radiator issues

fazidk

hi ppl..dis is just for discussion sake...i know most ppl think dat dis is ez or waste of time etc etc but i think its worth doing..well anyways hehehe..

topic 1
say a normal twin core radiator..ermmm from a wira/satria 1.6..can it b changed to a smaller size but aluminium..say from a saga or sumthin?wats d problem (if any) wiz dis set up?eg. in terms of cooling performance

topic 2
most radiator fan are based behind d radiator (rite???)..ermmm can it b put in d front n wat r d problems wiz dis set up (if any)

tq n rgds

g4i8y0t

Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
topic 2:
if u put the fan front of the radiator, it will take direct hit from stone, bugs and debris while spinning.. not a good thing.

fazidk

hmmm yeah 4got bout dat part..thnx bro..but wat about IF there is a way to make a cover or something 2 avoid those hits?

topic 2:
if u put the fan front of the radiator, it will take direct hit from stone, bugs and debris while spinning.. not a good thing.

---------- Post added at 10:08 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:07 PM ----------

ermmm anybody else??

then got not much air flow lor.....
the radiator is engineered to be placed behind the aircond condensor.
unless u put 2 extra fans infront your condensor lor.

fazidk

oh thnx bro danz...ok let me explain bit more here...d reason im asking is bcoz of dis problem im facing...im currently using a 2-core radiator..normally it x cause a problem wiz space rite?well in my case i do..

thing is d banana manifold im using..its design in such a way dat it consumes a bit more space then i wanted (bought it about 6yrs ago)..d radiator fits..tho just..d problem is d fan...it fits but barely..a tight squeeze..so i was wondering whether i cld place it in front...n if YES then i might replace d radiator to n aluminium one (which is bit thicker)..i have a fan already on d front (for d condensor/aircon i think) but since im NOT using d aircon i was planning (again if possible) to re-wire BOTH fans as radiator fans...dis way IF n WHEN i decide 2 repair my aircon (hehe) then it wld work both ways (kill 2 birds wiz 1 stone)

any comments on dis idea?

then got not much air flow lor.....
the radiator is engineered to be placed behind the aircond condensor.
unless u put 2 extra fans infront your condensor lor.

fazidk

oh ok i can try bro...but based on ur understanding bout dis wat ur advice/feedback...

rgds

i understand bro, u dont mind if u could attach some pics of wat u mentioned just now.......

fazidk

hehe thnx bro..appreciate ur assistance...

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
oh thnx bro danz...ok let me explain bit more here...d reason im asking is bcoz of dis problem im facing...im currently using a 2-core radiator..normally it x cause a problem wiz space rite?well in my case i do..

thing is d banana manifold im using..its design in such a way dat it consumes a bit more space then i wanted (bought it about 6yrs ago)..d radiator fits..tho just..d problem is d fan...it fits but barely..a tight squeeze..so i was wondering whether i cld place it in front...n if YES then i might replace d radiator to n aluminium one (which is bit thicker)..i have a fan already on d front (for d condensor/aircon i think) but since im NOT using d aircon i was planning (again if possible) to re-wire BOTH fans as radiator fans...dis way IF n WHEN i decide 2 repair my aircon (hehe) then it wld work both ways (kill 2 birds wiz 1 stone)

any comments on dis idea?
thanx danz for the invitation, i will try to help out as best as i can..

so, for the Q.. its understandable y u wanna use a narrower radiator, and i dont see any problem with it. just use the smaller radiator, and put the fan in front, easy. the thing is, u need to get a fan dat pushes air TO the radiator compared to the prior fan dat sucks air THROUGH the radiator. get a thinner fan, since u r constraint by limited space. i think they are selling cheap2 for dis type of fan. u need to do simple rewiring for the new fan, after the installation, test if the temp is normal for both cruising and aggressive driving.

u can always run two fans simultaeneously for the radiator, takde masalah langsung.. u can always pm me if u need help in fixing the aircond system, tq sir

fazidk

tq so so much bro extremeleo 4 dat explanation..so it is possible to do dis kinda set up rite?(smaller radiator wiz fan INFRONT pushing air to d radiator).yeah im faced wiz space problem due to d banana manifold im currently using..strange but effective design..nx bro...

anyway i will try dis set up n leave some feedbacks on it when its done..

thnx bro...

rgds

ps. btw,where's ur place bro?wld appreciate it if u cld have a look see my aircon..i had it done b4 in january 2010 (cost me bout 1k++ but stil x rectified...darn mechanic!!)

thanx danz for the invitation, i will try to help out as best as i can..

so, for the Q.. its understandable y u wanna use a narrower radiator, and i dont see any problem with it. just use the smaller radiator, and put the fan in front, easy. the thing is, u need to get a fan dat pushes air TO the radiator compared to the prior fan dat sucks air THROUGH the radiator. get a thinner fan, since u r constraint by limited space. i think they are selling cheap2 for dis type of fan. u need to do simple rewiring for the new fan, after the installation, test if the temp is normal for both cruising and aggressive driving.

u can always run two fans simultaeneously for the radiator, takde masalah langsung.. u can always pm me if u need help in fixing the aircond system, tq sir

Hi. I need a GOOD workshop around subang/sunway/puchong area that can help me solve some problem of my car. My interior got alot of sound and dunno whether exterior got any or not. I want a GOOD workshop that can help me get rid of those sounds so that my car can be solid like original. Any recommendations? Thx.

marcus 0122042820