Skimming Disc Brakes..

paohyean

Jul 28, 2010
Dear sifus here,

Need some advices from the petrolheads on skimming the brakes..
My Persona has only got about 50k km on the clock..
During 40k, I changed the brake pads because I noticed that my brakes weren't biting enough..
Recently, I noticed lines and grooves on all 4 disc brakes in my car..

My question is..
Is it worth skimming all 4 discs??
And if so any good recommendation in doing it??

Thanks a lot in advance..
;)

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Is it already vibrating when braking, especially from higher speeds? If not then can just leave it for now, but if it's already vibrating then can skim a bit.

paohyean

Jul 28, 2010
The weird thing is the brake pads are only 10k old..
And I did notice a lot of grooves and lines on the disc..
Hence the pondering on whether should I skim the discs..

Probably the pads are harder......

Well the pads do seem to be harder..
As compared to the original pads which gave out dust like nobody's business..
These pads doesn't seem to give out any brake dust at all..
That is where the pros and cons comes......

Oct 8, 2012
USA, Chicago il
Well i think if the discs have grooves and lines and if the brakes are still doing perfectly even after 10k then you should be considering to be changing them after a while i mean i changed my rides discs because they were not good at braking and last time it did slipped so i did changed........

Last edited by a moderator:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Some other things you can do is bleed the brakes again, clean the pads & calipers & readjust the gaps, adjust the handbrake to make it tighter. All these normally may help to make your pedal feel tighter and more sensitive in braking.

Am using a custom made copper radiator, one thing i dun understand is, why does it keep leaking time after time? The core keeps having cracks or there seem to be water leaking out. After repairing the hole/hairline crack, it'll be ok for a while before another spot starts to leak. Is this a sign that the radiator has to be change?