Gearbox problem ... Sifu plz help

ce9a_evo

Dec 23, 2006
Having prob with my E3 gb . When i driving until around 3k rpm and let go throttle , gb wil have huge " craaaakkkkk" sound ... rpm more higher de sound more loud .

But when i press back throttle , de sound will be very little, sometimes disappear . Any 1 experience dis b4 . Izit my gb bearing dead? :confused:

Jan 3, 2008
my vr4 gbox also like that... yours one i not sure how loud its is or how bad its is, most of my mechanic friend said that its is because of 4wd lock to 2wd problem.... being using its for a few years until now... not do any harm yet to my engine, gbox or clutch system...

mind to share with other if the problem can be solve without change it to 2wd gbox...

if gbox (clutch) bearing problem, its will have sound when you press the clutch pedal, if u release the pedal the sound will gone..

ce9a_evo

Dec 23, 2006
i've locked from 4wd to 2wd since 3yrs ago . All these while dis gearbox are working smoothly, no sound at all. But de sound jus appear since last month .

Any 1 can tell wat is de sound or wat will happen if gb bearing dead?

koie587

Dec 6, 2007
i think ur problem same like mine...E3 gb too...usually it come when we release gas paddle at 3k rpm...

i ask around and mechanic said the 4WD lock is loosen up...i dunno why...

gb specialist said if 4WD lock broken we cant shift gear at all...i scare this happen when going outstation...

usually they'll weld the 4WD shaft to lock it rite?...

bro...if u got the solution please let me know ya...

ce9a_evo

Dec 23, 2006
4wd lock losen up :smokin::smokin:

i hope i can find a solution too ... if not hav to get another replacement of gb which cost me 1k+ :banghead::banghead:

koie587

Dec 6, 2007
i think the GB got no problem...need to take off the gb and overhauled it...after that we know what is the problem...i dunno how much the cost for overhaul gb...

:confused::banghead:

Fellow readers, I am glad that you have followed me this far up to the 15th week in the Project Z restoration, modification and build. As certain readers have pointed out that they are gladly to donate the money to make this project a reality, I have seek permission from Tom and he has approved a donation box through either Paypal or Maybank.

The donations can be...