DIY Joey mod - Blacking out the Headlight surrounds

It was a craze at some point in the past to blacken the shiny bits in your headlamps to give it a different look. I personally thought it was silly as it dimmed the lights since there was less reflective surface to bounce the light. Then came the HID craze together with projector casings to house the HID.

All of a sudden blackened headlamps made sense.

It looked cool without affecting functionality and gave your car a certain menacing stance rarely found in bog-standard cars. It wasn't until recently I was informed that the process of blackening the headlamp like this is called a Joey Mod. Interestingly enough, it all started in 2000 by an Australian who modified his headlamps by blackening the insides. Because he was from Australia and 'Joey' being slang for a baby kangeroo, it somehow stuck and has been called that ever since.

(Unfortunately for me my car doesn't have HIDs and retrofitting projectors will only result in 'Uncle' JPJ and his gang of cohorts going for 'tea' on my expense.)

Fellow member Darkchild recently decided to do something about the awful baby blue colour (in my opinion!) and union jack roof on his Mini Cooper S and slap on some awe inspiring Lamborghini shocking green with black highlights. His thread is probably the main cause for the sudden spike in Google's search for 'Joey Mods' since he had his Mini's headlamps done from :

to

Read more about it here : http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/your-shots/385555-project-kermit.html

Enterprising fellow member Titanrev had too much time in his hands over the long holidays and thought he'd Joey mod his Lion.

Read more about it here : http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...386668-diy-joey-mod-aka-smoke-headlights.html

Pretty neat!

Time spent on the mod : 1 day
Car menacing stance after mod : 10/10
Your mom discovers all her cling wrap is missing from the kitchen after your mod and pulls your ears for spoiling her herbal chicken wrap recipe : Priceless!

:biggrin:

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
i did a joey mod on my satria neo front lamps few years back and it looked good. it removed the amber reflector looks and i installed some bright philips amber signal lamp to compensate the lack of amber reflector, looked really great

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
i did a joey mod on my satria neo front lamps few years back and it looked good. it removed the amber reflector looks and i installed some bright philips amber signal lamp to compensate the lack of amber reflector, looked really great
Kev, any photos of ur s.neo's headlamps?..

Izso, apa enterprising....Hahahaha I'm just an average joe...

encikapek

Nov 25, 2006
well..my perdana also got joey mod..previous owner done it..totally diffren look..

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
thank you for the pics..

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
thank you for the pics..
do u drive a neo too? all u need is a spray can and spray on the amber reflectors, then get amber lights, maybe use polarg bulbs or philips, they would be good enough

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
do u drive a neo too? all u need is a spray can and spray on the amber reflectors, then get amber lights, maybe use polarg bulbs or philips, they would be good enough

yaya, driving 1, same color with ur ex ride..hehe..ok thx for the tips.. :shakehands:

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
haha, no problems, u could tint the rear lamps like mine, then it would look like a nice looking neo, i tried to make it as simple and nice looking back then!

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
haha, no problems, u could tint the rear lamps like mine, then it would look like a nice looking neo, i tried to make it as simple and nice looking back then!
yeah i like the tint on the rear lamps but scared police/jpj kacau..actually, i wish to knw if there's any shop in pg dat can make joey mods on the headlamps, cos i'm not good+lazy with DIY..hehe..somemore i think my headlamp's silicone is not good ade, it becomes foggy whenever i wash the car or under the rain..

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
true proton fan bro in aus also drive proton, i would have swapped it for a r32 gtr with that sort of price anytime lol
lol actually, these plates were from my older ride in australia, a 1998 mitsubishi lancer glxi (similar to the looks of an evo 4), then upgraded to a 1996 honda integra dc2 (chose the dc2 because the cops would give less issues than a s13 silvia, mazda rx-7 fc, 180sx, skyline gts-t, lol!)

but yeah, sorry i fooled u.

as for the mods, try looking for those shops that specialise in accesories or maybe selling customised headlamps. tell them to help u remove the lamps to remove the water vapour. at the same time, as they to darken the reflectors by using a tin of spray paint. and voila, its part of the job!

nakata86

May 18, 2004
lol actually, these plates were from my older ride in australia, a 1998 mitsubishi lancer glxi (similar to the looks of an evo 4), then upgraded to a 1996 honda integra dc2 (chose the dc2 because the cops would give less issues than a s13 silvia, mazda rx-7 fc, 180sx, skyline gts-t, lol!)

but yeah, sorry i fooled u.

as for the mods, try looking for those shops that specialise in accesories or maybe selling customised headlamps. tell them to help u remove the lamps to remove the water vapour. at the same time, as they to darken the reflectors by using a tin of spray paint. and voila, its part of the job!
thats cool. at least u had the choice of choosing whats worth ure money and whats not, unlike in our very own bolehland. :)

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
a spray can & a sealant? this is DIYable :biggrin:

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
thats cool. at least u had the choice of choosing whats worth ure money and whats not, unlike in our very own bolehland. :)
haha yeah, bolehland has it perks too, old school rides can be had for almost next to none, just newer cars and popular cars can be crap expensive!!

i wanted to buy another dc2 here, but heavily objected by a family who believes new cars are better. i proved them wrong!!! thats for sure, the neo's gearbox and abs module gave up, right after the warranty ended!! its quite a shame!! anywhos, i would have loved to keep the neo, but it was chewing up my money

hi all...
i need some advice from u ppl out there regarding my turbine..
i'm using b6 turbo...everytime my turbo ons, which means the boost meter goes more than 0.1, white smoke will be coming out from my exhaust...its pretty alot at times...i duno whether my turbine oil seal has any prob or is it my turbine itself...but then the power of the car remains the same...
plz assist me on this...tq..