improve braking

csl

Aug 22, 2005
Malysia
Anyone knows what can be done to improve braking power without installing a set of BBK or slotted rotos or racing brake pad?

Dayline668

Aug 4, 2007
For braking power bigger master pump, brake pedal feel brake stopper, better brake pad don't mean racing pad, bendix pad is very good upgrade for stock brake that dun make race pad squeak...

Bro. Dayline,
Try Trestor Blue Advantage. I have been loyal Bendix user from Metal King Plus, Metal King Gold and Metal King Titanium and now on the Trestor. The cold bite is so much better, and even the overall bite is very much better, however the rims turn black with brake dust very fast. For me Bendix about a week to turn black but with Trestor 3 days already black.....

Dayline668

Aug 4, 2007
Bro. Dayline,
Try Trestor Blue Advantage. I have been loyal Bendix user from Metal King Plus, Metal King Gold and Metal King Titanium and now on the Trestor. The cold bite is so much better, and even the overall bite is very much better, however the rims turn black with brake dust very fast. For me Bendix about a week to turn black but with Trestor 3 days already black.....
Have trestor on kenari for some time, now the rotor condition is started to eat unbalance, so bendix is still better on rotor friendly so far. Next will try DON.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Could you elaborate a little how this brake stopper works to improve braking performance?
Thanks.

quicksilver7

Sep 15, 2011
Thanks! I'm quite noob with brakes. I've got a question. I have aftermarket front and rear brake pads on my inspira. The car now has definitely more stopping power but sometimes I need to press the pedal MORE to achieve a certain threshold. Sometimes I can press the pedal LESS to achieve that same threshold. The car is less than a year old.

What is this caused by and how can I rectify it? Thank you!

csl

Aug 22, 2005
Malysia
Aiya, I forgot to mention about my wife's car. It is a Chevrolet Captiva. SUV with heavier weight, softer tires and softer + longer travelling suspension compare to normal car. I have brake stopper on my other car and don't think it will help much on the Captiva situation. Even slam the brake, I can feel the car inertial is too much over the braking power (tire no screaming but rolling smoothly). Master cylinder is something can try out but not easy to get a suitable one. Bigger bore, more power but respond slower and need to step very hard. Smaller bore easy to press but the power is not sufficient. There was a vacuum cylinder thing to add onto the brake booster (black round thing behind the master cylinder) but I'm not sure how far it can go. I only know an evo booster put on wira can increase the braking power until you can really feel it.

My main problem is, I wanted to put a set (front and rear) evo 4-6 ori brembo caliper onto the car but the ori brake caliper already almost touching the 17" wheel inner diameter. I don't think it will help much. To get a new set of VTTR which big enough to solve my problem, I need to replace all 4 wheels to 18" and tires. The cost is a bit stiff for overall gain. Now I can only blame the car is not hot enough to make the aftermarket manufacturers to put something for it into the market, example like Brembo Max slotted rotors (few hundred a pair) or etc.

If anyone knows any brake specialist workshop or so, please let me know so that I can visit and see how. Of cause, budget is a concern. Not until rm6-10k.

Have trestor on kenari for some time, now the rotor condition is started to eat unbalance, so bendix is still better on rotor friendly so far. Next will try DON.
Which model of Trestor? Normal, semi metallic or blue advantage? Actually Trestor and Bendix from same local manufacturer...

---------- Post added at 04:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:55 PM ----------

Thanks! I'm quite noob with brakes. I've got a question. I have aftermarket front and rear brake pads on my inspira. The car now has definitely more stopping power but sometimes I need to press the pedal MORE to achieve a certain threshold. Sometimes I can press the pedal LESS to achieve that same threshold. The car is less than a year old.

1. Are the brakes spongy? If yes, try flushing the brake system
2. You need to press MORE when the brakes are cold or when they are hot?
If need to press more when cold, means you brakes are like those semi metallic ones that requires some heating up.
If you need to press more when hot, means yours pads cannot stand higher heat and needs more pressure as they are fading when hot.....

Dayline668

Aug 4, 2007
Could you elaborate a little how this brake stopper works to improve braking performance?
Thanks.
Brake stopper works like giving u more harder pedal feel by minimizing firewall flexing when u pressing the pedal, give u more precise control over braking.

High temp pad need to warm up for better bite, when cold they feel like slipping but when they get hotter the better it bite. U need to test when do the problem came..?

Aiya, I forgot to mention about my wife's car. It is a Chevrolet Captiva. SUV with heavier weight, softer tires and softer + longer travelling suspension compare to normal car. I have brake stopper on my other car and don't think it will help much on the Captiva situation. Even slam the brake, I can feel the car inertial is too much over the braking power (tire no screaming but rolling smoothly). Master cylinder is something can try out but not easy to get a suitable one. Bigger bore, more power but respond slower and need to step very hard. Smaller bore easy to press but the power is not sufficient. There was a vacuum cylinder thing to add onto the brake booster (black round thing behind the master cylinder) but I'm not sure how far it can go. I only know an evo booster put on wira can increase the braking power until you can really feel it.

My main problem is, I wanted to put a set (front and rear) evo 4-6 ori brembo caliper onto the car but the ori brake caliper already almost touching the 17" wheel inner diameter. I don't think it will help much. To get a new set of VTTR which big enough to solve my problem, I need to replace all 4 wheels to 18" and tires. The cost is a bit stiff for overall gain. Now I can only blame the car is not hot enough to make the aftermarket manufacturers to put something for it into the market, example like Brembo Max slotted rotors (few hundred a pair) or etc.

If anyone knows any brake specialist workshop or so, please let me know so that I can visit and see how. Of cause, budget is a concern. Not until rm6-10k.
U can try better pad 1st since your stock brake r huge, note that harder pad will eat rotor fast but will give u more braking power.

Which model of Trestor? Normal, semi metallic or blue advantage? Actually Trestor and Bendix from same local manufacturer...
If i remember it correctly its metallic plus, green box.

quicksilver7

Sep 15, 2011
I realised that my the braking fluid's level was at LOW, then after my mechanic topped it to FULL my car now brakes consistently. I guess that solves it hehe

If i remember it correctly its metallic plus, green box.
That one is one rung below Blue advantage and is similar to Bendix Metal King. My metal king also makan the disc rotor.....:banghead:

---------- Post added at 09:53 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:51 AM ----------

I realised that my the braking fluid's level was at LOW, then after my mechanic topped it to FULL my car now brakes consistently. I guess that solves it hehe
If brake fluid have gone down and do not have any leaks, means your brake pad/lining have worn down, better just check to see how much left.....

Aiya.. improve braking ability (ie - the ability to stop harder / faster)

1. Big brake kit or bigger calipers.
2. Aggressive brake pads that don't fade.
3. Better tyres that grip the road like cats with claws.
4. Use better brake oil, ie-DOT5.1 if your car is compatible with DOT3 or DOT4. If DOT5 then stick with DOT5.
5. Get stiffer suspension. This is controversial but personally I find that cars that squat or dive less tend to brake faster.
6. Get a car with ABS/EBD.

If you want to improve braking feel

1. Steel braided hoses or inspect and ensure your brake hoses are not cracked or worn.
2. Bigger / stronger brake servo. Bigger servo will make you clamp down on those calipers much faster. Careful though, too strong and you might end up with "on/off" brakes. Best paired with big brake kit.
3. Brake stopper. These little things stop or lessen the firewall flex when the servo is active giving you better brake pedal feel.
4. Fully flush your brake system and bleed it properly. Any air pockets in your system will make braking spongy. Old worn oil will also be a nuisance so make sure that's fixed too.

Performance rotors (Slotted and cross drilled) just lesson the chances of brake fading, they don't make you brake faster.

Since you have a Captiva, the aftermarket options are very limited and since you're not on a big budget, I recommend you :

1. Check your brake hoses to see if there is any wear. If yes, time to change or opt for steel braided hoses.
2. Get good brake pads. Personally I like Ferodo Zero, Improve Platinum and Bendix Titanium. There are loads of other really good pads out there but they are way out of my budget range like EBC Ultimax, EBC Greenstuff, etc. I hear a lot of good things about those but no money to try.
3. And like what all the taikors are saying, bleed your brake system thoroughly.