Sheet metal intake manifold vs cast intake manifold

Autocraft Performance

Feb 28, 2009
For high boost application i.e 40psi, which intake manifold can handle the pressure, no crack and can increase significant hp number?

SMIM - like JMF,beyond redline, Magnus.

Cast IM - like Magnus, hawver

jinkl

May 22, 2004
For high boost application i.e 40psi, which intake manifold can handle the pressure, no crack and can increase significant hp number?

SMIM - like JMF,beyond redline, Magnus.

Cast IM - like Magnus, hawver
HP wise i think SMIM + pricing has made the highest HP gain , and it went to hypertune , from the test that buschur racing did :D , bt then again , HKS kansai gained more hp than the hypertune did , just a little , bt the price of HKS is much much higher than hypertune, thts the reason ppl vote hypertune as the current top notch on the shelf mani for evo/dsm

reliability wise , hands down to hks kansai , hawver , magnus , forester racing , greddy , etc
hawver even gurantees for nitrous defacts etc :D

flow tests , hehe, wht i have learned, bigger is not always better
lets look at the test below

frm the test above we can see, bigger intake doesnt mean more flow
venom has a bigger capacity, but jmf race(not drag) has smaller cc but more flow.
lot things can be seen in the two test flows above , the on shelf JMF Drag version has proven 8 seconds on Jake Montgomery's 4g63 car, of cos the bigger players all use customized manifold and not on the shelf ones

lastly, buschurs full tests on the manifolds
http://www.buschurforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20866

magnus manifold test and reply to buschur lol , *war*
http://www.magnusmotorsports.com/intakemanifolds/intaketest.htm

buschur racing and magnus had a big war on the intake manifolds for the evos
buschur racing and all the other peformance shops claimed lost of power
bt magnus gave their reasons that they have newer intake designs
all the other shops donated manifolds for the testings , bt magnus never sent one
there is where the war started :D , hehehehe

if ur looking for big players ,
brent rau's intake is fully customized , same goes to kiggly ,
only one that runs on shelf mani is jake with JMF drag version

Autocraft Performance

Feb 28, 2009
Thanks jinkl.

One more thing jinkl, if you were given Hawver's cast IM and JMF drag, which one you would choose?

jinkl

May 22, 2004
Thanks jinkl.

One more thing jinkl, if you were given Hawver's cast IM and JMF drag, which one you would choose?
jake or kiggly went from hawver to jmf drag hehehe
one thing is for sure , jmf drag for better power ,
hawver definately for daily driven monsters as its more reliable
drag cars if it breaks or cracks , u can pull down to the pit
daily cars will be stranded lolx

jo1

Dec 8, 2004
If it not break on a drag car what make it brake on a daily drive monster unless you're running more than 3 bar of boost or there is back pressure occur.

If i were given the manifold.. i want both. hehehee

jinkl

May 22, 2004
If it not break on a drag car what make it brake on a daily drive monster unless you're running more than 3 bar of boost or there is back pressure occur.

If i were given the manifold.. i want both. hehehee
if i had a dream
i sure want , JMF drag manifold design, but made in cast aluminium huhuhuhu

jo1

Dec 8, 2004
if i had a dream
i sure want , JMF drag manifold design, but made in cast aluminium huhuhuhu
sheet metal intake weight less...:listen:
why you need cast? to support your weight?:biggrin:

Autocraft Performance

Feb 28, 2009
JMF smim also priced slightly lower than Hawver's cast. So, overall JMF the best choice.

Thanks all.

p/s: errr....any chance local dealer have it on shelf? Or must order from US? Jo1, where do you got yours? If you dont mind..

jinkl

May 22, 2004
sheet metal intake weight less...:listen:
why you need cast? to support your weight?:biggrin:
haha to last longer :P
SMIM , if i sit on it, sure will pecah
cast sure ok haha n look nicer lerr

so far no reports on JMF cracking
bt there are some amount of pics of magnus torn apart

i guess none of these SMIM will survive a nitrous backfire
compared to the chances of the casts

jinkl

May 22, 2004
jinkl,

Where to get Q45 throttle body?
i guess q45 tb is same as the nissan 80/90mm in malaysia , which ppl call it here "fairlady tb"

bt if u r buying JMF , u can request tht u dnt want the plate to be drilled :D , so when it reaches here u can fit any TB u like and drill the skru holes

jinkl

May 22, 2004
as for the topic currently, its all heading towards turbos , will move it if u guys start discussing n/a stuff for the intakes

I have a question for all wira sifus here.

I am deciding between buying a wira 1.8 Sohc or Dohc but cant make up my mind.

What can be upgraded for both the Sohc and Dohc and what are the final hp that I can expect?

I dont wanna swap teh engines but try to push the engines to the highest it can go...

Thanks in advance.