Car Prices In Malaysia Are Stupid

Stock standard 325 BMW coupe here in Malaysia = RM250,000-RM300,000+

My car I bought in US for RM120,000. Plus all my mods = RM240,000

wish those prices were the same here in Malaysia.

Hopefully in the next coming years under multiple trade agreements import/excise tax on cars will go down. But they're afraid noone would by Protons anymore, that's why they keep the taxes high.

joelim774 said:
Slipknot,
Don't think you see the big pic..You would rather migrate than seeing lame car prices?
Man, you're strange..I've visited almost every country you can imagine, then times it with 5..The point is that, though our country is kinda imperfect and I can understand that b'cos i felt the same when I'm away travelling..But then again what are car prices compare to the peace and safe haven from enviromental disaster..Btw, petrol prices and parkings are all cheap in M'sia..Trying living in Japan..Malaysia Best :D

WOW!!! I am like... WOW!!! MAN!!! You must be kidding man... been to anywhere and times it by 5?!?! You got to be fu**ing me man! Are you some kind of airline pilot or something?

acbc said:
Sigh... why are you comparing the US with MY? Different countries have different policies la. You think MY car prices are high, try our neighbours in SG.

Let's make it simple... why don't you migrate there instead?

hmmm... i think u better do ur homework... car prices in SG is cheaper than in MY okie (comparing with average income and car prices)...

Casanova said:
Stock standard 325 BMW coupe here in Malaysia = RM250,000-RM300,000+

My car I bought in US for RM120,000. Plus all my mods = RM240,000

wish those prices were the same here in Malaysia.

Hopefully in the next coming years under multiple trade agreements import/excise tax on cars will go down. But they're afraid noone would by Protons anymore, that's why they keep the taxes high.

they don't have to be afraid la... IT'S A FU**KING FACT!!! No one and I mean NO ONE will buy Proton anymore! You wanna know why? COZ STONE COLD SAID SO!!! :D

i think it is many of you who don't get the big picture... Yes, Malaysia might be imperfect and all, but don't you notice that we Malaysians are very stupid consumers? For one, we do not practice our consumer rights when we are being taken advantage of. Someone did mention previously that in US, we can get sued easily, which I think is really effective as it would discourage people to do things as they like without thinking of implications of their action on others.

Look at absurd prices that we just accept as the norm and continue buying. Car prices for one, second is prices of houses and apartments. The price of houses and apartments are reaching absurb levels and don't most of you just wonder why is that? It is because majority of houses and apartments from development projects are bought up by real estate companies (or even individuals seeking to invest and sell) to be sold later to end buyers. Hence all this hogging of properties prompts the developers to sell at higher prices as it creates an artificial demand for it.

Prices of toll that we pay, it is an indirect tax to all of us. Simply said, if these projects were govt funded, there would be no toll but the money would come from us ultimately from our taxes we pay to govt and etc.

Starting in 2007, GST would be introduced and initial impression is that GST would be implemented at a level of 7-8%. Everything we buy would be charged extra 7-8% (except some exempted products & services). Shopping, buying car, buying food etc all affected. Yes, although tax rates might come down, but then again the govt actually is seeking to fund its budget deficit to make it a neutral or surplus budget, so
ultimately we would have to pay more.

And to top if off, the behaviour of Malaysians are getting worse. Road hogging, road bullies, selfish behaviour, rude behaviour, "tidak apa" behaviour, kiasu-ism, kiase-ism, bribery, etc etc...

I think it is time to wake up. We cannot just say "nothing we can do about it so what for bother". It all starts with yourself. Take small steps by buying wisely, showing more manners and considerate behaviour, and most importantly vote smarter and be more verbal to our "representatives" in the govt. Like I read somewhere, is it supposed to be government's people or people's government?

Then i wonder wat's the reason you still in malaysia ? Go back to state lar.....

Life is give and take.....there are so many ppls in malaysia can have their wonderful life here....why you can't ? think about it.....

Consider of what we are enjoying now, I'll say Malaysia still one of the best country to live in. I don't really see what is wrong with our car and car price now. f there is something wrong, how come you still see GTR, BMW, LEXUS, MERC, FERRARI and even LAMBO on the road? It means you are basically just poorer than those people and have nothing to do with our country. If you can afford it get a good one, otherwise stay with what you can afford. Till the time when everyone is driving a ferrari you will start saying

"WTF! why our government is not like Malaysia, where only the rich and famous can afford the luxury..... now even a factory worker driving the same F430 as me. Fux!"

So get my meaning? There is forever something to whine/complain about no matter how perfect it makes to you because there is always some kiasu-ism inside everyone.

vrommmm>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

koolspyda said:
set up a company.

become a sub-con ;) ;)

yeah...you got the point.... in the year 2020 super wawasan, malaysia only 3 types of people:

1) freaking richie rich richsss. subcon or,
2) civil servant with big big house and fast fast car
3) poor lamer tax payer

Crashvenom said:
Consider of what we are enjoying now, I'll say Malaysia still one of the best country to live in. I don't really see what is wrong with our car and car price now. f there is something wrong, how come you still see GTR, BMW, LEXUS, MERC, FERRARI and even LAMBO on the road? It means you are basically just poorer than those people and have nothing to do with our country. If you can afford it get a good one, otherwise stay with what you can afford. Till the time when everyone is driving a ferrari you will start saying

"WTF! why our government is not like Malaysia, where only the rich and famous can afford the luxury..... now even a factory worker driving the same F430 as me. Fux!"

So get my meaning? There is forever something to whine/complain about no matter how perfect it makes to you because there is always some kiasu-ism inside everyone.

vrommmm>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Hmmm... the thing is, we tend to buy cars to show our status, no matter how expensive or absurb the prices are (hence me saying Malaysians tend to be stupid consumers, we don't get our value for money but we still do it).

