Car Prices In Malaysia Are Stupid

Slipknot Fanatic

During my last recent trip to the United States, I see more Mercedes and Ferrari in Los Angeles alone than I see here in Malaysia. Over here its because of the lame 300% tax is what makes imported cars high priced. I even see students driving SL55 and CL55 which is something I don't see over here. In Malaysia they call it an old man's car. The favourite car among students is the VW Beetle. In L.A it can cost around $3500-$5000 U.S dollars which is like around RM20000. What is wrong with the VW Beetle price here? The VW Beetle is a luxury car over here with a big price tag. Oh my god. As I mentioned ealier there are more Ferrari in Los Angeles than Malaysia. Even saw the new F430 in L.A. The Ferrari's in L.A are even better than the Ferrari's in Malaysia. Better in a sense of styling and attitude.

first, glad that you enjoyed your trip in the states but before u come around thrashing malaysia, be thankful you're in a safe country without any terrorist threats. also, you're subjected to high salary taxes and basically you have to becareful of your actions over there coz if u happen to step on someone's foot, you will be sued. its true our car prices are shockingly high but its just one of those government policy we can't do much about.

Dude,
Car prices are not the only stupid thing in Malaysia. 100 rolls of toilet paper won't be enough for you to list out all the other stupid things.

heehe....look at the bright side dude, at least here in m'sia we can lepak till 5-6am in the morning at mapley for tt..etc..etc, over there..?..bang..bang..die..die....:D

Sigh... why are you comparing the US with MY? Different countries have different policies la. You think MY car prices are high, try our neighbours in SG.

Let's make it simple... why don't you migrate there instead?

if i wanna migrate to the other country...my choice would be..either holland (amsterdam, heaven wei!!) or new zealand...muahahaahaha..

their cars are cheaper but not the insurance etc

correct me if im wrong

bros..malaysia not bad what....nice country to stay la...hehehe....(cos no money to migrate) hahaha....joking joking....

ya their car price is cheap and road tax is all the same but the insurance is damn high ler....we have to think about this point.......correct me if i'm wrong..

I dont mind migratin der at least I dont c lame car prices. I only compared the car prices between L.A and Malaysia. 4 ur info L.A is a city. If a city alone has better cars than here which is a country, then definitely someting is wrong here. Wat is dis I hear ppl a large sum 4 a simple single digit number and most of it r actually under table $ for JPJ. At least over there u pay US$20-US$40 for a customized no. plate. Car prices here will neva change even if it enters A.F.T.A (Asean Free Trade Area). Der is no such ting as road tax over der. Da insurance der is based on da car u drive n ur driving record. If u got a bad record then u got 2 pay more for ur insurance. 4 petrol prices it depends on the brand u go for n also the type of petrol.

different country different economy level

but malaysia government dont see how protecting it proton will lead it to destruction

look at how poor the qc is look at how fragile it is look at how much power it produce compare to other car

if we lift the tax force proton to grow up or die I think our economy can grow even stronger with more export

Actually car prices in Singapore, if compared alongside with average income, are actually cheaper to buy and run. Then there's the transferable COE.

The best place for a car enthusiast would be IMO Australia... high pay, low working hours, cheap cars, cheap petrol and without insane taxes or insurance.
Problem: No speeding on the road.
Solution: More track days. :D

Zeroed said:
Actually car prices in Singapore, if compared alongside with average income, are actually cheaper to buy and run. Then there's the transferable COE.

The best place for a car enthusiast would be IMO Australia... high pay, low working hours, cheap cars, cheap petrol and without insane taxes or insurance.
Problem: No speeding on the road.
Solution: More track days. :D

one word...HEAVEN!jk, jk!

Proton depends so much from da government. They have been a car manufacturer 4 21yrs n yet dey only come out wif less than 10 models. Perodua came out 10yrs after Proton and now dey have alredy over taken Proton in terms of car models and sales. Da smart ting Perodua did was let Daihatsu handle da manufacturin side while dey handle sales & marketing. A lot of ppl hav heard of da Savvy ad on da radio. How can u reach Singapore in 30min @ 170km/h? Da only 2 dat is 2 go more than 300km/h without any traffic. Wat about da blind fold ad? Is Proton tryin 2 prove dat da Savvy is as strong a tank. Best of all da Myvi has received more bookings compared to Savvy.

you're forgetting, petrol prices in Malaysia is one of the cheapest in the world and no to mention the cost of living in m'sia is relatively low too.

Slipknot Fanatic said:
I dont mind migratin der at least I dont c lame car prices. I only compared the car prices between L.A and Malaysia. 4 ur info L.A is a city. If a city alone has better cars than here which is a country, then definitely someting is wrong here. Wat is dis I hear ppl a large sum 4 a simple single digit number and most of it r actually under table $ for JPJ. At least over there u pay US$20-US$40 for a customized no. plate. Car prices here will neva change even if it enters A.F.T.A (Asean Free Trade Area). Der is no such ting as road tax over der. Da insurance der is based on da car u drive n ur driving record. If u got a bad record then u got 2 pay more for ur insurance. 4 petrol prices it depends on the brand u go for n also the type of petrol.

The thing with US is that u can actually lease the cars rather than outright purchase.. so u can atually be driving around a new car every 2-3 years.. hence the high number of new and expensive cars on the road..

True that there is no road tax instead you have the registration/plates which u need to renew every year.. dont know about $20 plates but i had mine for $80 in michigan and must be renewed every year..

Yeah insurance there is quite expensive if you're paying for full coverage but then again the service is so much better..

IMHO, yes, the US is a car haven, cars are cheaper, gas is more affordable, personalized number plates really have that distinctive effect.. but the COPS are all over and their speeding ticket is damn expensive.. go over 30mph of the speed limit and you can be arrested on the spot.. no such thing as "tak boleh settle sini ke?"...

Slipknot,
Don't think you see the big pic..You would rather migrate than seeing lame car prices?
Man, you're strange..I've visited almost every country you can imagine, then times it with 5..The point is that, though our country is kinda imperfect and I can understand that b'cos i felt the same when I'm away travelling..But then again what are car prices compare to the peace and safe haven from enviromental disaster..Btw, petrol prices and parkings are all cheap in M'sia..Trying living in Japan..Malaysia Best :D