help needed on subaru sti version 8 turbine

sti-yookuza

:regular_smile: guys i kinda need sum advise on what turbine is recommended for a subaru sti version 8..im currently running a stock turbine..thanks guys

if it a bolt-on affair it should be fine..... what i'm suggesting you now is a bolt-on from the most reputable shop in US and the price is a bit high because of the reputation they have.

sti-yookuza said:
:regular_smile: guys i kinda need sum advise on what turbine is recommended for a subaru sti version 8..im currently running a stock turbine..thanks guys

Your v.8 STi is JDM, right? In that case, you need a twin scroll turbo. The FPGreen TD06 in jo1's link above is a single scroll turbo, because USDM STis use single scroll turbo.

If you want to know your options, post this question at www.mysubaruclub.com - a lot of knowledgable people there.

alright tanx so much guys...i currently have everything in place...its just da whole turbine thingie is reali troublesome..cant reali decide wat turbine to change to..n after some advise from sum frds..sayin its not reali advisable to change the sti turbine cause lotsa probs will surface later on..is it true ar??

if u got da budget..grab a bolt on kit with twin entry exhaust manifold.

If u wanna use single entry manifolds, go for the Garrett GT Ball Bearing range..reliable and proven.

the effect of twin scroll turbo and ball bearing turbo is only minimal when using a medium size turbo unless you are looking at turbo siries like t6X with full T4 frame.... the saving on buying an old school turbo like T siries instead of ball bearing can be used to purchase other supporting mod..... but that just me!!

aight tanx jo1..uve been a big help...like said before...i have all the mods in place edi...its just the turbine now...blardy thing reali givin me a headache

A HKS GT-RS turbo kit wil give u a good nice 400hp to ur Scooby!!! Lotsa great reviews for it from de Jap side... Great responsiveness... No turbo lag at all if u get de right tuner... Its a bolt on turbo kit too... It should cost ard RM15k +/-... Am drooling on it too... But not so fast for me le...

Got a fren currently projecting his Scooby Ver 8 @ ard 600hp... Parts ordered, n myself oso pretty keen to see how his car did... According to him, he wanna to do a 600hp Scooby which is oso suitable for Street use!!! Errr... I really doubt tht myself as de driveability n de turbo lag wil kill ya on de street le... :_:

sti-yookuza bro, u said u hv all de mods on place edi, mind to share what r those mods??? Did u do ur body part as well??? Oso what problem de ori Ver 8 turbo is giving u???

Wanna to learn more myself too as myself oso STi Ver 8... Thx!!! :_:

kk...stormvolution9...where ure frd in kl do up his subaru lar..if u dont mind telling me...last time wen i was in kl...i heard links can do a gud job lar...but will cause a bomb...tat im not sure...as im in hongkong now...my car is stuck in work shop..tats y im tryin to find a powerful n stable turbine...but mechanics here sumtimes can be a bunch of jokers lar...as to wat i did to my car ar...i dont mind sharing abit lar...here it goes...

engine,

cusco titanium bar on the front
cusco carbon bar on the rear...then ladder bars,ttrailing arms, and front and rear sway bars.
tein flew coils over then a busted edfc unit(gotta get it fix masuk air)
hks twin plate clutch and a light weight billet flywheel(dunno wat brand...sum brand from taiwan)
greddy type rs dual blow off..(aftermarket)
hks stainless steel manifold...greddy up pipe n down pipe combi
75 mm(not sure hav to ask mechanic) hks carbon titanium exhaust(dual pipe)greddy e-manage piggy back f-con as the main unit..
some ground voltage wiring system i got from taiwan also...not sure wat brand...
warlbro 255lph fuel pump
blitz front mount intercooler
38mm hks waste gate
aps fuel lines and regulator
enlarged sti injectors

exteriors er....
carbon lip...carbon bonnet...no gt wings or wat so ever spoiler...just dun like em..
te-37 rims..i think tats about it ler car exterior looks abit standard ar...cuz doin a nice bodykit in hk...kinda pricey ar...no $$ to do...ahhaah..now hav to buy new turbine sumore...the previous turbine from wat my mechanic told me..it seems like it cracked or sumfin..no so sure...cuz i wasnt drivin my car wen sumfin went wrong wif da turbine...my frd was drivin it...so since screw up edi lor...might as well jsut up grade the whole damn engine lar..kaakka...neway..tanx guys for all ur advise...please do still cont wif all ur advise...cuz my car still is without a a soul lar..

sti-yookusa,

Hey fren, thx for ur explanation ya!!! :_: U said ur mech. in HK is a bunch of jokers??? hahaha... Tht's a suprise to me le... I thought de modding std in HK is pretty high n not far from Jap??? Cos tuner shops such as Top Racing, Crazy Racing, Kayaba - Mr. Simon Yam n etc all r pretty famous... Mmm... mayb u can kinda contact Mr. Golfer from de Evo IX thread under Mitsu section... He is from Macau... And i think he can kinda intro. u a better mech in HK... Hehe... Jus a suggestion!!! So urself in HK for work?

As for my fren he is in KL, he is a tuning shop + tyre shop owner la... He previously owning a 500hp Evo 7 n 400hp+ FD3S b4... And now he is into Scooby for new challenge la according to him... hahaha... He is gonna shift his shop to Sunway industry area la... He is a keen track goer oso... I hvnt tested with him la... but i think he is pretty good in driving skill... Err... Sorry for not able to tell u more abt him la... Cos i dunno whether he likes to b exposed la... Hahaha... Hope u dun mind ya... :_: But wil definately share u how's his 600hp Scooby is when its ready, provided u r interested la... With de above hints, i guess some of u guys here wil know who he is lo...

Hey, did u do any dyno test on ur car?? How many horsepower u aim to do for ur car? Cos this wil directly answer which model of Turbo u should choose for ur car!!! :_: Hv u think of dumping in an EJ25 engine??? Since u r in HK, i guess its easier to get it in from Taiwan or US than v did over here in Msia... I hv actually asked abt de EJ25 engine b4... It seems tht de Sg ppl luv it a lot... It wil cost ard rm30k+... Let us know how many hp u r aiming for ur car la... So tht frens over here can kinda give u some tips on what n which range of turbo to go for!!!

Cheers!!!

Stormvolution 9 said:
Errr... I really doubt tht myself as de driveability n de turbo lag wil kill ya on de street le...
bro, just want to share my opinion. but let me tell u first, i dont own an impreza, or even any expensive car. just an old mitsu lancer with an old turbocharged engine.

but i have experience using a laggy turbo. will only come to life after 5000rpm. to tell u frankly, the lag is not that bad after all. u will get used to it. any gear if u feel the lag is too bad, just drop a gear or two (that's what a gearbox is for). as for launcing from standstill, i appreciate laggy turbo as it helps the car move from the starting line smoothly without excessive wheelspin. when the boost comes in, traction is already nearing its optimum level.

p/s sorry if i offended u. just want to share what i think on big turbos...

stormvolution9...tanx man..ofcos i wud like to know howz ur frds car gonna turn up lar..as to wat horse im aiming for...most proll around 500 ponies ler...dun wan to lose to the evos here..ahha...no offense evo fans...as to hk tuners..i think uve got me wrong ler...i dont mean theyre dumb or wat ler..theyre gud sum real gud ...but just tat sumtimes they reali try to be funny to ur car lar..as in..like u want to install a f-con ecu...they go n install motec...then telll u..."use onli lar..more power..can fly'...ahahha...can pls tell me more about the ej25 engine...im kinda a noob wif subarus man..yea..im working as a chef here lar....tanx bro..nice knowing u..

khoyos,
no hal bro..tanx for the advice..but i rather hav no turbo lag..cuz it cud be a prob to me whenever im doin sum road rage...kiddin bro..ahaa..

sti-yookuza said:
khoyos,
no hal bro..tanx for the advice..but i rather hav no turbo lag..cuz it cud be a prob to me whenever im doin sum road rage...kiddin bro..ahaa..
after using 5000rpm turbo, i downgraded to a turbo with a smaller turbine wheel, but larger compressor wheel. full boost 3500rpm. hehehe cant blame everyone for hating the lag. so nice to drive around in traffic without lag. hehe

khoyos,

Yo bro, thx for sharing me ur experience man... :_: Dun worry, u didnt offence anyone la... Is good tht ppl like u r willing to share ur experience here!!! Really appreciate!!! Mmm... y i said i doubt de 600hp Scooby on de street is bcos i do hv a fren who's Evo is equipe with GT3037 500hp, n he told us it is lag!!! Tht's pretty strange as some claim tht de GT3037 is a cool turbo where there r hardly lag... But this fren of mine told me it is lag... Hehehe... Hey bro, u station in KL?? Do feel free to visit this thread as u do hv a Lancer...:_:http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=83345

sti-yookuza,

Yo bro, if 500ponies then GT3037 lo... Very popular now le... Mayb u can kinda ask ur mech abt it more... I believe Apexi AX6 turbo oso do gives u tht kinda power too if am not wrong la... Hehehe... Happy modding bro!!! Wil update u on my fren project man!!!

Cheers!!!!

Stormvolution 9 said:
khoyos,

Hey bro, u station in KL?? Do feel free to visit this thread as u do hv a Lancer...:_:http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=83345

Cheers!!!!
wow bro, i don belong in this gang la, my lancer is 1989 one, very cheap and lousy compared to those evos... u put my car beside those evos, they will see my car as rubbish compared to theirs...

btw nice gathering, and nice cars...

anyone would like to sell only one off the ver 8 turbine for me..
got some nice idea to ver 8 owner..
u'll have two turbine rite..let only one turbine change to bigger one..so there's no lag from low rpm..to high rpm..if im not mistaken la..

since u've got a HKS exhaust manifold, how is the flange look ? Stock turbo look or aftermarket look ?

If u goin for 500 + ponies, opt for GT30BB or GT35 wit a small a/r. It'll be close to wat u need mate..