HOw to check head gasket?

euthanasia

Jan 3, 2004
PPl,

How do i tell if the head gasket is giving way...is it called head gasket that piece between the head and the block...My fuel consumption is terrible..Also how does mechanics check whether your car's gasket is worn or not? How much to change eh?

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
see wherether have engine oil leak outside near exhuast manifold there or not.

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
1. Check radiator's coolant for signs of engine oil.

2. Check engine oil (drained from the sump) for signs of coolant.

If there is presence of either one, your gasket is dead and need to be replaced.

I think a full top overhaul is about RM500++

euthanasia

Jan 3, 2004
any workshop to intro that offers that price? I know some mechanics can charge up to 2 times that price

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
My last top overhaul was about 2 years ago.

It was done in a workshop in Setapak Indah called "Vic Tech Kaiz"

If they charge 2 times more, I think their trying to swindle u.

euthanasia

Jan 3, 2004
ANy other ppl can recommend? Top overhaul isit? What does top overhaul consist of?

lan evo

Nov 24, 2003
water will pressure back to spare tank.radiator got oil.temperature will go up

euthanasia

Jan 3, 2004
but my temp. din go up woer...But i know there's oil near the extractor...and i don't have a permanent mechanic. I dun wanna go back to EON, coz they're really expensive. Btw, mine is a 4G93P. Also, since my mileage is approaching 100k km, is it necessary to do compression test also? to see if anything is faulty?

My Satria 1997 1.5 auto using ngv has been having repeated problems with the alternator. Two months ago I had a Japanese imported used alternator fitted. Today the car won't start, even with a new battery.

Is a repaired alternator reliable?

Any views please?