nid advice on drop in airfilter

mh38

May 16, 2006
helo bros,
new to here so very nice to meet u all.
my ride is wira and think of changing the airfilter,
i've read thru some other airfilter threat but still got some doubt to be clear.
wat i've read was openport is max performance but produce loud noise
while drop in exchange suit for normal use right?
so i decide to go for drop in now..
but i saw many of my fren using hks filter,
sum how not much ppl talking about hks filter here,
is it advisible to use?
and normally how much the market price for hks drop in in KL area?
just buy then plug and play myself can rite?
thx....

Fluffy

May 1, 2005
>>klang<<
firstly..i want to thank you for doing a search 1st..

and about the open pod..its not really a LOUD sound..but a suction sound..kinda nice actually..

if u like drop in...may i suggest K&N?

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
actually not vr loud sound la... mayb u will get addicted to the sound leh....

mh38

May 16, 2006
haha..rite also la...
but i dun wan to be so high profile la...hehe..drop in will just as nice.
ya i heard and saw A LOT of K&N here,
the comparison also had been done base on performance.
but can i know both of their price first?
very very thx....me here thinggy quite expensive,
so wanna see KL market price....for HKS and K&N drop in...

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
for drop in filter element, K&N is the easier to find lor... plus i think cheaper than other brand...

other brand like HKS and apexi also got drop in, but vr rare... might not available for our car also... so if u go for drop-in filter, get K&N lar... it is washable, means it is lifetime usage....

mh38

May 16, 2006
yo thx very much for ur advise~~
i asked the K&N drop in in a shop here already
280!....is the normal price?
anyway i heard user of HKS said HKS can be wash one,
but the shop boss say canot one,
who i shud trust?

mh38

May 16, 2006
Fluffy said:
erm.u shud trust wat the box says when u buy it.:_:
box?
haha
i find hks website but it all in japanese
a english one doesn explain about this...haha

mh38

May 16, 2006
ya another thing
i found hks wif new product hybrid filter in their website,
can find in malaysia ar?
even its in japanese, but i can see it compare wif k&n drop in design!!
and explain sumthing in japanese...#$#$!@#!

sysh

Sep 19, 2005
.. the sound of the air filter isn't all that loud. yeah, the suction sound can be addictive. tho i'm using a drop-in 'cos it's an auto tranny and i've got a weak as piss engine..hehe!

prodigy

To be honest, i did not feel any difference after changing to K&N drop in filter. The only advantage is its washable and you can use it for many many thousand miles. You just need to buy the cleaner kit, which i actually did.

I don't know maybe the performance difference was quite small thats why i didn't notice any. But dyno test have proven that air filter change can bring in extra 5 to 8% difference. Its a small difference for most of us that are driving slow cars. Maybe if you're driving an Evo, it can be felt.

However, it does not mean you shouldn't buy. A good air filter will filter out particles that are harmful to your engine and this ensures a longer engine life.

mh38

May 16, 2006
sysh said:
.. the sound of the air filter isn't all that loud. yeah, the suction sound can be addictive. tho i'm using a drop-in 'cos it's an auto tranny and i've got a weak as piss engine..hehe!
'cos it's an auto tranny and i've got a weak as piss engine..hehe"
wat do u mean by this?
i english not good la,,,simplify a bit can?
haha

mh38

May 16, 2006
prodigy said:
To be honest, i did not feel any difference after changing to K&N drop in filter. The only advantage is its washable and you can use it for many many thousand miles. You just need to buy the cleaner kit, which i actually did.

I don't know maybe the performance difference was quite small thats why i didn't notice any. But dyno test have proven that air filter change can bring in extra 5 to 8% difference. Its a small difference for most of us that are driving slow cars. Maybe if you're driving an Evo, it can be felt.

However, it does not mean you shouldn't buy. A good air filter will filter out particles that are harmful to your engine and this ensures a longer engine life.
hoo..reallly cant feel anything ar?
then spend so much $ very hurt leh
how much u got it?
and..really no ppl see HKS price b4 ar?

gloss

May 23, 2005
SJ
you dont need a hks filter la..
as u said, dun wanna be so high profile...

get knn or some other brand like pipercross or
even u can wait for zenden drop in.. nice color jor..

sysh

Sep 19, 2005
mh38 said:
'cos it's an auto tranny and i've got a weak as piss engine..hehe"
wat do u mean by this?
i english not good la,,,simplify a bit can?
haha
ooh.. just an expression on how weak my car is as it's an auto as oppose to a manual. oh yeah, i'm driving a waja with a "weak" 4G18 engine..heheh :emoticon_U:

mh38

May 16, 2006
evo5229 said:
bro u can try zenden air filter...below....Rm180

but u wait 1st....coz they doing experiment...they compare with k&n...

in the forum u can find....

But i think k&n will be best too........
yeah, i saw the zenden already,
very attractive price~~
will consider...

mh38

May 16, 2006
gloss said:
you dont need a hks filter la..
as u said, dun wanna be so high profile...

get knn or some other brand like pipercross or
even u can wait for zenden drop in.. nice color jor..
is hks a higher end product??
i aspect the price wil be lower than K&N!
actually i'm so curious for hks is because K&N is really everywhere in the town
might try sumthing diff a bit and see the results,
many ppl recommend me K&N bcoz everybody is using K&N,
though i found + and - user comment on it
haha..but never try myself also duno good for me or not

anyway change a drop in filter will affect FC?
i mean wif the driving habit remain constant...

sysh

Sep 19, 2005
actually i would recommend those from Pipercross Velocity Intake System or BMC's Carbon Dynamic Airbox...will be more pricey tho. but i think it's good for performance (in theory at least) since you can place it strategically in ur engine bay to get denser air into the intake as oppose to just a drop in where the air flow into the air filter is rather restricted due to the inlet funnel thinggie

I'm akinda new here.. I would like to ask What is the perfect diameter of the piping for Stock (with a lil minor modes) 4G13 engine?...