Also, don't get me wrong, I do love Malaysia, else if I don't, I would have already left Malaysia. What I am trying to say is that we can make it a better place and which I feel everyone else should also voice out the matter. So to slk850, maybe u just live ur life and just accepting things as the way it is, but then there'll be no improvement in the things u get.

Yes, although there is forever something to whine and complain about but think of it as the bottleneck theory of management. You seek out the weakest link in the chain and improve it, then it would no longer be the weakest link, another link would now be the weakest link, then u improve it too, and keep doing that. So the end result u get is a very much stronger chain than before. ;)

If a CAR as a reason for migration is not a wise decision.....I've been in Aus and US , the price of the car and gas is cheap.....BUT all kind of services and taxes is higher....

just my 2 cents..

JDM_Car said:
If a CAR as a reason for migration is not a wise decision.....I've been in Aus and US , the price of the car and gas is cheap.....BUT all kind of services and taxes is higher....

just my 2 cents..

price of gas cheap? you gotta be kidding...

RM1.40 for 92 octane gas per litre in Malaysia
RM1.50 for 97 octane gas per litre in Malaysia

RM2.80 for 91 octane gas per litre in California
no gas over 92 octane.

Casanova said:
price of gas cheap? you gotta be kidding...

RM1.40 for 92 octane gas per litre in Malaysia
RM1.50 for 97 octane gas per litre in Malaysia

RM2.80 for 91 octane gas per litre in California
no gas over 92 octane.

dude, u cannot compare like this. Compare to the average income there. So it makes:-

RM1.52 per litre Malaysia. Average income about RM1,800 per month (approx?)
0.084% of monthly income

USD0.73 per litre in California. Average income about USD2,000 (not sure)
0.0365% of monthly income

of course we have to take away:-

1. difference in income tax rates between countries
2. other average spending items to derive the disposable income to compare
3. effect of difference in prices of cars, housing and others (also average toll expenses per month le?).

trex92 said:
Hmmm... the thing is, we tend to buy cars to show our status, no matter how expensive or absurb the prices are (hence me saying Malaysians tend to be stupid consumers, we don't get our value for money but we still do it).

I agree with you here. Some may say that Malaysia still look prosper despite high taxes on cars, but thing is majority of the population is willing to spend a large portion of their income on cars. My cousin in England bought a *decent* car with a month's worth of salary (for the sake of comparison lets discount insurance), thats not even remotely possible in Malaysia. In Australia they wouldnt need a lifetime to fund a decent car as well. 99% Loan over 9 years? Pfft.

How many of Malaysians have forgone relaxing and entertainment just to support their house, car and family? This directly affects living quality as well.

Zeroed said:
I agree with you here. Some may say that Malaysia still look prosper despite high taxes on cars, but thing is majority of the population is willing to spend a large portion of their income on cars. My cousin in England bought a *decent* car with a month's worth of salary (for the sake of comparison lets discount insurance), thats not even remotely possible in Malaysia. In Australia they wouldnt need a lifetime to fund a decent car as well. 99% Loan over 9 years? Pfft.

How many of Malaysians have forgone relaxing and entertainment just to support their house, car and family? This directly affects living quality as well.

:) that's y now for loans, u can take a loan that can pass down to ur next generation wan (meaning after u die, ur son/daughter continues paying for it)... geez man...

You are so right in ur last sentence and the troubling thing is that, we are so used to that kind of life.

I read somewhere (i think reader's digest) that research shows that Asians save a lot of their income. But, the ironic thing is that the reason we save so much is because we can't buy a decent car with 1 month's salary. Its like saving a lot means we have lots of money.

i guess no point doing such comparison, it is meaningless. Even if one of us become the PM of Malaysia, trust me, you won't remove that 300% import tax for sure, you know why?

Because Malaysia goverment is poor bai, because you never know where Gov money goes to, even pak lah dunno about it. Malaysia Goverment is like spoilt kids, always have not enough money to spend.

i guess its typical human thinking
we always complaint about the bad stuff
but
seldom compliment on the good stuff

the gov are corrupt lah,not doing their job lah,price are to high lah etc etc
but never....
proud to have the (once) tallest building,being a very safe country,have car company even though a small country etc etc etc

just a thought

trex92 said:
dude, u cannot compare like this. Compare to the average income there. So it makes:-

RM1.52 per litre Malaysia. Average income about RM1,800 per month (approx?)
0.084% of monthly income

USD0.73 per litre in California. Average income about USD2,000 (not sure)
0.0365% of monthly income

of course we have to take away:-

1. difference in income tax rates between countries
2. other average spending items to derive the disposable income to compare
3. effect of difference in prices of cars, housing and others (also average toll expenses per month le?).

Yes..I agree wit you ! Is what we call in general, the BUYING POWER per capita. If you compared worldwide, M'sia buying power is relatively low for a developing/develop country still..

Many of the one responded to this tread sounds very bias...I believe if we can share facts and theory for discussion, that would be more beneficial than simply 'mine is better than yours childish' mindset.

For example, having work in S'pore for 5 years before, I do agree that cars in s'pore is cheaper than m'sia as a whole. With what you are earning there, and the buying power u have, is not expensive. U cannot convert it and compare dollar to dollar. On top of that, COE (certificate of entitlement) is transferable and hence, reduce further the actual price of the car when u change your car. Not only cars..mobiles gadgets, electronic consumer items, clothings are all cheaper if we compute by buying powers rather than 2x RM and 'viola',..is more expensive in RM wat ? sigh..

Ahh..one last thing I forgot. I am already back to Maresia boleh although I'm a PR there coz minusing many factors, I still prefer mamak teh tarik and maggie goreng tepi longkang as my lifestyle ! :)