honda Integra SiR-G (DB8, DC2)

• Rev-limit: 8500 Rpm
  • Power: 132.39 kW (180 PS; 178 bhp) @ 7200 rpm & 128 ft·lbf (174 N·m) @ 6200 rpm
  • Displacement: 1,797 cc (109.7 cu in)
  • Compression: 10.6:1
  • Bore: 81 mm (3.189 in)
  • Stroke: 87.2 mm (3.433 in)
Highlights of B18C Spec R compared to standard B18C GSR

1. Camshaft - Wide-angled, high-lift, high-durability camshaft
2. Exhaust Valve Spring - High-lift, dual-layered spring
3. Sparkplug - High-heat-type #7 platinum plug
4. Engine Stiffener - Aluminum die-cast, high-durability, one-piece type
5. Crankshaft - Full-balancer, 8-weight, high-output, custom crankshaft
6. Connecting Rod - Custom TypeR rod, high-durability, lightened
7. Pistons - High-compression, low-friction, custom pistons
8. Inlet Valves - Lightened inlet valves
9. Intake Manifold - Custom tuning, single-port type.
10. Throttle Body - 62mm wide-mouth throttle body.
11. Inlet Valve Springs - High-lift, flat-surfaced, dual-layered spring

Info from:
Honda B engine - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005

Bro, here's the list

B16A
Found in:
JDM Honda Integra RSi/XSi (DA6/DA8)
1988-1991 JDM Honda CRX SiR (EF8)
1988-1991 JDM Honda Civic SiR (EF9)

• Displacement: 1,595 cc (97.3 cu in) 1.6 liter
  • Bore: 81.0 mm (3.2 in)
  • Rod/stroke ratio: 1.745
  • Power: 118 kW (160 PS; 158 bhp) @ 0 rpm & 111 ft·lbf (150 N·m) @ 7000 rpm
  • Transmission: S1/J1/Y1
  • Transmission: S4C/Y21 (Some with LSD)
  • Redline: 8200 rpm

Info from:
Honda B engine - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
typo in wikipedia :rofl:

khoo198

Feb 11, 2009
N9
B16Cagain?:confused:

NVH, or Noise, Vibration and Harshness, is the study and modification of the noise and vibration characteristics of vehicles, particularly cars and trucks. - Wikipedia, Feb 2013.

So what exactly is it? In other words: You sit in the car. The car runs, you feel annoyed by the noise e.g. tyre or road noise, rattling noise, tweaking noise, or even ur mother in law keep on nagging. Sorry I cant solve the last problem for you. You're on your own :rofl:

Too long exposure to certain level...