ashabmy

Sep 11, 2005
Labuan
www.cardomain.com
It happen to my Harrier for about a month now. The RPM will drop to
<500RPM, aircond blowing air only. It try to raise the RPM to ~800RPM for
few times, with tak-tak sound from the engine, but finally rest at <500RPM
& aircond blowing air only. Battery indicator also turn yellow-red.

If I step on the pedal & keep the RPM >800RPM, its fine! But can't do that
if I have to stop for longer time, especially waiting. My battery also will
not last long if continue like this.

What's the problem? Alternator? appreciate yr comment b4 I send it to
mechanic, so he can't cheat me:regular_smile:

trex92

Aug 10, 2004
just timing set too low perhaps... too low idle timing would mean compressor not enough power from the engine and hence not cold. Same wise for battery light, too low timing would cause the battery light to come on coz the car is near dying off... You should find out why the timing too low...

ray11

Apr 26, 2005
how long u didn't service ur air con..? i kena oredy this prob...
when car throttle aircon cold but if in a halt it will blowing air only...
cos the condenser got clogged n not working properly...
high pressure cause the aircon not cold... got my aircon service n chg my cooling coil and filter plus the valve.But compressor also not so in good cond.hv to chg
to get optimum performance...car now quite heavy when on aircon.

ashabmy

Sep 11, 2005
Labuan
www.cardomain.com
I've driven my Harrier for 9 months, bought it as re-cond JDM, mileage now 36,000KM (but I dont trust it, should be more). Model year2000, 3.0LV6 VVTi.

I've never service the aircond yet. The aircond is great when car moving, only problem when stationary. Probably the timing setting is to low, but I didn't change the timing setting.

Will see what the mechanic say tomorrow. At least I have something to ask him from the info you guys provided.

thanx & cheers

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
go for a mech to check first...i scare is some sensor kong..my fren recon jap car got this prob...sensor always kong..but dunno wat sensor...not a really close fren

ashabmy

Sep 11, 2005
Labuan
www.cardomain.com
Sent to my mechanic last saturday. They still can't identify the problem, will check again next saturday.. they will check the vacuum, meanwhile, they increased the timing a bit (~900RPM). Will update you guys...

Evo48

Mar 22, 2005
check your aircond fan on ur radiator is it working? mine last time having same problem. problem solved after replace the fan.

g88

Jan 28, 2004
sound like your aircond compressor clutch getting loose..

Im driving a 2003 Satria GTi.....and the idling is really unstable...going up and down and most of the time is 500rpm or below...sometimes it even dies when im stepping full clutch...happens whether the air cond is on or off......i went to proton edar service centre........and they said i had to change the throttle body.....they said if the clean it....when they put it back....the car might not start......anyone can shed some light on this problem.....thanks in advance!