Need Advise: 6a12 grinding noise

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
haha mine lagi teruk, its the mivec model, the timing belt is even longer! i just dont understand why the tensioner cost so much, should be the same piece as the perdana v6 (i think) which is around 200

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang
haha mine lagi teruk, its the mivec model, the timing belt is even longer! i just dont understand why the tensioner cost so much, should be the same piece as the perdana v6 (i think) which is around 200
Yours is the MIVEC model?
FTO 6A12 MIVEC? :biggrin:

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
yup engine 6a12 mivec car... errrr xtaulah :burnout:

**i do have one concern though, the belt seems to whine abit now @_@ do new belts do this?? seems abit weird to me.... is there such thing as a run in period for these belts??

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang
yup engine 6a12 mivec car... errrr xtaulah :burnout:

**i do have one concern though, the belt seems to whine abit now @_@ do new belts do this?? seems abit weird to me.... is there such thing as a run in period for these belts??
needs adjusting

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
eerk.... baru masuk need to adjust lagi.. bankrap saya haha

yeah has a hydraulic tensioner, i thought its an auto tentioner where there is no need to adjust it??

needs adjusting I think. Does the 6A12 have a belt tensioner as well?
He just mentioned tensioner so expensive.....hhahahhaha:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 03:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:21 PM ----------

yeah has a hydraulic tensioner, i thought its an auto tentioner where there is no need to adjust it??
If not mistaken, even though hydraulic it must be fitted exactly so that when when the belt loosen the hydraulic will tighten up, but if fitted loose then max out probably still loose. Maybe can go back to the mechanic ask him to check.....

Probably improper seating of the belt then. Go back claim warranty, aircon belt normally no need to pay la.

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
changed all 3 belts, could be one of the other 2, later kene go diagnose again, thank god the 2 aux belts are easy to access, cant say the same about the timing belt :eviltongue:

I remembered my gates timing belt set was around rm350 couple of years ago, if now maybe rm380++ or maintain the original price,
set comes with timing belt + 2 tensioners + 5 oil seals.

I remembered my gates timing belt set was around rm350 couple of years ago, if now maybe rm380++ or maintain the original price,
set comes with timing belt + 2 tensioners + 5 oil seals.
He bought separate and tensioner alone cost more then your whole set.....:confused:

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
Errr actually dont know if i kene chop or not, but was panicking and wanted to get the problem rectified asap (kenot tahan my car sounding sick)

timing belt + installation + oil + powersteering fluid was around 1.2k+ (again, it was for the mivec version, MD211195)(*yeah its a kit, both bearings and all the other parts)
tensioner was 550 (this was super shocking i thought it used the same tensioner as a perdana)
power steering hose was 300 (modified, cant find originals)
other 2 belts were about <200

cant remember exact figures, but if mahal, ohh welp, learn from experience

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang
Errr actually dont know if i kene chop or not, but was panicking and wanted to get the problem rectified asap (kenot tahan my car sounding sick)

timing belt + installation + oil + powersteering fluid was around 1.2k+ (again, it was for the mivec version, MD211195)(*yeah its a kit, both bearings and all the other parts)
tensioner was 550 (this was super shocking i thought it used the same tensioner as a perdana)
power steering hose was 300 (modified, cant find originals)
other 2 belts were about <200

cant remember exact figures, but if mahal, ohh welp, learn from experience
For Mitsubishi older models (90s era especially), anything EVO or MIVEC related, the price is higher than normal counterparts. Imagine my ride's oil pump alone is RM 1.3k omgwtfbbq :thefinger:

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
For Mitsubishi older models (90s era especially), anything EVO or MIVEC related, the price is higher than normal counterparts. Imagine my ride's oil pump alone is RM 1.3k omgwtfbbq :thefinger:
fuyoh :eek: !! okayyyyyy thats very scarry!! ahh well.... next thing i wanted to do is a repaint... hmmm I better not repaint till i have dialed out any potential mechanical issue 1st... wrong section to ask, but body shops should be able to deal with door dings yes? so many useless people out there knocking my car :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

How to clean your Wheel Brake Dust ? Kartik Borikar

Most cars these have disc brakes for better braking. The brake contain a Disc made out of steel and brake shoes which clamp the steel disc when you puch that brake pedal. Each time you brake, the brake shoe allows some microscopic portion to break away and the same happens for some portion of teh steel disc. These particles together are the brake dust. They are fine powder like substance and cannot be seen with even naked eye until...