Spotted : Mercedes-Benz C350 AMG

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak

Although one might argue that this is definitely not front page worthy, but how often do you encounter a Mercedes-Benz C350 AMG? According to the local news, the only C Classes that were for sale was the C200 Kompressor, C200 CGI, C230, C250 CGI, C300 V6 and the C63 AMG.

Was this car a special import? This car had the Cycle and Carriage number plate holder, which are the authorised local Mercedes-Benz dealers and distributors. While it may carry a generic number plate attached to it, having the twin-pipes, perfectly aligned badge that says C350 , AMG, this leads me to believe that, this is the rare 300hp fire breathing dragon, that could be as rare as only 1 unit in Malaysia, let me know if you spotted others.

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
yeah your right, great eyes!

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
hmm..... maybe just a badge..... plenty of those stuffs in ebay....
my guess is that it might be a c300 amg, but the AHB number plate series was issued beginning of last year, before the launch of the c300 amg this year! so it doesn't correlate. so this could be a special issue car.

similar with the launch of the c class back then, there was a white color c-class elegance sedan with grey coloured interior. all white c-class sold in malaysia before the cgi came in, were only available in avantgarde trim, came with brown interior with no other choices, so it could be an one off demo unit from germany, for their CEOs or other promotional purposes.

---------- Post added at 02:28 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:28 PM ----------

hahaha..my house is nearby mate..use that route on a daily basis when i'm back home..nice find by the way
ur in ipoh? can yumcha then

Desolator

Apr 30, 2010
sadly not now man..am studying in melbourne..will only be back at the end of the year..will be more than happy to yumcha then :rock:

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
I believe it is just a badge la...

zenom

Dec 17, 2006
special ordered car should tagged by a special number plate too . that one is nowhere near a vip status number , so maybe just a badge but hey , who knows :P

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
special ordered car should tagged by a special number plate too . that one is nowhere near a vip status number , so maybe just a badge but hey , who knows :P
perhaps and maybe, but did u spot that LHD corvette with generic number plate, im sure that caught someone offguard!

blueteg

Aug 30, 2004
My guess is that it's either a grey import with the M272 3.5 engine, or a CKD C230 with M272 2.5 engine, based on the twin mufflers. Also the car doesn't actually have the AMG sports package on, otherwise the mufflers and rear bumper would look different.

I'm pretty sure the AMG badging is something he bought and pasted on himself too, since it's a rule that only the proper AMGs (with the big engines) get that badge.
My contribution, Kev.

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
My guess is that it's either a grey import with the M272 3.5 engine, or a CKD C230 with M272 2.5 engine, based on the twin mufflers. Also the car doesn't actually have the AMG sports package on, otherwise the mufflers and rear bumper would look different.

I'm pretty sure the AMG badging is something he bought and pasted on himself too, since it's a rule that only the proper AMGs (with the big engines) get that badge.
My contribution, Kev.
hmm, good argument! im sure thats what i think too, most likely a c230 with a c350 badging, by the looks of it!

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak

more googling led me to realise this, could be a real c350 , with a fake amg sticker stuck to it, just saying!

---------- Post added at 04:48 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:42 PM ----------

i tot all merc AMG's are black color? correct me if im wrong....
i believe, that would be the AMG black series! lol

eujin

Jul 10, 2005
wajaland
wah...this is ipoh tiger lane..hahahha....well..ipoh getting alot nice car lately...rite kevin lee....

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
i believe, that would be the AMG black series! lol
The Black series is actually not about the color! :biggrin: Besides black, it can be white, silver, red, etc.
Anyway back to topic, the Merc in the photo must be a normal C class with an AMG badge cuz so far AMG has not made any other AMG C class besides the C63.

e3_1990

Aug 18, 2009
Nice to see you shot it and post over here, i saw it before but too bad i dont have chance to take picture of it.

btw, there's a black s65 amg with number plate of AG* 8 appear occasionally in little india :P

matshah

Jul 11, 2008
there is C350..u can buy t new TOP GEAR malaysia n read t review on page 98-103