Newbie Satria 1.3 1997 owner.

Lalaman

Sep 13, 2005
hi there to all gurus, i own a satria 1.3 manual year 1997. The engine of the car is very old and worn out and i thought of modifying it. since it was always underpowered. what engine should i go for?
i heard that mivec is good and there are a few mivecs to choose from.

Which of the mivec mods are legal for a 1.3 car of mine? adn waht are the difference for the mivecs in terms or price and performance.

can i also have a rough estimate on price for each modification for installation + inspection and legal procedures.
Sorry i'm really a newbie here and i've tried to search the forums but i don't seems to be able to understand much, any help and information will be much appreciated.

Thanks a lot people. :smile:

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
there r three type of mivec
silver head
black head
mivec-md

for the performance, of coz the black top is the best n it come wif lsd gearbox
silver top version is the normal version n u can find it almost in all the half cut shop
n the mivec-md(moderate displacement=md)
this version is develop to save up the FC
when the engine is run under 2000rpm, then the engine will only run on two pistons

all three types of mivec is suitable to install into ur car chasis without modify the mounting n it is legal

price for the mivec silver top is around 5k++
mivec-md n black top is hot stuff n it is quite hard to find 1
but this is all depend on where u find the engine.

last time, i'm a mivec driver
for the installation is around 1k coz currently ur car is carbie n need to change all the wiring n the fuel tank
inspection is depend on wat u wan.whether u go urself or use a runner
don woli about the jpj part coz they allow to increase the cc by 25%
that's mean 1300*125%=1625cc

hope this will help u bro
happy modding

dev

Dec 26, 2003
Pert, Australia
depending on wat u r goin for? NA o turbo? i agree wit u bro, gsrTURBO9166... there r 2 version of mivec... 1.6 n 1.8 :biggrin:

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
dev said:
depending on wat u r goin for? NA o turbo? i agree wit u bro, gsrTURBO9166... there r 2 version of mivec... 1.6 n 1.8 :biggrin:
yo bro
that 1 is malaysia version la
rojak with 4G93 block

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
GTR said:
any other engines are ok.
as long as u dun ever go for:-

4G91 1.5 DOHC
1.6 V6

if u go for the above 2 engines, u will regret.
not only this 2 engines
even mivec is the same
i use to drive mivec b4 n always kena tapau by vtec
furthermore NA need more$$$ to mod til u can get 250bhp

now driving a gsr
althought it is not a very powerful car but turbo engine is better bcoz need lesser $$$ to
mod til 250bhp

all this is my opinion
it is all depend on u whether turbo or NA

but for my advise
if u wan play mivec better go 4 1.8 mivec (mivec head + 4G93 block using mivec wiring)
that 1 is better n can play wif vtec summore
if feel boring about it till can bolt on turbo to it

hahaha

Lalaman

Sep 13, 2005
wah thanks for so much important information you all gave me. just one more question i got, for the mivec silver top and black top only difference is the lsd gearbox or the black will perform even better. if so can we use the mivec silver and add in later lsd gearbox and thus perform the same as the mivec black? and also one mroe question... the mivec md is it cost very expensive? coz i'm also thinking bout saving FC. thanks bro.

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
black top is a better performance engine compare to the silver top
as we know that the black top is tuned by the factory for the rally purpose
besides that, some of the ppl say that black top claim to have 175bhp compare to the silver top that only got 170bhp

u can add in a lsd gearbox later but the performance still cannot compete to the black top.
last time i sell my mivec to a zthian, he only top up RM500 to exchange the current gearbox to a lsd gearbox

mivec-md is cost around that price la, depend on which half cut shop to seek for the engine.

hope this can help u bro

Lalaman

Sep 13, 2005
oh now i see, thanks a lot for so much usefull information, oh btw do you know of any recommended cut shop to find these engines, which cut shop did you went to last time?

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
i went to mun lee to buy n install my gsr engine
they sell the half cut 4 me at 4500 n charge me 800 for the installation
u can go there to try ur luck
if i not mistaken the price is around 5500 la
but donno got increase or not for the price

bullitt

Oct 12, 2005
GTR said:
any other engines are ok.
as long as u dun ever go for:-

4G91 1.5 DOHC
1.6 V6

if u go for the above 2 engines, u will regret.
What wrong with this 2 engines?

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
4G91 1.5 DOHC mayb is not so powerful
n the 1.6 V6, the maintenance fees is very high

this is juz my 2cent

bullitt

Oct 12, 2005
gsrTurbo9166 said:
4G91 1.5 DOHC mayb is not so powerful
n the 1.6 V6, the maintenance fees is very high

this is juz my 2cent
:hmmmm: :hmmmm:

In light of recent events, I thought it'd be prudent to talk about flooding and how it affects us - the motorheads.

Generally speaking, water + engine = BAD

Not referring to those water/methanol injection kits, those inject very small amounts of water into the intake and usually as a mist. I'm talking about copious amounts of water that seep into your engine bay through your cold air...