Which Motor for '92 Mira?

blades

Jun 2, 2011
Chiang Mai
I just bought a 1992 Mira (Thai-built) 3 cylinder carb with a blown motor. I will be buying a second-hand EFI motor from Japan for it. The shop that will be installing my next motor has warned me to stay away from Turbo motors. Apparently the parts can be expensive and hard to find here in Thailand but I will ask the motor shop if they stock all the parts for these motors as the shop is massive!

I was previously thinking about the JB-DET as it seems to have the most power at lowest RPM, or maybe the EF-RL.

Now I am thinking more about the JB-EL because it has no Turbo. From my research, it has the most power for a non-Turbo (43kW). Is that correct? Is it known to be a good dependable engine, or can anyone suggest one that may be better for me?

Thanks for any info as I am a noob to Daihatsus but I'm getting excited already!

go for L2s turbo motor... :biggrin:

it was somewhat a bulletproof motor for daihatsu k-car....maintain it stock and u'll be amazed by the reliability.... :adore:

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
this would be a very nice built..

I'm with ^pomen_GTR^...

L2s turbo..

it's plug & play.. my brother in law using the same engine..

so far.. so good..

Gudluck :burnout:

blades

Jun 2, 2011
Chiang Mai
From another thread>from another website...
"this is the different between L2,L2s,L5

L200(EF-CL) - 659cc 6v sohc 40ps/6.5Krpm 5.3kg-m/3.5Krpm NA
L210s,210v(EF-HL) - 659cc 12v sohc 50ps/7.5Krpm 5.3kg-m/4.5Krpm 4WD turbo
L200(EF-XL) - 659cc 6v sohc 61ps/7Krpm 8.6kg-m/4.5Krpm turbo (carb)
L200(EF-KL) - 659cc 6v sohc 42ps/6Krpm 5.4kg-m/4Krpm NA
L200(EF-FL) - 659cc 6v sohc 40ps/6.3Krpm 5.3kg-m/3.5Krpm NA
L200,200s(EF-JL) - 659cc 12v sohc 64ps/7.5Krpm 9.4kg-m/4Krpm turbo

L500s(EF-CL) - 659cc 6v sohc 40ps/6.5Krpm 5.3kg-m/3.5Krpm NA
L500s(EF-KL) - 659cc 6v sohc 42ps/6Krpm 5.4kg-m/4Krpm NA
L500s(EF-FL) - 659cc 6v sohc 40ps/6.3Krpm 5.3kg-m/3.5Krpm NA
L500s(EF-JL) - 659cc 12v sohc 64ps/7.5Krpm 9.4kg-m/4Krpm turbo
L500s(EF-GL) - 659cc 12v dohc 52ps/7.2Krpm 5.8kg-m/4Krpm NA
L510s/510v(EF-ZL) - 659cc 12v dohc 55ps/7.5Krpm 6.2kg-m/4Krpm 4WD NA
L500s(EF-RL) - 659cc 12v dohc 64ps/6.8Krpm 10.7kg-m/4Krpm turbo
L502s(JB-EL) - 659cc 16v dohc 58ps/7.6Krpm 5.8kg-m/5.6Krpm turbo
L502s(JB-JL) - 659cc 16v dohc 64ps/7.5Krpm 10.2kg-m/4Krpm turbo
L512s(JB-JL) - 659cc 16v dohc 64ps/7.5Krpm 10.2kg-m/4Krpm 4WD turbo"

This is the L2S engine that you are referring to? You figure that the EF-JL (L200,200s: 659cc 12v sohc 64ps/7.5Krpm 9.4kg-m/4Krpm turbo) is the most dependable? Does it have a better reputation than the EF-DET which is newer and upgraded with DOHC and has considerably better torque? Between the two, I am definitely concerned more with dependability as I am sure the power of either will be good enough for me.

The shop that will be putting in the motor has actually just warned me to stay away from the Turbos since they were never sold in Thailand. Parts need to be imported so they are expensive, hard to find, and slow to get. I am still not totally convinced though. I will ask the huge engine shop that we'll buy from if they stock all the parts for it.

BUT, if I do go non-Turbo, which do you think is best? So far, it looks like the JB-EL has the best power for a non-turbo at 43kW.

