Why are second hand cars in Malaysia so expensive?

Starkiller

May 19, 2010
Hartamas
Hahah thanks for all the responses, a little more enlightened now. However i still think its ridiculous that a 2008 car can still be sold for more than 100K ringgit. Whats even more disturbing is cars with more than 100K mileage still sold for high price. I understand that to get a car in the first place is expensive but still, i don't think the depreciation value placed on them is accurate, its more like "agak-agak"

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
hehehe...my friend bought a car for 40k..spent about rm5k on it...and sold it at 58k.cause so called "market" says thats the price.... :rofl:

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
no no bro...he got a good bargain for a 2nd hand car...and due to the "market" price of the car...even if its 15 years old...he still can sell at 58k...he didnt get any AP etc.

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
ya bro till today i still think its crazy...more then 25% returns in less than a year.. now thats money working hard for you bro...

loose_end

Jul 29, 2009
no no bro...he got a good bargain for a 2nd hand car...and due to the "market" price of the car...even if its 15 years old...he still can sell at 58k...he didnt get any AP etc.
Ain't refering to your statement bro.. Sorry

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
alamak...my bad for ter-perasan bro.

Starkiller

May 19, 2010
Hartamas
Why new and used car are expensive? They say it all started by Dr.M.
New cars expensive because of the tax and ofcourse the protectionism policies to protect the local industry, that is somewhat.. understandable. However, secondhand cars expensive because owner perasan car got prestige and rarity and whatnot.

lewis26

Nov 29, 2005
If second hand cars is cheap with the current new car price, i bet alot ppl will stick to thier car for many years.
As for myself not being able to generate over 15k annually for car depreciation alone.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Cheap car prices in Malaysia, or in South East Asia for that matter is still just a dream! The only way to enjoy cheap cars is just to migrate to other countries like Australia, Japan, Europe, or North America.

Starkiller

May 19, 2010
Hartamas
Cheap car prices in Malaysia, or in South East Asia for that matter is still just a dream! The only way to enjoy cheap cars is just to migrate to other countries like Australia, Japan, Europe, or North America.
Well said my friend. hahah, although later people cakap lupa tanah air :rofl: