How to install a volt meter

cacin

Mar 9, 2005
I thought the installation manual comes with the product?
Which voltmeter are you using? Brand? How many wires from the voltmeter?

cacin

Mar 9, 2005
If there are 5 wires total. 2 red, 2 black and 1 orange.
the thicker red should be connected to your battery (use fuse for protection). The thicker black to ground.
The thinner red also to battery with fuse protection. The thinner black to ground too.
The orange is to your headlight switch. So the lights on your meter turns one with the headlight.
Please correct me if I'm wrong.

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
If there are 5 wires total. 2 red, 2 black and 1 orange.
the thicker red should be connected to your battery (use fuse for protection). The thicker black to ground.
The thinner red also to battery with fuse protection. The thinner black to ground too.
The orange is to your headlight switch. So the lights on your meter turns one with the headlight.
Please correct me if I'm wrong.
whoa... voltmeter also got so many wire ahh??...

ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
SoMeWhErE
to know ur voltage reading la...when i high or low...:smokin:just if u like to do mr.boombastic into ur car......
Whao, thanks for the information. Why i starting not high de? 8V niaa~

Then walk walk very high~ 13.5V

Then on air cond not high already~ 12.5V

On lights cut stim~ 12V only :banghead:

On ICE can sleep~ 11.5V :banghead:

cacin

Mar 9, 2005
whoa... voltmeter also got so many wire ahh??...
Sifu sky,
Basic voltmeter is 2 cable only. The other 3 cable is for those with black face (leds). One power for the led/light the other for ground. The orange one I guess to turn on or dim the meter at night. :)
That's based on the autogauge I have la, other meter might differ.

cacin

Mar 9, 2005

Is your battery still ok?
I think the moment you turn the key to ACC or ON (dont start car), battery should be around 12V.

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com

mine is 14.5, on all the lights & aircond, 14.3.
last time 15.3 le...:hmmmm: dunno why drop liao...mayb i unplug the grounding & vs...?:hmmmm:

wsonny

May 21, 2005
Ampang
i manage to install myself, the thick red i connect to the ciggry lighter another red i attach wit my boost meter. The both black also the same attach wit my boost meter wires. So far ok but don know cun or not.

ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
SoMeWhErE
i manage to install myself, the thick red i connect to the ciggry lighter another red i attach wit my boost meter. The both black also the same attach wit my boost meter wires. So far ok but don know cun or not.
Cool..

I think something might be wrong with my alternator or battery. Prepare for a dead battery :mad:

Hi

I remember there is a shop selling mini cooper's accessories in subang area (popular with car modification). But i cant remember the shop name .. hope someone can enlighten me here.. thx!