5mm+ Thick Bitumen

LilKeV84

Feb 7, 2005
Subang Jaya
har? nonono
its not 5mm...i overestimated it =)
but its thicker...bout 2-3mm compared to the normal one about 1 - 1.5mm(measured with metal ruler today =P )
and denser...coz its harder and cannot compress much

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
normall bitumen strip is rm15 per roll(10m) 2" wide...

urs rm18 per meter?? so expensive??

yah.. i also wanto know where can get such bitumen strip dat cheap

LilKeV84

Feb 7, 2005
Subang Jaya
sure

go to those kedai alat ganti penyaman udara(air cond spare parts shop). The one i went to is in SS15 Subang Jaya, same row with maybank and public bank. service not bad...but not sure the price is low or not compared to other shops...haven surveyed others...got some in SS14 I saw.

just to clarify lah
On the box its stated 50mm x 3mm x 7.62mm (i think this mean meter not milimeter)
RM9 for 1 roll. got box 1(as seen in the picture)
I measured with ruler...the average thickness is about 2 - 3mm thick, but quite hard.

but since its cheap...i think stick 2 layers oso not got save money =P

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
5 meter long, 7 cm in width and 3mm in thickness.. RM9, okay only ler, not that cheap also..

LilKeV84

Feb 7, 2005
Subang Jaya
har??
nono
its 50mm width...2 inch...same width as the normal alu bitumen
3mm thickness
and 7.62meters...but have to measure this to really confirm the actual length lah

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
i tot those thing are used for prevent water to come in the firewall?
to seal the hole after change wiring and other related things.,..
but i did saw b4...so this thing can help to sound proof?
this stuff is quite heavy i can say, but i never saw superlon b4, dunno which 1 more heavy...

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
bitumen sure a lot heavier

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
then i need to apply bitumen first or superlon first?

blackshirt

Mar 11, 2005
blackieforum.myvnc.com
i think bitumen first, if superlon first the bitumen will not stick nice right? correct me :P

just did mine with bitumen, closing door sound nicer but heavy man :O

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
bitumen on de metal parts 1st..... for sound dampening... then only superlon on it.. for sound insulation...

if u do it de other way round... then de bitumen strip will be useless....

IronJ

Oct 6, 2004
i hv stick on the bitumen on the metal part but there's a problems... it'll melted and leake out throw the bottom part of the car door... it's really hard to remove the bitumen from my car body... but i hv notice that only my car got this problems, my fren car dun hv... any idea on how to overcome this problems?... or the bitumen used is difference?...

headshot

May 26, 2005
hi sifu, can post some pics on how to do it? pics tells thousand words ma :p cheers!!

LilKeV84

Feb 7, 2005
Subang Jaya
headshot
for pics just search around the DIY forum
so many ppl posted their pics liao :)

IronJ
u use the bitumen strips ar? not paint rite?
maybe u can try heating it up b4 putting it? then when it cools down it will harden and grabs the door better? coz the bitumen when fresh sure meleleh a lil 1...need a few times hot cold hot cold b4 drying perfectly

IronJ

Oct 6, 2004
yup... i do put the bitumen strip under the sun to heat it b4 i stick it... if not, it won't get stick to the door metal part... i hv being stick it up more than half year and until now still the same, but not as much as last time when fresh stick... u mean u also facing the same problems?... also leaking out when fresh stick?...

william

Jul 5, 2005
sound proof

i don't know if anyone has come across there are some accessories shops who offer to sound proof 4 doors panel with sound proof material, it' in piece form..at a price of RM900. is this worth.
they claim the material imported from the UK and is used by Jaquar car.

LilKeV84

Feb 7, 2005
Subang Jaya
good thing about those is that they are light weight
but freaking expensive...and mostly claim its asphalt based(asphalt is...bitumen...).

if diy...heavier lor...but u can adjust the amounts u used...maybe can get even better than that... =P
so if u are those that like to drag...then dun use this method lor...gives a lot of weight mar(but anyway...if u are a dragger...y even bother with soundproofing in the first place =P )

want to know more about light weight crank pulley
some say good, some say no good for top speed
some say can gain hp but some say is rubbish.
any one can share?:confused: