Toyota Vios TRD

iLachva

Oct 28, 2009
Well, first of all.
I don't really liked this car much cause of the dugong look infront.
But since my mom mom's friend whose a dealer nearby my house is giving me discount of RM500
and a year free insurance and can get the car by a week.
Here is what i wanna know, since toyota trd comes with auto without manual.
Can i add turbo to auto transmission ?
Bear with me I'm a noob in this kind of stuff.
If can, will it boost much performance?
If no, can i change my gear box to the manual one?
How much will it cost for a "not-bad" turbo brand. Intro some of it for toyota vios trd please.

And also what kind of mod do you guys intro for now? since i getting my car next week.
Minor mod like exhaust (recommended on auto?), extractor, this is what i learnt from this forum, something like 4-2-1
what's that?
And around how much would it cost for all the mod ?
Please do list out the mods and price for me from your all sifu's experience.
And maybe a good workshop for vios.
Thanks in advance :) :driver::driver:

badturz

Feb 19, 2008
There is one guy in this forum do his turbo vios. Very nice turbo he had there.. Vios turbo.
Not mistaken he done his turbo at Gt auto sunway.

iLachva

Oct 28, 2009
he using auto or manual?
this is what i wanna know the most,
can auto actually do turbo?
do they boost performance?

Pisang GTR

Feb 9, 2009
in a farm
hello there....congratz on ur new ride...about ur questions on putting a turbo in the vios.....it can be done...the guy that turbocharged his vios is using an auto tranny....

keisukosan

Aug 18, 2006
u can go to performance forum inside here to find it,sure u will know the answer or u can go to the workshop n ask also....

ken yeang

Just a note, install the turbo only when warranty is over.

If I can recall it correctly, the TRD vios is in Auto version only. I guess a turbo Vios with autobox may be slightly better in terms of general drivability, but not so much in spirited driving.

But then, I may be wrong.

iLachva

Oct 28, 2009
I guess a turbo Vios with autobox may be slightly better in terms of general drivability, but not so much in spirited driving.
====
yeah, it comes with auto gear box only.
just booked today and there's no manual transmission available.
by the mean time, what is the meaning of better in general drivalbility, and not much in spirited driving?

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
There is no problem having turbo with an auto tranny.. Turbo system does not need manual trans to work..

Btw the 4-2-1 means the extractor type,
(4) pipes from each cylinder, joined in a
(2)+2 position, and joins into
(1) single pipe before the middle box..

General driving lah, go to work/college, market, meet gf, bla3..
Spirited driving, depends.. Some people like to drive up to the red line, some like to speed, some like to use the clutch for doing an enginebraking, heel-toe..
Depends on individual..
But remember to drive safely n obey the law!

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
last time i ask i think price around rm 400 like tat...vr low boost...around 0.1 or mayb 0.2

the thing comes with electric fan and open pod air filter

iLachva

Oct 28, 2009
what is 0.1 and 0.2
1.5 + 0.1 or 0.2?
ahha
what about higher boost?
what is the price?

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
u know...u put boost meter on NA how also is - or 0 bar onli...tat electric turbo can go p 0.1 o 0.2 like tat price around rm 400

if higher boost u need real stuff edi bro...

iLachva

Oct 28, 2009
so what do you mean by real stuff? ;D
can auto do the "real stuff" ?
how much is the real stuff?
I don't mind start saving money. ;D

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
the real stuff means bolting on turbo and run around 0.4-0.5

standby around 6k for the real stuff..

wait ur gb kong edi then import manual transmission from those J spec o u can ask ppl source from thailand

Photo for reference only*

With their new “Digital Salesperson”, customers can now Whatsapp SDAC Ford Malaysia to book test drives or as a general helpline. Also, from now onwards, Sime Darby Auto ConneXion (SDAC) the sole distributor of Ford vehicles in Malaysia will offer test drives through its Home or Office delivery, whichever Ford you desire.

This service is available for...