DIY-Honda EK CF Fuel Cover

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Dear guys..
A while back while I was surfing the net for ek parts... i saw them selling CF fuel cap...
Look really nice since it is original CF and not those cheapo stickers.....

This was wat i saw.... by S2 Carbon

So I decided to DIY, getting the 0.3mm thick actual CF sheet was the difficult part..
Once you already have the cf sheet that comes with the 3M super sticky double sided tape, then everything else is "kacang"...

What I did last weekend...

step 1- remove fuel cover from car- (in my case got 1 FOC from "Guangek9")
step 2- sand the surface to make it clean and rough.- 1000 sand paper
step 3- cut the cf sheet with sharp sissors 5mm bigger that then fuel cap.
step 4- remove the tape gentlely ensuring no bumps.
step 5- stick and press according to the surface of the fuel cap...
step 6- cut away the extras (will not over cut, since the cover is metal)
step 7- sand the sides with 600 sandpaper to get smooth finishing.
step 8- masking tape the cf surface, preparation to spray the sides with matte back and
add a few layers of clear coat...to protect the edges..
step 9- wait and wait for it to dry
step 10- remove the masking tape... WA LA.....

How nice or not? Soon will put up the picture of the cf sheet and picture after i install in the car...
It is a nice match to my cf bonnet & cf spoiler...TQ

camp

Mar 22, 2006
Bro how to get the CF sheet from u.s. do tell, tq

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
I search and did some homework...
Finally found the company Protech Composites....pls follow the link
https://store01.prostores.com/servlet/protechcomposites/Invoice

that does international sale... ordered and paid by visa and they airmailed it to me...
From the website you can choose from the many thickness and color...what i got was
0.25mm, 3K Twill weave carbon fibre...but quite expensive... anyway see your self.
The postage cost is the killer....TQ

camp

Mar 22, 2006
I search and did some homework...
Finally found the company Protech Composites....pls follow the link
https://store01.prostores.com/servlet/protechcomposites/Invoice

that does international sale... ordered and paid by visa and they airmailed it to me...
From the website you can choose from the many thickness and color...what i got was
0.25mm, 3K Twill weave carbon fibre...but quite expensive... anyway see your self.
The postage cost is the killer....TQ
Tq bro will check the web site, nice DIY anyway

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Dear all wit EK...
I have made 2 CF fuel cap..
1 for my car and hv a spare 1 (first try, not up to my high stds)
I am offering to sale it... PM me if u wan. Tq

^slownyer^

Apr 28, 2005
wonderfulplanet
fuh....

fuel cap oso CF wanabe...

anyway nice DIY...

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Hehehe.. Nice onlylah..
But manage to beat another car by just
a bumper...still consider win correct...
And win da betting money manage to buy
spoon cf mirrors...lol:biggrin:

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
Hehehe.. Nice onlylah..
But manage to beat another car by just
a bumper...still consider win correct...
And win da betting money manage to buy
spoon cf mirrors...lol:biggrin:
hehe.. looks cool, atleast can reduce 5kgs 'looks weight'... sure u'll win loo... ehehhehee...:biggrin:
can add 'respond' too... hehehehee:biggrin: