[URGENT] BMW 323i

supramaniac

Oct 17, 2008

what is the cheapest way to get the bottom bumper sprayed?

I accidentally had a little scratch from the curb, i think the size is around 2inches long.
Can you please be soooooooooooooooo awesomely kind and tell me what is the cheapest way and whereabout in Sunway/Subang/Puchong to get it done? Before Saturday evening.....

This is soooo urgent as the car is not mine.
wtfffff:adore::adore::adore::adore::adore::adore::bawling::bawling::bawling:

the cheapest way is to diy..
1. buy grey putty(for car use) from hardware shop.
2. get the finest sand paper.
3. spray can (only if the car is black or white will be un noticible. if other colors cialat lor.....scared u use the wrong color code.
4. get clear coat spray

1. apply putty on the scratch area.
2. sandpaper it using water untill get smooth surface
3. tape the area u wanna spray
4. spray the bumper.
5. apply clear coat

thats the cheapest way la. less than rm50 can kautim.
if outside spray shop rm150-200.

supramaniac

Oct 17, 2008
thanks!

It sounds so easy but then again im so afraid to do it cuz it's not my car.
Then I went and ask someone they said in PJ, Jalan 222 there...

the fellow said can do. price ranging around rm150-rm280.
depending also. so i thought aiya, better bring to the shop and get it done.
I even bought the paint, you know the Auto Touch-Up paint from Carrefour in Crystal White + Clear Coat.. Cuz BMWs are usually in Alpine White.. i bought the paint Nissan Crystal White paint bottle.
Afraid it's not the same colour.

im so screwed. so expensive but what to do... unless it's not a BM then i dare to try la.
BMW damn mahal lor...:bawling::bawling:

the cheapest way is to diy..
1. buy grey putty(for car use) from hardware shop.
2. get the finest sand paper.
3. spray can (only if the car is black or white will be un noticible. if other colors cialat lor.....scared u use the wrong color code.
4. get clear coat spray

1. apply putty on the scratch area.
2. sandpaper it using water untill get smooth surface
3. tape the area u wanna spray
4. spray the bumper.
5. apply clear coat

thats the cheapest way la. less than rm50 can kautim.
if outside spray shop rm150-200.
Really work ar bro? My car champagne gold.
Also bumper kena la. What is grey putty? :hmmmm2:

U mean sandpaper only on the bumper or make sure can
only sandpaper the scratch line without touching other
surface around it? A bit scared to do, later all paint peeled off :afraid:

So, u mean we spray along with the tape on it? A bit confused.

SF : if your car champagne gold abit hard....if white or black easy ler.
grey putty aka cement, normally kedai ketuk use the orange type cement rite?, some call it putty, some call it cement, up to u wat u wanna call it la.....anyways, the hardware shop sells the grey putty. if u want orange ones u gotta buy a big tub.

u can sandpaper the scratch line & around it....sure the paint will kena, if unlucky other paint areas will get pealed off......thats y normally if u got a minor scratch on the bumper, the kedai cat wont just touch up, they will tell u to spray the whole bumper.

but for me so far i just touch up the dented part only, i get the shop to ketuk & apply putty for me, i gosok & spray myself.....although workmanship not as good as those shops...but i save a hell lot of $$$ :)

SF : if your car champagne gold abit hard....if white or black easy ler.
grey putty aka cement, normally kedai ketuk use the orange type cement rite?, some call it putty, some call it cement, up to u wat u wanna call it la.....anyways, the hardware shop sells the grey putty. if u want orange ones u gotta buy a big tub.

u can sandpaper the scratch line & around it....sure the paint will kena, if unlucky other paint areas will get pealed off......thats y normally if u got a minor scratch on the bumper, the kedai cat wont just touch up, they will tell u to spray the whole bumper.

but for me so far i just touch up the dented part only, i get the shop to ketuk & apply putty for me, i gosok & spray myself.....although workmanship not as good as those shops...but i save a hell lot of $$$ :)
Quite big, bottom part I kena myself but front and rear kena scrape by those kopi 'O' License punya orang. Really heartache...paint also fading adi...can say have to repaint since so many small dents and scratches here and there...haih! :mad:

Anyway, if really wanna do, how long does it take to dry? and u were saying tape around the scratch area we wanna spray then after that remove the tape bro?

p.s: Our plans after CNY waiting for arturo punya still on? :smile:

i suggest for you car u send to shop for professional job,
if u wanna practise, u start on kancil or proton 1st la.....if something goes
wrong at least can cover up. (use tin spray & spray the whole bumper)

yes, tape around the 'already gosok' area before spraying so that the paint dont smudge onto the unaffected areas.

the putty gotta take 1-2 hrs to dry, if u want instant, use hair dryer....
after paint, apply clear paint if u got time finish off with polish.

---------- Post added at 09:47 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:45 AM ----------

sample of my job.
but ended up short of 1 can of clear coat.
bumper is for sale, will apply the final coat once got buyer haha.

mick87

Apr 19, 2009
if small part and its under the bumper, i think they able to only spray that scratched part., i dont think it nid to respray the whole bumper., i spray b4 ..it cost only rm 80