TOMEI-R

Jan 14, 2004
Bro I think that site is just for Subaru Owners....cant seem to get in though

jwrx

Apr 29, 2004
You just need to register a username, its for anyone who loves subaru, not just owners

WRX STI

Feb 2, 2004
i-zonda said:
Gd day to all the Master Subaru,

Actually im in the same dilemma with 7500RPM...:frown: I've alwayz support Subaru since day 1. But i would realli like to find out wat's the normal service and maintainence cost, cos in the end all tis minor-minor $ would cost a bomb in the long run. Example how much does these cost:

1. water pump
2. timing belt
3. gear box
4. drive shaft
5. etc.... ( normally replace after 50,000km or 100,000km )

Hopefully these info can give a clear pictures for all the wanna-be Subaru-owner.... Thanks.... :smile:

for me those thing is quite cheap & easy to find too..item 1,3,4 seldom spoilt one lah..timing belt,i think ard 400+..if u need to get cheap subaru parts,can look for Djmobile.:_:

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
WRX STI said:
for me those thing is quite cheap & easy to find too..item 1,3,4 seldom spoilt one lah..timing belt,i think ard 400+..if u need to get cheap subaru parts,can look for Djmobile.:_:

seldom spoil la...if u take good care of it...

DjMobile,

u hv central lock for gc8 rear passenger door? if yes let me know...

TOMEI-R

Jan 14, 2004
Bro JWRX
I dont think I can access the website. Cant seem to regiser though. But I think the impreza for sale u are talking about is in US isit? Its not local

wetsprocket

May 12, 2005
bolehland
Click on this link. You can register as a guest, i think.

http://forums.mysubaruclub.com/viewtopic.php?t=1989

If you still cant get through, I copy and paste for you below:

WRX [MI] MY05

- Colour: WR Blue
- Stock standard original condition
- V-KOOL Eurospec
- APEXi Turbo Timer
- Still under warranty by MI

Reason for selling:
Need the cash to launch a new business

Mileage: ~3400km

Price: 17x,xxx/=

Manufactured year 2005.

Registered on August 11 2005

Please call...

William 016 263 1010

Or Paul 016 656 6775

There are pictures on the first page of the link.

Andy Ng

Mar 1, 2004
Puchong
subaru...

petrol consumption - same as any turbo performance car
maintenance and parts cost - similar to perdana V6

only worry about parts availability, which can be solved by being in the loop of subaru owners and specialist workshops

also another worry is only some mechanics can do subaru engines...so you must study and know your subaru and how it works...

but having bought an old '94 GC8 for 1.5 years liao...no regrets...problems can be solved...

Stormvolution 9

Jun 18, 2005
Hi all Subaru fans,

I got a ver8 STi for 4mths now... Everything seems fine to me! Very good car n fun to drive!!! As for parts availability, i dun find any problem too as i do service my car in few places... If in case any of de fans here do hv parts sourcing problem, do go to Motor Image n hv a look! For most parts they hv it in stock!!! Other than tht, for after market performance parts I do shop at SS Racing @ Old Klang Road n servicing together with tyre change i go to F-One (they offer tremandous prcing for Yokohama product range) @ Dataran Aman Suria!!!

As for normal servicing cost, for me i think it is very subjective!!! It depends on how good quality engine oil, timng belt, gearbox oil, air filter n etc u wanna to put in for ur beloved car!!! Of cause better quality do come in higher cost!!! As for FC (fuel consumption), my car it is pretty bad as i change my ECU liao... So its a bit heavy on FC lor... So for those whi really concerning abt de FC, my advise is do not change de ori. ECU!!! Hehehe...

Hope de above info do help for everyone here!!!

Cheers!!! ;)

Stormvolution 9

Jun 18, 2005
Yeah, with after mkt ECU + dyno tuning de power improved a lot!!! No Joke!!! But i think de very soon i got to get myself a new twin plate clutch!!! Hahaha... :regular_smile: Cos @ 3rd gear onward with 5000rpm... It kinda slip!!! And am not sure de ori. clutch can last me how long... hehehe...

WRX STI, hey fren u changed an after mkt ECU too? What ECU u r using? Am on de HKS F-Con SZ!!! And is boosting 1.45bar!!! Very responsive... Pretty good no complaint... Jus de FC r bad!!! Haha... CHeers!! :_:

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
white_bird said:
sorry borrow this thread n ask a bit.. does gc8 sti produce clearer bubble sound than the GDB wrx???
im wit GC8...bubble sound is clear...some of my frens in subaru club mentioned tat GD series bubble sound is not tat clear compare to GC8....unless u change the extractor...

corect me if im wrong

Stormvolution 9

Jun 18, 2005
Scooby fans,

Hey, my dad came hom with my Scooby disc rotor burnt!!! :shocked: LoLz... Suprised Suprised!!! According to him, after few round of hard breaking he felt something wasnt right!!! Then v sent de car for checking n de rotor is burnt!!! Actually I hv change de rotor to Endless 6 slotted rotor together with Endless 0-300 celcious pad... Really do not know what cause de burnt?!! 'Rotor burnt' = de rotor change color, to black, as if it went through very high heat treatment!!!

So now change de pad to Endless 0-500 celcious for de front n 0-300 celcious for de rear brake by using back de ori rotor (which hv been skimmed - like brand new!). As for de Endless rotor, now sent in for skimming as well... Will try again once it's ready... By matching it with de 0-500 pad... Jus wanna to find out what cause it!!!

Anyone any idea??? Thx!!! :regular_smile:

boostmasta

Jan 13, 2006
Hey Storm, where do you tune your HKS F-Con Ecu?? How much does it cost to purchase and for each tune session? Does the tuning cost include dyno?

What other aftermarket ECUs do you guys use on your scoobies? Where do you tune?

Stormvolution 9

Jun 18, 2005
boostmasta,

Hi fren, Happy CNY to u!!! I tuned my car @ Aerothech in Nilai... Am a very good fren to Rennei Khoo!!! But lately, they r more into selling dyno machine (authorise dealer for USA brand - Dynojet) than tuning... De F-Con SZ including hardness is ad RM3,800 n de dyno tune cost ard RM1,200 all in... Might need a 2nd dyno tune in 1-2 mths time as myself wil add some new stuffs into de Scooby (CNY present for de car - LoLz)...

Besides Aerotech, u can try F-One in Aman Suria!!! Lately i did services for my others cars there... De mechanic there no bad too!!! Seen lotsa Scooby serviced n tuned there too... N heard from Adam (de owner), he is bringing in dyno machine soon!!! Besides, this F-One shop oso offer lotsa super price Advan Neova tyres + all other Yokohama range...

As for ur 2nd Q, what ECU u need to use or choose to use is actually depends on what HP ur car really aim at!!! If jus normal mild mod (full exhuast system, cams, air intake n etc) its ok to use piggy bag ECU such as F-Con SZ, E-manage, STi ECU n etc... If u r aiming for 450HP( where u might need to change to a bigger Turbo kit, Stroker kit n etc) n above, then u need a stand alone ECU such as F-Con V Pro, MoTec M800 n etc...

It is not to say tht u cant used a stand alone ECU for a mild mod car... U can stil use or choose it, its just tht u wil not able to fully utilize de fuctions tht those ECU r able to offer as de level of de modification do not need it... in other words, waste of $$$...

Cheers!!!

boostmasta

Jan 13, 2006
THansk for the reply Storm and Happy CNY to you to!!!

Where's Aman Suria? (F-One)

It is very vital to have professional tuners capable in setting and tuning aftermarket ECUs otherwise it would cause more damage and money than good afterall.

I think i the end its safer to either remap the ori ECU or a piggy bag becasue the safety parameters are not touched and intact on the ori ECU unlike stand alones which require very good and experienced tuners.

Went to check out the car and I would say very nice compares to previous C5 & C6.

View attachment 503060
View attachment 503061
View attachment 503062
View attachment 503063
View attachment 503064