Problem with my turbo

• See what others are reading now! Try Forums > Current Activity
  • Search function more powerful with google results! Try Search

TitanRev

You think I print money?
Helmet Clan
Mar 3, 2005
Guys, I'm a newbie with Turbo. I sent my Frontier for service lately and after service the mech told me that my turbo is having problem. There's a slight sound I think is 'clicking sound' from the turbo and he told me the shaft might have bent so I asked him if the turbo can be repaired just by changing the shaft, impeller and the turbine. He said have to change the whole turbo..I can't believe it as I know turbo is serviceable and I asked him whether can source for a recondition turbo unit. He said better used back original. he told me the shaft bent because the car was raced when the engine was still cold. really?

What turbo is the Frontier using and would like to know if using ball bearing turbo the chances of a shaft bending is more or less?

He told me still can use but might lost some power but will the condition worsen over time? Another thing is, I notice I have boost spike every time I shift up from 4th to 5th with full throttle when the turbo is at full boost. It will go over 1 bar as my boost meter recorded. Will this boost spike cause more damage to my turbo? What can I do? my millage now about 80K I think it's a bit too early for a turbo to have problems at this millage. I always warm up the engine before I drive and I use a turbo timer to cool down the engine before it shut off.

Your help and feedback is highly appreciated.

Last edited:

SDF

missing her so much
Nov 19, 2003
KL, Malaysia
Frontier uses IHI RHF4 series, which is journal bearing, non ball bearing. Most of time it's difficult to repair as it utilizes a divided thrust bearing system.

Good news is, there is a Core available for you.

Another good news is...the "click" sound might not be your turbo. Get a second opinion please.

TitanRev

You think I print money?
Helmet Clan