Enlarge piping after pnp

et5828

Sep 13, 2004
is that recommended to enlarge piping after port and polish? or i just stick back to stock piping? heard makin piping for power is just a myth only except for upgrading turbos....
Please share...

wirafly

Mar 25, 2005
et5828 said:
is that recommended to enlarge piping after port and polish? or i just stick back to stock piping? heard makin piping for power is just a myth only except for upgrading turbos....
Please share...
last time my car optimum on 1.8 piping, after PNP my machanic ask me remove center muffler to get more power...but I too cleaver go to upgrade to 2" piping....torque on low end suffer more (by default, PNP already cause low end lesser torque), from mid to top also marginally gain after uprade...maybe my car 1.3 the 2" too big..oh ya...my exhaust gas after PNP is more than any 1.5 wira....so my opinion 1.8 inch enuf for engine below 1500cc....oh ya...my ex engine not only PNP but with high cam also...so depend on ur car mod....

Kelis

Jul 5, 2004
wirafly said:
last time my car optimum on 1.8 piping, after PNP my machanic ask me remove center muffler to get more power...but I too cleaver go to upgrade to 2" piping....torque on low end suffer more (by default, PNP already cause low end lesser torque), from mid to top also marginally gain after uprade...maybe my car 1.3 the 2" too big..oh ya...my exhaust gas after PNP is more than any 1.5 wira....so my opinion 1.8 inch enuf for engine below 1500cc....oh ya...my ex engine not only PNP but with high cam also...so depend on ur car mod....
Hm... I thought P&P increses low-end torque? Sifu - sifus, please correct me if I am wrong. Sorry... Just my 2 cents.

wirafly

Mar 25, 2005
Kelis said:
Hm... I thought P&P increses low-end torque? Sifu - sifus, please correct me if I am wrong. Sorry... Just my 2 cents.
if you looking for low end tork, you should consider raise compression ratio either by skim engine head or install thinner metal gasket...higher compression ratio give better tork....no joke...but u have to be becarefull on maintaining engine temp after increase compression ratio

dev

Dec 26, 2003
Pert, Australia
MY 2CENT only, correct me if im wrong... i think its recommanded 4 u to change it... from wat i think, more air at the intake but not enough room exhaust 4 it to release... but depending how much u pnp also, if alittle then i dun think u need too...:tee:

et5828

Sep 13, 2004
mycar is runnin with high cam and pnp
but still powerzone recommended me use stock
confuse...

Dino@Casper

May 13, 2005
P.J
after after pnp, the air flow would be smoother... therefore there is a higher volumemetric flow rate.. so i think shouldn't it be better to have a bigger or less restritive air flow... correct me if i'm wrong