c-ground

Apr 5, 2005
Seri Kembangan
cground.fotopic.net
you have got it right.

the reason behind this is:-

there is almost no vacuum before the throttle body (unless you have a very restrictive intake system) - answer for 2nd question.

there's no almost no above-atmosphere pressure inside the cabin, nor the aircond under normal circumstances (unless you close all the vents, at full blast) - answer for 3rd question.

So there's no pressure difference between the 2 ends of the small hose. No flow.

If there is a pressure difference (in the case if you close all the vents at full fan speed, and the small hose is connected to the aircond hose), then the air inside the aircond hoses will be forced into the engine intake hose.

But the amount?

At 3000 rpm (100kph in 5th gear), the engine is taking in about 68 cubic feet of air per minute. How much cold air is being supplied by the small hose from the aircond?

Would the amount be sufficient, even to drop the intake charge temperature by 5 deg C?

In addition, to take A % of the power (to run the aircond compressor) from the engine to generate B % of power (from the colder intake charge temp.), where A > B, at the same time sacrifying (wasting) the purpose of using the A % of power in the first place.... reasonable?

Back to the "suffocation" issue, the cabin is not air tight. Otherwise you won't feel the highland effect when you go up to genting, for example.

At the end, no one suffocate, maybe just sweat like a cow in the cabin. No net power gain.

Might as well just turn it off?

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
ooo.... if connect alternative route to cabin for additional cold air can la... but if get direct cold air from cabin i still doubt la...

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
yah yah... aircond take up some power... so they usually switch off the aircond when they race... in racecars, they dont even have the aircond installed... coz the whole set weigh quite alot...

k0m3n9

Aug 17, 2005
ulu klang
Satria racer said:
Man while u turn on ur aircond ull lose more power then u gain... cause usually when u racing u off ur aircond right...
Corect me if i'm wrong...
aiya... ofcoz la u satria racer... alwayz racing one.. :biggrin:

me only wan cooler breath for engine.. hoping for better combustion & better fc ma :cool:

btw it's DIY only... tak rugi banyak la if we just try it.. as long we still can DIY it rite :rolleyes:

2008 Dodge Viper SRT-10 Beaks Cover Ahead Schedule

We'll take credit for being the first to notice that the cover of Road & Track's February issue gave up the goods on the 600-hp power rating of the 2008 Dodge Viper SRT-10, but we'll pass the honor of being the first to post the Viper's catalogue of press material to our friends over at Jalopnik who, in turn, acted only after said Feb. issue of R&T was released...