Bmw e30 vs bmw e36 which one better in handling

paLLy garage

Feb 14, 2013
Kedah
I'm are new here,please all sifus give me advise..TQ
I want to buy a bmw car(e36 or e30 or e34),i always have long distance drive and want a comfort car with good handling..which one should i get.
Please help me..!!
Thank you.. ;)

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
Dear Pally,

If you travel outstation a lot, I would suggest you get a Merz

Choices available are W124, ranging from E200, E220, E230, E260

Take my word its VERY VERY reliable, you can whack one or two million km with it!

Comfort wise no need for me to tell you,

As for handling it ok cos its rear wheel drive, weight distribution is even front and back...

As for BM I think I better not comment because it will offend the Beemers diehards....

munky

Jul 18, 2004
www.playboy.com
reliable? i beg to differ. There are 2 E200 in my in law's house. W210 and W211. Both are full of problems

dunno about e30 or e36, but the new 3 series F30 got a lot of minor problems (not engine related)

arturo

nooB
SateCelupLand
E30 and E34 quite old already so there could be issues with wear and tear. I've heard BMW mechs say that E36 318i are the most reliable among all the E36 variants but still not as reliable as the E34s which they say are among the most reliable models. I personally have an E28 which is the predecessor of the E34 and even tho this car was born in '86, it is still on the road and its basically quite bombproof.

I think the E30 cant really be considered a highway cruiser as it is small and the E34 and E36 are better choices in terms of highway cruising. personally, i'd go for the E34 but would find a top range 525i model that comes with Vanos. check the electronics. BMW electronics are little gremlins...

actually... what is your purchase and maintenance budget? these are very important when choosing a car especially if its planned to be used long distance and frequently.

Mr.Chaser

Jun 29, 2009
Johor

nama.takda

From Facebook
Aug 31, 2010
personally i`ve own few bimmer.. e30,e34,e36,e46,e39 and lastly e60..

overall... i choose e39..

in your case.. i choose e36..

handling in corner better than e34 'standard shock and spring comparison'
comfort e36 lose to e34 "'standard shock and spring comparison'"
less computer.. 'e30,e36,e34'
abundant spare part..''e30,e36,e34'
cheaper to maintain since less electronic compare to newly model "''e30,e36,e34'
and always look nice 'if u got the right body-kit"
look for 96 onward model..(if e36)
choose 318i for save the roadtax and fuel.. ( if e36)
mine 328i cost RM1600 per year just for roadtax.. adei ~ SOLD already haha

weu250

Feb 12, 2004
Subang Jaya (USJ)
Sorry to hi jack your thread paLLy garage.

nama.takda do you by any chance know where I can find E30's chrome trimmings the rain gutter and also the door rubber linings?

Thank you

SiL88

Oct 1, 2012
personally i`ve own few bimmer.. e30,e34,e36,e46,e39 and lastly e60..

overall... i choose e39..

in your case.. i choose e36..

handling in corner better than e34 'standard shock and spring comparison'
comfort e36 lose to e34 "'standard shock and spring comparison'"
less computer.. 'e30,e36,e34'
abundant spare part..''e30,e36,e34'
cheaper to maintain since less electronic compare to newly model "''e30,e36,e34'
and always look nice 'if u got the right body-kit"
look for 96 onward model..(if e36)
choose 318i for save the roadtax and fuel.. ( if e36)
mine 328i cost RM1600 per year just for roadtax.. adei ~ SOLD already haha
agreed, i'll go for e36 as it have long lasting models, my favorite is the e36 coupe version :biggrin:

ColdPlay

Jun 16, 2010
How about E36 with 1JZ-GTE at heart? Quite a number are selling below RM30k.
Although its no longer original, it's a peace of mind when traveling long distance knowing the engine is almost bullet proof.
Exterior is evergreen too, as to me, this particular E36 never look outdated.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Dear Pally,

If you travel outstation a lot, I would suggest you get a Merz

Choices available are W124, ranging from E200, E220, E230, E260

Take my word its VERY VERY reliable, you can whack one or two million km with it!

Comfort wise no need for me to tell you,

As for handling it ok cos its rear wheel drive, weight distribution is even front and back...

As for BM I think I better not comment because it will offend the Beemers diehards....
reliable? i beg to differ. There are 2 E200 in my in law's house. W210 and W211. Both are full of problems

dunno about e30 or e36, but the new 3 series F30 got a lot of minor problems (not engine related)
The one Bro Lesley mentioned is the older W124, not those newer ones. The W124 was a very reliable car but the newer ones not so because they're getting more complicated with more electronics. Many considered the W124 as still the best Merc in terms of quality. There was even an old episode of Fifth Gear trying to destroy this Merc and ended up when the car was dropped from a crane several meters high but then the car could still start and moved despite the suspension were already destroyed from the drop!

paLLy garage

Feb 14, 2013
Kedah
How about E36 with 1JZ-GTE at heart? Quite a number are selling below RM30k.
Although its no longer original, it's a peace of mind when traveling long distance knowing the engine is almost bullet proof.
Exterior is evergreen too, as to me, this particular E36 never look outdated.
Actually..before this I was looking E36 with 1jz VVTI at heart..but i have to pay for high road tax of 2500cc.. I might consider E36 with sr20det engine ..what do y'll thinks about?but how about bmw e36 318i stock engine?it will be give power on hills road and fuel efficiently?

hye everyone...i'm driving campro 1.6...my question is if i wanted to change my clutch pump, is there any racing clutch pump selling out there or can i use honda clutch pump instead oem clutch pump???help me out...:confused::confused: