Increasing the engine performance...

one1002

Known Member
Jun 4, 2009
Hi there..i'm driving a waja auto and i was wondering if i could increase the engine performance?actually, i'm quite new in car modifications..so,i've turn into this to ask some few questions.i've searched thoroughly in this forum,but i'm still not satisfied..

i'm thinking of converting my auto g/b to mivec lsd 4.6 gearbox..what do u think?

then, if i decide to change my g/b,what should i do to increase the engine performance/limit?(applies for both auto/manual transmission)

1.changing to larger pistons?what does it do actually?
2.Installing performance camshaft?what is the proper degree,more than 272 or below than 272?
3.crank pulley?what does it do?
4.cam pulley?what is the difference between crank pulley?
5.i've heard some people talking about changing the engine head...?rebore the engine head?what is it?please help me understand it..

what other modifications can i do for me to increase the power?em,i prefer to use stock engine..NA..not turbo,or engine transplant at the moment.. =) thx..any help will be appreciated!!:wavey::wavey::wavey:

LittleWhiteWagon

1,500 RPM
Oct 12, 2009
P.J
Dude youre using the 4g18 engine or campro onwards?

No comment on the lsd gearbox, no experience there.

1.Bigger pistons as in bore or what? If bore then you'll have a bigger surface for combustion a.k.a more power. If you mean HIGHER compression then im not sure how to explain haha :biggrin:

2.No idea in cam tuning, anyone care to help?

3.LIGHTENED crank pulley: A CRANK pulley is a PULLEY at the CRANKSHAFT to guide whatever belts that need to be driven, a lighter one just reduces weight and makes it easier to rotate. Like for exapmle imagine ur bicycle carbon fiber wheels instead of metal ones lah :rofl: