thermostat

softmuffin

Known Member
Senior Member

softmuffin

Known Member
Senior Member
Dec 21, 2004
384
0
3,016
Hi there,

I wonder is proton 4G92P and 4G93P thermostat is the same?

I'm wanted to change my thermostat but not sure which one?

My current engine heat level is just above 2bar where my friends all
is above 3 or 4bar or half?

please advise?
 

ping5828

Known Member
Senior Member

ping5828

Known Member
Senior Member
Jul 13, 2005
266
0
1,516
Miri,Malaysia
there's number written at the thermostat...
juz buy the thermostat with the same rating lo...
 

boyzone

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

boyzone

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Mar 13, 2005
2,669
38
3,148
just remove it and take it as sample , go to spare part shop look for the same part, should be no problem.
 

softmuffin

Known Member
Senior Member

softmuffin

Known Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Dec 21, 2004
384
0
3,016
hi guys,

can you tell me where is this thingg is located?
 

boyzone

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

boyzone

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Mar 13, 2005
2,669
38
3,148
if u are still fresh in DIY, better send to the workshop. Labour will charge u around RM 5 only ...
 

ping5828

Known Member
Senior Member

ping5828

Known Member
Senior Member
Jul 13, 2005
266
0
1,516
Miri,Malaysia
haha.... if u'r fresh DIY-er better go to workshop like boyzone said...
or u can post pic of your engine.. i show u...
it's located at the end of the radiator top hose to the engine.
 

Doink

3,000 RPM
Senior Member

Doink

3,000 RPM
Senior Member
Aug 1, 2004
3,492
14
3,138
House
Visit site
using termostat is dangerous...in most local proton cars...especially in hot weather like malaysia...you dont need to use termostat also can...cause the engine warm up very fast...so better to not use it...removing it on carb cars proved to have a cooler engine with more power...
 

e819

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

e819

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Dec 7, 2004
1,261
1
3,138
ya i took it off to.. im using 92p... cools down the engine a bit
 

praetorian

Known Member
Senior Member

praetorian

Known Member
Senior Member
May 27, 2004
236
0
3,016
guys,
i think that running without thermostat will cause ur engine to run cold.you may also end up using more fuel. the thermostat will open at a specific temp only, if the car is running hot, you may have other probs.
jes me 2sen worth:)