question abt Hi-Cam on 4g13....nid help!!!!

nician

Jun 28, 2007
nid help from sifoo n ppl who experience it b4......my car is a saga 4g13 12valve,i juz install in a hi cam...bought it 2nd hand previous owner say it was a australia cam...RPW i think....after installing it,my car can only rev up till 5.5k rpm then it cut off....but my car is a carby>>/if i install in 1 adj cam pulley,wil it solve tis prob??n how do i nid 2 set the cam pulley?advance or retard??plsss help.....

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
nid help from sifoo n ppl who experience it b4......my car is a saga 4g13 12valve,i juz install in a hi cam...bought it 2nd hand previous owner say it was a australia cam...RPW i think....after installing it,my car can only rev up till 5.5k rpm then it cut off....but my car is a carby>>/if i install in 1 adj cam pulley,wil it solve tis prob??n how do i nid 2 set the cam pulley?advance or retard??plsss help.....
usually they will set it retard 4 degrees.... but power delivery at what rpm band can be adjusted according to ur preference... ask ur mech to tune it correctly... if not, look for reputated tuner to do it...

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
hmm, cut at 5500rpm... could be the carb main jet having problem... could be wrong cam degreeing...

hayabuza

Jul 22, 2005
Klang
Bro...installing adjustable campulley is a must if u are using racing cams since it will fine tune the cams. This is why your max rev is 5.5k. You also should ask for the cam lifting degree from the owner.
Advance or retard depends to your powerbands. Better test for each degree to obtain the best setting. Do not set to high or too low. Usually 4 degrees is the max.
Hope this helps...good luck!

nician

Jun 28, 2007
skywalker:
usually it set at 4deg retard....means the power band comes at which RPM?now i can feel my car at highway...4k rpm onwards can feel like the car very easy 2 reach top speed....but it start 2 cut off at 5.5k rpm then it mati terus at 6k rpm....plss guide me>>/

nician

Jun 28, 2007
khoyos:
4 ur info i m stil running wif stock 12v carb...wen tis prob happen...i edy change so many stock carb,but it stil happens the same prob>>/

nician

Jun 28, 2007
hayabuza:
i m not sure watz the lift of tis cam..but duration i think is 272...my car at highway after 4krpm can feel very easy 2 reach top speed...but it cut at5.5k rpm n totally stop moving at 6k rpm....tis cam the distributor timing i set at 10deg btdc...if i set it below 10deg it cant idle,but 10deg oso the idling not stable...but suprisingly tis cam i set the distributor timng at 15deg btdc or turn the distributor advance max my engine oso no knocking...

now sementara i havent get the adj cam pulley.....i juz fix back my stock cam but can set timing max is 12deg btdc...if more it got knocking edy but now wif the stock cam,it can rev up till 7-8k rpm without any cut off...
plsss guide me.....

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
skywalker:
usually it set at 4deg retard....means the power band comes at which RPM?now i can feel my car at highway...4k rpm onwards can feel like the car very easy 2 reach top speed....but it start 2 cut off at 5.5k rpm then it mati terus at 6k rpm....plss guide me>>/
err.... i also not sure la bro... but i'm gonna install mine soon... i'll feedback to u whats my experience and settings k.....

tatayoung

Feb 7, 2007
Bro.. you definitely the adj cam pulley.. you installed the whole thing yourself?..

nenon

Nov 14, 2006
bro sky, mind to share wat u hav for installing this hicam.im so keen

GoldenHawk

Aug 6, 2004
I doubt it's 272 degrees as there's a significant idling problem when set to neutral/normal idling. You might have to pike-up your idle timing a little & adjust the retard/advance.
I don't use a high cam, but this is what I could digest from your description.

Oh, as for the cut-off, try using bigger jettings (1.6 should be a good start) . :smile:

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
installed mine today... at first after installing, without adjusting the campulley yet, my mech claim the power only comes at 5.5k rpm... den tried adjusting the campulley and valve clearance over n over again... power now comes in at about 3k rpm, ends at about 6.5k-7k rpm....

overall, satisfied with where the powerband is... but disappointing thing is i cant feel much ummph when the powerband kicks in... i only can see rpm revs up pretty fast past 3k rpm.....

my engine still standard 1.3L.... cylinder head not ported/polished... only changed to weber dgv carburetor....

nenon

Nov 14, 2006
waaa niceee...can share the setting for the cam bro? cam degre?cam pulley degree?clearance?

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
Guys, before you install your cams, please don't think that camshafts will make a very big difference to your engine.. It won't.

At most you can rev higher easier only.. How much bhp it adds, lol i dunno lah. But all I can say is, don't expect much difference like your car suddenly can feel the geeeees when revving or something. It will still be a 4G13. Easily tapau-ed by a modified 4G15.

Just a problem .. i notice that the myvi eagle eye projetor that cames with that decoration led ...

I just realize that,the led decoration works on the right lampside but not on the left lampside ..

after that, some check up with some car accersories shop,now the right lampside decoration led not

work,but the left lampside decoration led starts to work.

Im,in a headache now.

Ackward, moments begin to happen after change the car battery ...:(

Actually i thought,the...