type of air filter

mosh

Sep 16, 2004
www.autoworld.com.my
hi.. my pals told me that drop in style air filter is good for automatic transmission car...

the question is..

what is drop in air filter? open pod? mushroom? i dunno heck about them?..
could u guys explain about it..and how does the thing work?

tq

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
drop in means those filter never kacau or remove ur standard airfliter box n construction... it use back ur stock air filter box.. so everything looks stock...

mushroom is a under open pod filter category... open pod means u dun use a air filter box... so it sucks air all around de filter(or mushroom) from de surrounding air... n making ur engine sound more garang..

this type of filter need a heatshield to shield de hot air generated in de engine bay.. so dat de filter is not sucking hot air... u may need to make CAI intake to make it more efficient..

pls correct me if i'm wrong... B)

decomp72

Feb 13, 2005
Does K&N make drop filters for the Wira 1.5? And if so is it any good. :D

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
yep.. they have... but de price it expensive.. if not mistaken its rm198 at Eneos..

good? better airflow.. lor.. can be cleaned n oiled...

increase performance? very little... unless u changed ur engine to a bigger wan.. then this thing is necessary...

decomp72

Feb 13, 2005
Where is Eneos?
i used to have a K&N filter for my satria, The one with the chrome top. The engine felt like it was easier to rev. And I like the hisssing noise when I step on the gas.
The good thing is that I could clean it when I even I needed too.

Now I have a Wira 1.5 auto which is so sluggish. Is there anything that I can do to improve it (besides changeing the engin)?

tykoh

Jun 30, 2004
tykoh88.blogspot.com
Originally posted by KeonG@Mar 8 2005, 19:01
Open pod air filter = More Petrol money
;)
i'm not too sure about open pod = more petrol money.... but i'm sure that step more petrol = more petrol money.... :D

currently i had open pod too but i dont feel that my petrol money increase.... maybe i seldom rev the car also lah....

but open pod = nice sound when rev thats for sure....ahahaha.... :D

slk850

Dec 17, 2003
Drop in Air Filter :

Open Pod Air Filter :

A Pic represent a thousand words. :)

Merv86

Mar 13, 2005
Originally posted by khguan@Mar 6 2005, 00:03
yep.. they have... but de price it expensive.. if not mistaken its rm198 at Eneos..

good? better airflow.. lor.. can be cleaned n oiled...

increase performance? very little... unless u changed ur engine to a bigger wan.. then this thing is necessary...
not Rm 198 leh... jz went der 3 days back
is bout Rm 300 plus.. the sales person also said dat
auto transmision is beter off with drop in type
rather than the open pod y ar ??? anyone know??? :)

NightHunter

Mar 13, 2005
nighthunter.fotopic.net
I just bought a Wira aeroback SE 1.5 manual a few weeks ago... I tought of changing the stock air filter.. which is a box form to the performance cone type..

Would anybody know roughly how much the cone shape air filter would cost?? and What brands are good?

Hi all

I have a 1994 EG4 fully convert to eg6 interior + b18c type r spec99 engine with 4.785 gearbox. I wanted to know what is the market price for this car. Any ideas?