change turbo manifold design

normality78

Guys
currently im using this turbo manifold on my 7AFTE utilising WRX td04l Turbo

http://img250.imageshack.us/im...s.jpg
http://img463.imageshack.us/im...k.jpg
http://img463.imageshack.us/im...q.jpg

due to the manifold flaw design, i was not able to retain my original radiator as its touched my overflow water jack outlet and i do think the runner pipe was too long.

my fren is going to pass me his turbo manifold which enable me to use back my ori radiator and his runner pipe is slightly shorter. but i notice his runner pipe joint up method was 1-3 and 2-4 which in my own understanding, 1-4 and 2-3 will given the best result. Meanwhile runing visiting some reputable tuner web i also noticed there are some well knowed manufacturer did not follow 1-4 and 2-3 weld up method.

http://img522.imageshack.us/im...8.jpg
http://img522.imageshack.us/im...6.jpg

my question is, how well design is my fren turbo manifold? would i be experincing worse turbo respond? As i do thought of fabricating log manifold style, its also not going to be 1-4, 2-3 style as all will connect into 1 common pipe and share out to a flange.

Dude, it all depends on the firing order of the engine. Basically, you want to have a bigger gap between the two exhaust pulsations. What's the firing order for a 4pot, 1-4-3-2? If thats the firing order then you want to have pipe 1-3 and 2-4 connected (and if its 1-3-4-2, then you want the pipe to be 1-2 and 3-4, which I dont think the firing order is correct).

Log-styled manifold may not be better, a proper log-styled manifold also required proper design principle as mentioned above. The book Maximum Boost will explain al these in detail.

Hope this helps.

Cheers.

tks for the explanation wild_seven

If i was not wrong, 4-inline engine only got 1 type firing order right? that is 1-4, 2-3. I wasnt aware there is any other ifiring type.

As for the log manifold style, this is the one im talking about. hehehehe, i dun think there is anything can be design of except shifting the flange around. whahahaha

http://img474.imageshack.us/img474/102/importstore18762392397621zk.gif