Heat shield for open pod

jinkl

May 22, 2004
Was walking around with my mum in this plastic store,
saw a nice item to be made into heat shield,
rm4.90 , dustbin , use a saw or cutter, n that all it was needed for
a 6" open pod , here are the pics , the front opening of the filter meets my cold air intake

jinkl

May 22, 2004
huakenny : its big enuff bro , i tink BMC has more restriction

sky : haha , just wrap it with CF sticker la , kawtim lolx

mokomoko

Feb 20, 2006
when you install a heat shield make sure u still have ambient air that can reach your filter easily. I have seen some heatsheilds that cause more harm than good by limiting the circulating air around the filter.

If you have a cold air intake then it should be good to go already, if not then it is going to be pretty restrictive.

InitialD

Aug 27, 2004
I just use a sunshade cut it out and cover it around my open pod.

I agree with mokomoko. I used to use an open pod that was encased in a cylinder type of carbon fibre casing as heat shield. I felt it couldn't suck in enuff volume of air. When I change it to Apexi open pod, I could instantly feel the difference.

Maxx

Feb 17, 2005
PD-Putrajaya-KL
nice diy.
but u should cut a hole/opening at the heatshield behind the headlamp.
this will not restrict air flow too much

kuyeen

Aug 17, 2005
haha nice and cheap one bro...
u use blitz sus power huh...same la hehe

damn!!....what the F**K!! my car got smashed at the drivers door glass and my rsm and turbo timer is gone. blardy f**kers!! it happened like around 8-9am in the morning. my hsemate who went out at about 8am said there was nothing at that time..when he fetch his sis to mid valley and then back....gone! saw my car wind shield smashed liao...........happened at my HOUSE!!! DAMN!!! house at ss2/81, the taman opposite ss2 murni. i just hope those low class assholes will die a damn painfull...