From another thread>from another website...
"this is the different between L2,L2s,L5

L200(EF-CL) - 659cc 6v sohc 40ps/6.5Krpm 5.3kg-m/3.5Krpm NA
L210s,210v(EF-HL) - 659cc 12v sohc 50ps/7.5Krpm 5.3kg-m/4.5Krpm 4WD turbo
L200(EF-XL) - 659cc 6v sohc 61ps/7Krpm 8.6kg-m/4.5Krpm turbo (carb)
L200(EF-KL) - 659cc 6v sohc 42ps/6Krpm 5.4kg-m/4Krpm NA
L200(EF-FL) - 659cc 6v sohc 40ps/6.3Krpm 5.3kg-m/3.5Krpm NA
L200,200s(EF-JL) - 659cc 12v sohc 64ps/7.5Krpm 9.4kg-m/4Krpm turbo

This is the L2S engine that you are referring to? You figure that the EF-JL (L200,200s: 659cc 12v sohc 64ps/7.5Krpm 9.4kg-m/4Krpm turbo) is the most dependable? Does it have a better reputation than the EF-DET which is newer and upgraded with DOHC and has considerably better torque? Between the two, I am definitely concerned more with dependability as I am sure the power of either will be good enough for me.

The shop that will be putting in the motor has actually just warned me to stay away from the Turbos since they were never sold in Thailand. Parts need to be imported so they are expensive, hard to find, and slow to get. I am still not totally convinced though. I will ask the huge engine shop that we'll buy from if they stock all the parts for it.

BUT, if I do go non-Turbo, which do you think is best? So far, it looks like the JB-EL has the best power for a non-turbo at 43kW.

yup..that one...well..don't worry much since most of the outer L2s turbo engine parts share with the n/a engine....

lets look it this way...as example a honda cubchai c70,c50,c90,c100 and wave 110 shares common parts and some of the part interchangeable among them...similiar case with those L200 series engine....

another thing i believe was that thai got quite a lot reputable turbo tuner that able to do normal maintenance job for your L2s if needed....one trick normally used by ppl here in malaysia is to use turbo unit from subaru legacy twin turbo as replacement/minor upgrade....(altough it shows some turbo lag compared to std turbo unit)

and 64hp was more than enough for a such featherweight body....it can sit on a same level of a modern 1600cc N/A sedan car (in term of power)... :driver:

blades

Jun 2, 2011
Chiang Mai
Does anyone know how to identify the motors by the number? I checked out the numbers at the shop and they were clearly marked JB for the 4 cylinders and EF for the 3's but its just a series of numbers after that, such as EF513.... or EF399... but no EF-JL or anything...

wookhan

Jan 14, 2011
a place far awa
yup..that one...well..don't worry much since most of the outer L2s turbo engine parts share with the n/a engine....

lets look it this way...as example a honda cubchai c70,c50,c90,c100 and wave 110 shares common parts and some of the part interchangeable among them...similiar case with those L200 series engine....

another thing i believe was that thai got quite a lot reputable turbo tuner that able to do normal maintenance job for your L2s if needed....one trick normally used by ppl here in malaysia is to use turbo unit from subaru legacy twin turbo as replacement/minor upgrade....(altough it shows some turbo lag compared to std turbo unit)

and 64hp was more than enough for a such featherweight body....it can sit on a same level of a modern 1600cc N/A sedan car (in term of power)... :driver:
bro, i also have a L2 but mine is carby turbo.
but i am in Perth.
kancil parts here is needle in a hay stack. (cannot find)
wanted to upgrade turbo but hear many ppl say to use TD04.
how true this is, i am not sure.
just looking for abit more zip for now but upgrading engine later.
pm me.

bro, i also have a L2 but mine is carby turbo.
but i am in Perth.
kancil parts here is needle in a hay stack. (cannot find)
wanted to upgrade turbo but hear many ppl say to use TD04.
how true this is, i am not sure.
just looking for abit more zip for now but upgrading engine later.
pm me.
well..first i'm not really an expert.....

but at least i'll try to share my opinion and experience.....

TD04 in my opinion not really suitable for daily ride....since this puny 660cc engine exhaust gas flow having hard time to spool up the turbine for good usable boost in lower rpm range....

most malaysian 660cc turbo street car opted for subaru legacy turbine (the smaller unit from twin turbo legacy) and if not mistaken simple bolt-on the stock turbo manifold....but u still need to fabricate new downpipe....it was somewhere bigger than stock L2 unit but smaller than TD04 thus turbo lag not really a problem...

for suspension i think shouldn't be a problem to source here...if not using custom made suspension?many cheap adjustable unit..its just the quality that i'm unsure of....why not u try surfing around in Mudah.my and search for "kancil adjustable" keyword.....maybe u could find some interesting part over there also... :adore: